23 Oct 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Demons of Noon - EP Review: The Summoning

30 Apr 2020 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Doom rock, metal or whatever you want to call it has been a fascination of mine since hearing it on a Guitar Hero game a while ago as a young lad. There was something about that wall of sound guitar and bass sludge sound that was almost hypnotic.

Demons of Noon was born as an epiphany in the Karangahake Gorge and forged under St Kevin’s Arcade. The band sees Fortress Europe bass player Jonathan Burgess teaming up with Homebrew guitarist Abraham Kunin, Toad vocalist Scott Satherley and Luger Boa drummer Joseph McElhinney to tune their guitars down and make a welcome return to their heavy roots.

On their debut EP, Demons Of Noon certainly took me back to feeling that again. This is heavy, slow rock that just completely owned my speakers, creating a wall of sound so huge that I had to crank it up to 11 at 9am in the morning to help put away any left of sleepiness induced by this lockdown of 2020.

The opening track Sodden, with its ritualistic vocals about half way through, is just awesome. Perfectly mixed to let that bass and guitar become one with the pounding drums, a good dose of this will cure most ailments (this statement is not yet approved by the FDA).

And then like a birthday surprise, the second track, Mike, speeds it up in a way that I was not expecting. It is a riff heavy track that takes the Doom elements and gives it a new perspective. All the while, during the verse the vocals are speaking in a way that reminds me of The Butthole Surfers. Oh yeah? Comfortable? Here is that slow doom again. Really enjoyed this track.

Finally, The Tsar is an epic 6 minute track that finishes the EP.

An absolutely stellar EP from a band I had not heard of until now. I will certainly be adding them to my Spotify playlists and following them.

Give it a listen, I reckon you will definitely get into this!

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Demons of Noon

Demons of Noon are a dive bar doom here to give you the warm and heavy ear massage that you need.

Fans of Bongripper, Conan, Sleep, Swans and Slint will appreciate their sludgy riffs and geologic tempos.

Demons of Noon was born as an epiphany in the Karangahake Gorge and forged under St Kevin’s Arcade. The band sees Fortress Europe bass player Jonathan Burgess teaming up with Homebrew guitarist Abraham Kunin, Toad vocalist Scott Satherley and Luger Boa drummer Joseph McElhinney to tune their guitars down and make a welcome return to their heavy roots.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Demons of Noon

Releases

The Summoning
Year: 2020
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Gig Review: BENEE @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 16/10/2020
17 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
As I got to Spark Arena for the first time since February this year, I couldn't help but notice how many families were there with smiling kids, and parents alike, all waiting for doors to open. BENEE has become quite a superstar over this past year which has been awesome to see.
Read More...
theajsound - Single Review: Sorrow
12 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Auckland based Indian born singer and songwriter theajsound (AKA AJ) has released a string of singles this year which have amassed hundreds of thousands stream on Spotify, and his latest, Sorrow is a catchy new tune that instantly catches your ear.The guitar sound is clean and an instant classic.
Read More...
Sam V - EP Review: Cruisin'
08 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The new EP from Sam V, bKidd and EDY is a blast. With a few skits interwoven into the EP, the whole package feels well thought out and it sounds great.
Read More...
An Electric Heart - Album Review: Otiose Me
06 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
As you press play, the prologue hits you hard and it is obvious that Luke Pell, known as An Electric Heart, has a great understanding on sonics and dynamics on his new album Otiose Me.Luke Pell describes the An Electric Heart sound as 'alternative pop'.
Read More...
Matt Bizzle - Single Review: Just Let Me Know with Kevin Posey Feat. Lily Jackson
05 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The reggaeton beat has been quite the staple in music trends for some time now, and with the new track Just Let Me Know from Matt Bizzle, it isn't the main feature. Instead, it is used in the right places to give this track a different vibe at the exact moment it is needed.
Read More...
Lester - Single Review: Sometimes Feat. Aunty Rae
29 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
On Lester's latest track Sometimes, featuring Aunty Rae, the New Zealand Hip-Hop artist turns his focus inward and discusses the things that we miss when we are away from home; which in his case is a list of memories that make home what it is. And yet, the real meaning of home is blurred and put to question.
Read More...
The RVMES - Single Review: Big Bam Boom
14 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The RVMES newest track Big Bam Boom is a good time that deserves your attention.The rawness and realness of this track cannot be denied.
Read More...
Troy Kingi - Album Review: The Ghost of Freddie Cesar
10 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Genius. Honestly.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • HOLY
    Justin Bieber feat. Chance The Rapper
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • WAP
    Cardi B feat. Megan Thee Stallion
  • DREAMS
    Fleetwood Mac
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • WHAT YOU KNOW BOUT LOVE
    Pop Smoke
  • PUT YOUR RECORDS ON
    Ritt Momney
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem