21 Sep 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Terrence & The Optimistics - EP Review: Groovy Baby

07 May 2020 // A review by Chris Chick

As an eternal optimist, the chance to review a band with that term implanted into their vibe was an easy decision. Some would say that this is a recipe for bias reviewing, I would rather see it as a an extra brownie point before I had even cracked open the computer salivating in anticipation for some retro nostalgic soul grooves of the 60’s and 70;s, not that I was there in person, only in spirit.

The first thing that struck me about this band was its artwork, very groovy, so groovy in fact, I felt like I was back to my late teen years anticipating what Austin Powers was going to do next. The sound is very different to anything I have heard lately, and the band should be exalted for going in this direction. I like the sound they have produced; it moves the hips into action and on the odd occasion, the hamstrings flinch into action.

The first song on the EP Soul Baby is my favourite track, with a raspy deep toned opening guitar rift, and followed by a dance floor filler drum entrance, to help us to some hip gyrating funk groove. The second song Dance Dance goes on the same journey with a funk entrance that quickly comes in with an upbeat melody that follows you through the song. It always impresses me how the slight nuances of sound can be put together in different ways that seem to work well and flow with the general vibe of the music. Look at me becoming all philosophical, I suppose that is what this band does to me.

The final three songs You’ve Got to GrooveDance Master and Good Time Groove on the EP are not as strong as the opening two, though I cannot fault those opening riffs that are very ‘funkadelic’, but certainly still keep the hips gyrating forwards. Overall, I like this EP and it will definitely be added to my music collection to add a new mix to a heavily concentrated sounds of rock music.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Terrence & The Optimistics

Terrence & The Optimistics were frozen in the late 70’s and were recently thawed out to fight the evil Dr Depresso, who is holding the world to ransom for 1 million billion dollars by threatening to release another decade of sad and depressing music unless his demands are met. Having not lived through and experienced much of the recent sexual revolution, their music is still full of sexy disco dance themes from the 70’s. However, they believe their music is truly futuristic sounding as it has a groovy 80’s disco/alt-rock vibe.

To learn more about us - and to expose us- visit our website...


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Terrence & The Optimistics

Releases

Groovy Baby
Year: 2019
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Chris Chick

Jam Fish - Single Review: The Hermits Red Balloon
24 Aug 2020 // by Chris Chick
Jam Fish’s new single The Hermit’s Red Balloon was released on the 14th August 2020. This song can only be described through golfing metaphors, the experience of listening to this song was like playing a shot beyond the horizon and hoping you make the green.
Read More...
Fornax Chemica - Album Review: Audio Vision
06 Aug 2020 // by Chris Chick
Let’s get one thing straight right off the bat, creating, producing, and performing an album is a massive undertaking in itself. I am always impressed by any musician who is able to accomplish this, no matter the genre or the instruments they play (the more the better I say) this is why longevity within the music industry is not to be ignored when embracing all aspects of artists you love, and those you find hard to love.
Read More...
Iveta & Simone - Single Review: I'm Only Focused On You
15 Jul 2020 // by Chris Chick
Intense and full of bravado, as soon as the first piano chord hammered over my speakers, I jumped to attention like a well drilled private awaiting his first taste of action. Without any hesitation this private felt the need to start running towards the battle with no second thought for my own safety, willed on by the heavy baseline that accompanies the just as strong willed lyrical content.
Read More...
Mini Simmons - Single Review: Travelling Show
12 Jul 2020 // by Chris Chick
With a skip in my step, bounding my way through Trafalgar Square making my way to the center of the world as I knew it, London Town, this brand new single by Mini Simmons is, as they say in London, ruddy bloody good. I love songs that take me back to bygone days of freedom and an ignorance that only a young 20 year old called entangle into his swagger.
Read More...
Hummucide - Single Review: Reacher
25 Jun 2020 // by Chris Chick
Picture a wonderfully blissful day, slow wanderings around the park as it blooms fully into the start of a new creation, beckoning good will and tidings to all that seek it. With that picture in mind, now listen to the new single from Hummucide Reacher and transcend the only way possible from the vibe that jazz music can only touch.
Read More...
Whaea Stylz - Single Review: North Star
11 Jun 2020 // by Chris Chick
Whenever anyone makes the plunge into Reggae style music, you just know you are in for a treat, and there is no difference here with Whaea Stylz latest single North Star; an infused reggae beat that is guaranteed to get you moving even those muscles you never knew existed. I was really drawn in by the range of instruments, especially the piano, I thought its use really added to the song.
Read More...
Found Family - Single Review: Alive
27 May 2020 // by Chris Chick
Again, New Zealand music goes and surprises me, and in a good way. It reminds me of my trip to a well-known hot pool resort in the South Island; I arrived there with my little buddy that I mentor and saw the price of entrance.
Read More...
Phil Stoodley - Single Review: Undercover
13 May 2020 // by Chris Chick
I was pleasantly surprised when I was reminded that I also reviewed Phil Stoodley's work 7 years ago. This was like a coming of age moment and having recently returned to the duties of music reviewing, I thoroughly enjoyed the nostalgia of that memory.
Read More...
View All Articles By Chris Chick

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • WAP
    Cardi B feat. Megan Thee Stallion
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • LAUGH NOW CRY LATER
    Drake feat. Lil Durk
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • MOOD SWINGS
    Pop Smoke feat. Lil Tjay
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem