21 Jan 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

LA Thompson - Single Review: Don’t Take Me Back

19 Apr 2020 // A review by Darryl Baser

LA Thompson is a seasoned campaigner, with a solid history in the music industry and her newest single Don’t Take Me Back is another well-crafted song, which has been recorded and produced suitably.

Her voice sits on top of a lush but sparse mix of rhythm and melodic guitars, electronic drums and subtle bass, and her vocal line begins after a couple of bars.

I found it hard to define a meaning in the lyrics apart from the obvious; the protagonist doesn’t want to be taken back to somewhere she’s been before.

In some ways it’s your classic journeying song, a person is on a journey and keen on going forward, not backwards.

Musically, Don’t Take Me Back is Country inspired pop. It has been captured beautifully and it's well played, well produced, worth the listen, and very commercial-radio friendly.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About LA Thompson

LA has an extensive career in the music industry. Performing and writing her own music from the age of 9. LA has enjoyed a colorful life as a musician and promoter of Indie artists throughout New Zealand.

LA’s new song Don’t Take Me Back is her personal focus along with music video production. LA also known as Shirley to friends and family is the Founder and Manager of our nationwide project Local Musicians Music promoting NZ Music along with her more recently formed Nationwide music club “The LMM Network”.

Learning to navigate the ever changing internet and commercial radio station’s criteria has been a huge undertaking that has been met with interest from a number of songwriters, producers and music directors throughout New Zealand.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for LA Thompson

Releases

It's Raining
Year: 2020
Type: Album
New Sun Rising
Year: 2017
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Darryl Baser

The Big Lawn - Album Review: Silverspoon
10 Dec 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Dunedin band The Big Lawn have just released their first album, Silverspoon. The album following on from the success of their debut EP Help Myself.
Read More...
Single Review: Viices: Double Denim 7”
01 Dec 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Viices, known to his mum as Jake McComb, has been making music for a number of years, releasing the Toxic EP in 2017. Double Denim is released on a grey marble 7", which was lovingly packed well in a box.
Read More...
Gig Review: French for Rabbits @ Bark, Dunedin - 27/11/2020
28 Nov 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Port Chalmers songwriter Lucy Hunter opened up the evening with Please Just Break My Heart and Let Me Go. Announcing to the rapidly filling Bark space at Dunedin’s Dog With Two Tails "this is my first [piano] gig standing up".
Read More...
Jolandi Ford - Single Review: You Ain’t In The Picture
28 Nov 2020 // by Darryl Baser
I love me a good break up song, and You Ain’t In The Picture is such a song with a good dose of ‘don’t let the door hit you in the ass on the way out’. The joy in the subject of the song comes across in the lyrics; it's in the way you can hear the smile on her face as she delivers the lines, and also in the song’s composition, especially in the lift to the leading note of the chord, when Jolandi sings; "…will I cry a million tears?
Read More...
Gabriel Bond - Single Review: History
12 Nov 2020 // by Darryl Baser
First thing; wow what a voice. Gabriel Bond has a stunning voice, I would frankly amazed if he hasn’t had a bunch of formal vocal training.
Read More...
Single Review: Redwoods
11 Nov 2020 // by Darryl Baser
In their brief blurb, Redwoods describe themselves as "a Kiwi band formed on the Jurassic lake of Tarawera, featuring members of Fire at Will and Dead Favours". The band comprising of members Josh Dillner, Will Kearney and Hannah Kearney have recently released their debut single, which is self-titled.
Read More...
Gig Review: Die! Die! Die! @ Pioneer Hall, Port Chalmers - 06/11/2020
07 Nov 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Bliss Point are a Dunedin based high school band with musical lineage including drummer Tane Cotton, son of audio engineer Dale Cotton, and nephew of Shayne P Carter. Bliss Point take to the end of the room which is used as a stage to a quarter full room of their parents, school pals and unfashionably early concert goers, your humble scribe included.
Read More...
Gig Review: Delaney Davidson @ ADJO, Dunedin - 3/11/2020
04 Nov 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Cantabrian entertainer Delaney Davidson is on a smaller venues tour which saw him play in Ophir this week, along with shows at Dunedin’s boutique venue ADJO and at The Galley in Port Chalmers. A mostly seated crowd of around 30 people waited, looking at the stage set up in the corner of ADJO, before Delaney Davidson swaggered his way through the crowd from the back area.
Read More...
View All Articles By Darryl Baser

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DRIVERS LICENSE
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • WHY OH WHY
    L.A.B.
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • CONTROLLER
    L.A.B.
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • GOOD DAYS
    SZA
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. iann dior
  • NOT MY NEIGHBOUR
    Niko Walters
  • ANYONE
    Justin Bieber
  • SUNDOWN
    Six60
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem