22 Apr 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Terrence & The Optimistics - EP Review: Groovy Baby

07 May 2020 // A review by Chris Chick

As an eternal optimist, the chance to review a band with that term implanted into their vibe was an easy decision. Some would say that this is a recipe for bias reviewing, I would rather see it as a an extra brownie point before I had even cracked open the computer salivating in anticipation for some retro nostalgic soul grooves of the 60’s and 70;s, not that I was there in person, only in spirit.

The first thing that struck me about this band was its artwork, very groovy, so groovy in fact, I felt like I was back to my late teen years anticipating what Austin Powers was going to do next. The sound is very different to anything I have heard lately, and the band should be exalted for going in this direction. I like the sound they have produced; it moves the hips into action and on the odd occasion, the hamstrings flinch into action.

The first song on the EP Soul Baby is my favourite track, with a raspy deep toned opening guitar rift, and followed by a dance floor filler drum entrance, to help us to some hip gyrating funk groove. The second song Dance Dance goes on the same journey with a funk entrance that quickly comes in with an upbeat melody that follows you through the song. It always impresses me how the slight nuances of sound can be put together in different ways that seem to work well and flow with the general vibe of the music. Look at me becoming all philosophical, I suppose that is what this band does to me.

The final three songs You’ve Got to GrooveDance Master and Good Time Groove on the EP are not as strong as the opening two, though I cannot fault those opening riffs that are very ‘funkadelic’, but certainly still keep the hips gyrating forwards. Overall, I like this EP and it will definitely be added to my music collection to add a new mix to a heavily concentrated sounds of rock music.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Terrence & The Optimistics

Terrence & The Optimistics were frozen in the late 70’s and were recently thawed out to fight the evil Dr Depresso, who is holding the world to ransom for 1 million billion dollars by threatening to release another decade of sad and depressing music unless his demands are met. Having not lived through and experienced much of the recent sexual revolution, their music is still full of sexy disco dance themes from the 70’s. However, they believe their music is truly futuristic sounding as it has a groovy 80’s disco/alt-rock vibe.

To learn more about us - and to expose us- visit our website...


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Terrence & The Optimistics

Releases

Groovy Baby
Year: 2019
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Chris Chick

MARY. - Single Review: Day To Day
12 Mar 2021 // by Chris Chick
MARY. is the ‘dreamy’ alter ego of the songs creator Stef T, a robust and staunch woman making her way in what can be perceived as a very male orientated world in many aspects.
Read More...
Revulva - Single Review: Sniffly Lady
25 Feb 2021 // by Chris Chick
I had the privilege and honour to review the debut single from Revulva, Sniffly Lady, a song all about the grand boogie on a Saturday night. No matter how old or young you are, the intense anticipation of getting out and amongst the people for a boogie, especially in this day and age, is the great equalizer to the capitalistic machine we all find ourselves under.
Read More...
Bad Llamas - EP Review: Wunderlane
31 Jan 2021 // by Chris Chick
The new 6 track EP Wunderlane by Bad Llamas is a breath of fresh air when it comes to NZ music. Situated down in the depths of Christchurch, this is the band's second EP release after their debut 2019 EP What Even is Bad Llamas.
Read More...
Paul The Kid - Single Review: Palm Trees & Ciggies
08 Dec 2020 // by Chris Chick
If you were wondering what you Summer song was going to be for this year, the year of the 'what the hell just happened' Palm Trees and Ciggies could well be your winner to take you through to the next Winter. Any song that drops a humdinger of a ska/reggae beat is a sure fire way to get noticed by this reviewer, especially as the temperature starts to warm up and the stock of cold ones increases in the fridge.
Read More...
Miles Calder - Single Review: Take Me Back To How It Was
19 Oct 2020 // by Chris Chick
I think I just found the band that I really want to jam with; Miles Calder's new song Take Me Back To How It Was is a sound that really does what it says on the tin, it takes you back to the way it was. This late 60's and 70's psychedelic number really softens the soul and enables one to really re-live by gone days that many of us did not even have the opportunity to experience.
Read More...
Imperial April - Single Review: Release Me
08 Oct 2020 // by Chris Chick
Imperial April are releasing their new single Release Me on 9 October 2020, and by golly it's an absolute corker, and I will not let anyone else say different. This song has so much going for it, from its production, to the wonderfully enchanting singing, to the 80's summer vibe that will just keep the summer of 2020 a positive time considering the rest of the garbage we have all had to deal with.
Read More...
Turkey The Bird - Single Review: Everybody Needs A Little Sunshine
01 Oct 2020 // by Chris Chick
I was promised a happy little number when handed this assignment, and I was not let down, I think happy might be an understatement, elated, ecstatic, maybe even nirvanic, which I believe is a word I just made up. This is a timely release what with summer banging on the door, a great reminder to us all to put a smile on our faces, and be thankful for the simple things in life, like a little sunshine, especially if you are on the West Coast of the South Island, according to the rumours.
Read More...
Jam Fish - Single Review: The Hermits Red Balloon
24 Aug 2020 // by Chris Chick
Jam Fish’s new single The Hermit’s Red Balloon was released on the 14th August 2020. This song can only be described through golfing metaphors, the experience of listening to this song was like playing a shot beyond the horizon and hoping you make the green.
Read More...
View All Articles By Chris Chick

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • RAPSTAR
    Polo G
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
  • HEARTBREAK ANNIVERSARY
    Giveon
  • LEAVE THE DOOR OPEN
    Silk Sonic
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • ASTRONAUT IN THE OCEAN
    Masked Wolf
  • DEJA VU
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • ALL SHE WROTE
    Six60
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem