21 Jan 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Demons of Noon - EP Review: The Summoning

30 Apr 2020 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Doom rock, metal or whatever you want to call it has been a fascination of mine since hearing it on a Guitar Hero game a while ago as a young lad. There was something about that wall of sound guitar and bass sludge sound that was almost hypnotic.

Demons of Noon was born as an epiphany in the Karangahake Gorge and forged under St Kevin’s Arcade. The band sees Fortress Europe bass player Jonathan Burgess teaming up with Homebrew guitarist Abraham Kunin, Toad vocalist Scott Satherley and Luger Boa drummer Joseph McElhinney to tune their guitars down and make a welcome return to their heavy roots.

On their debut EP, Demons Of Noon certainly took me back to feeling that again. This is heavy, slow rock that just completely owned my speakers, creating a wall of sound so huge that I had to crank it up to 11 at 9am in the morning to help put away any left of sleepiness induced by this lockdown of 2020.

The opening track Sodden, with its ritualistic vocals about half way through, is just awesome. Perfectly mixed to let that bass and guitar become one with the pounding drums, a good dose of this will cure most ailments (this statement is not yet approved by the FDA).

And then like a birthday surprise, the second track, Mike, speeds it up in a way that I was not expecting. It is a riff heavy track that takes the Doom elements and gives it a new perspective. All the while, during the verse the vocals are speaking in a way that reminds me of The Butthole Surfers. Oh yeah? Comfortable? Here is that slow doom again. Really enjoyed this track.

Finally, The Tsar is an epic 6 minute track that finishes the EP.

An absolutely stellar EP from a band I had not heard of until now. I will certainly be adding them to my Spotify playlists and following them.

Give it a listen, I reckon you will definitely get into this!

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Demons of Noon

Demons of Noon are a dive bar doom here to give you the warm and heavy ear massage that you need.

Fans of Bongripper, Conan, Sleep, Swans and Slint will appreciate their sludgy riffs and geologic tempos.

Demons of Noon was born as an epiphany in the Karangahake Gorge and forged under St Kevin’s Arcade. The band sees Fortress Europe bass player Jonathan Burgess teaming up with Homebrew guitarist Abraham Kunin, Toad vocalist Scott Satherley and Luger Boa drummer Joseph McElhinney to tune their guitars down and make a welcome return to their heavy roots.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Demons of Noon

Releases

The Summoning
Year: 2020
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Ignatia : Rising - Single Review: Don’t Know For Sure
12 Jan 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Ignatia : Rising are a 4-piece, occasional more piece, pop/rock group who crafted their style in the Wild West (Auckland, NZ) party and club circuit in the mid 90's. Their newest track, Don't Know For Sure brings about a sense of nostalgia.
Read More...
Gig Review: Th' Dudes @ Town Hall, Auckland - 19/11/2020
21 Nov 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Arriving at the Auckland Town Hall and subsequently finding parking was a lot easier than I had anticipated. The town seems very quiet at around 7:30 pm, although there is a large gathering of people around the Town Hall, an indication that something big is happening.
Read More...
Boy Virgo - Single Review: Psycho
15 Nov 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Here is a track that takes what you think you know about genres of music and says, "Nope, you are wrong". On the new track Psycho from Boy Virgo, I think this is the one thing I really enjoyed.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Jordan Luck Band @ Pukekohe Cosmopolitan Club, Pukekohe - 6/11/2020
08 Nov 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
It’s a Friday night in Pukekohe and as I walk into the Pukekohe Cosmopolitan Club just before 8 pm you can feel the anticipation in the air. Looking like a high school ball, there is a large dance floor in front of the stage while the rest of the venue is lined vertically with tables.
Read More...
Krispy & The Pooch - EP Review Drop The Needle
06 Nov 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Wow. Krispy & The Pooch have quite the EP here.
Read More...
And$um - EP Review: Late Nights
29 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
And$um has returned with a new EP. Made up of six tracks, this is yet another collection of songs that demonstrate the sound Sam brings to this project.
Read More...
Gig Review: BENEE @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 16/10/2020
17 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
As I got to Spark Arena for the first time since February this year, I couldn't help but notice how many families were there with smiling kids, and parents alike, all waiting for doors to open. BENEE has become quite a superstar over this past year which has been awesome to see.
Read More...
theajsound - Single Review: Sorrow
12 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Auckland based Indian born singer and songwriter theajsound (AKA AJ) has released a string of singles this year which have amassed hundreds of thousands stream on Spotify, and his latest, Sorrow is a catchy new tune that instantly catches your ear.The guitar sound is clean and an instant classic.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DRIVERS LICENSE
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • WHY OH WHY
    L.A.B.
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • CONTROLLER
    L.A.B.
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • GOOD DAYS
    SZA
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. iann dior
  • NOT MY NEIGHBOUR
    Niko Walters
  • ANYONE
    Justin Bieber
  • SUNDOWN
    Six60
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem