28 May 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Demons of Noon - EP Review: The Summoning

30 Apr 2020 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Doom rock, metal or whatever you want to call it has been a fascination of mine since hearing it on a Guitar Hero game a while ago as a young lad. There was something about that wall of sound guitar and bass sludge sound that was almost hypnotic.

Demons of Noon was born as an epiphany in the Karangahake Gorge and forged under St Kevin’s Arcade. The band sees Fortress Europe bass player Jonathan Burgess teaming up with Homebrew guitarist Abraham Kunin, Toad vocalist Scott Satherley and Luger Boa drummer Joseph McElhinney to tune their guitars down and make a welcome return to their heavy roots.

On their debut EP, Demons Of Noon certainly took me back to feeling that again. This is heavy, slow rock that just completely owned my speakers, creating a wall of sound so huge that I had to crank it up to 11 at 9am in the morning to help put away any left of sleepiness induced by this lockdown of 2020.

The opening track Sodden, with its ritualistic vocals about half way through, is just awesome. Perfectly mixed to let that bass and guitar become one with the pounding drums, a good dose of this will cure most ailments (this statement is not yet approved by the FDA).

And then like a birthday surprise, the second track, Mike, speeds it up in a way that I was not expecting. It is a riff heavy track that takes the Doom elements and gives it a new perspective. All the while, during the verse the vocals are speaking in a way that reminds me of The Butthole Surfers. Oh yeah? Comfortable? Here is that slow doom again. Really enjoyed this track.

Finally, The Tsar is an epic 6 minute track that finishes the EP.

An absolutely stellar EP from a band I had not heard of until now. I will certainly be adding them to my Spotify playlists and following them.

Give it a listen, I reckon you will definitely get into this!

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Demons of Noon

Demons of Noon are a dive bar doom here to give you the warm and heavy ear massage that you need.

Fans of Bongripper, Conan, Sleep, Swans and Slint will appreciate their sludgy riffs and geologic tempos.

Demons of Noon was born as an epiphany in the Karangahake Gorge and forged under St Kevin’s Arcade. The band sees Fortress Europe bass player Jonathan Burgess teaming up with Homebrew guitarist Abraham Kunin, Toad vocalist Scott Satherley and Luger Boa drummer Joseph McElhinney to tune their guitars down and make a welcome return to their heavy roots.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Demons of Noon

Releases

The Summoning
Year: 2020
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Mazbou Q - EP Review: Afroternity
20 May 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The debut EP from Mazbou Q is a powerful statement. Not only musically in the world of the now trap dominated rap and hip-hop scene, but also through the lyrical ideas that make up the 6-tracks of Afroternity.
Read More...
Outside In - Album Review: Karmatrain
17 May 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The debut release from Outside In is incredible, and it's currently up there as of the greatest debuts from a New Zealand band. Ok, let me explain.
Read More...
Dharma Dan - EP Review: Sotapatti
12 May 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
On the latest release, Sotapatti, from Dharma Dan, the artist finds himself with a set of beats reminiscent of the early New York hip-hop scene. Over the top, Dharma Dan lays down cool, chilled and thoughtful lyrics; "Just a drop of h2o just trying to find its way home to the ocean".
Read More...
Chris Bates - Single Review: Focus
22 Apr 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Focus is a stunning track showcasing the combined efforts of Luan and Chris Bates. The production quality here from Luan is outstanding.
Read More...
General Vibe - EP Review: California Rocket
22 Apr 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
From the low-fi sound that kicks off with the opening track Secondhand, the jazzy elements are right there interwoven amongst beat and pulsing beat. And then, so subtly the vocals transition out of the low-fi realm into crystal clear, as does the rest of the band.
Read More...
Apollo SteamTrain - Single Review: Nothing Stupid
10 Apr 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Starting an acoustic guitar and then adding texture through melodic lead guitar and powerful drums and bass, the new track from Apollo SteamTrain, Nothing Stupid, starts off strong and solid. And from there it only builds and gets stronger.
Read More...
DRXNES - Video Review: Zero
02 Apr 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Wow. This video is an incredible insight into the life of DRXNES.
Read More...
EP Review: Enter Venus
26 Mar 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The explosive start of Throw It Away is hard to ignore. Right away, the guitar and bass smashes you in the face with a killer riff, accentuated further by the pounding drums.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
  • STUCK WITH U
    Ariana Grande And Justin Bieber
  • ROSES (IMANBEK REMIX)
    SAINt JHN
  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • SAY SO
    Doja Cat
  • SAVAGE (REMIX)
    Megan Thee Stallion feat. Beyonce
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • SUPALONELY
    BENEE feat. Gus Dapperton
  • TOOSIE SLIDE
    Drake
  • DEATH BED
    Powfu feat. beabadoobee
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem