25 Nov 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Papercity - Single Review: Feel

14 Apr 2020 // A review by Chris Chick

Feel is the second single from Papercity since their debut track Plastic and this one is a rasper. I came into this review on a very neutral playing field and as soon as the song started I was hooked. It is not very often that a song after the first run through has the ability to grab not only my attention but also put me into a trance like state that scans my soul. It could be the gravely singing of Alex Hargreaves, or the 80's pop synth sound, either way the whole put together piece brought a broadening smile to my face as I eased into my hardback chair and soaked up the vibes.

The one thing that I first gravitated towards was the inner workings of why the song was put together. As human conscience grows around the world, there is a familiarity about why this song was penned in the first place. Speaking from the heart, the song is about those moments in time when you feel nothing. We have all been there to some degree, battling with our demons, or trying to figure out the existential issues of life. The key message to this song is an important one and cannot be under estimated, after the darkness comes the light. As Alex has stated "I think it's super important for people to know that things do get better".

The vibe of the song really paints the optimism spoken of here to a tee. There is not much to say about this song apart from what has already been noted, in brief it is a really good single that will engage a large audience base as the music is very catchy. The lyrics are very poignant too and deserves to be listened to by many different ears. This song is definitely a 4 stars out of 5, and well worth your time to go and listen to it.

I am certainly looking forward to what new material this band brings out in the future, and I will be scouring the gig pages to catch them at a live event somewhere here in the South Island.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

Releases

There are no releases to display for Papercity.

Other Reviews By Chris Chick

Miles Calder - Single Review: Take Me Back To How It Was
19 Oct 2020 // by Chris Chick
I think I just found the band that I really want to jam with; Miles Calder's new song Take Me Back To How It Was is a sound that really does what it says on the tin, it takes you back to the way it was. This late 60's and 70's psychedelic number really softens the soul and enables one to really re-live by gone days that many of us did not even have the opportunity to experience.
Read More...
Imperial April - Single Review: Release Me
08 Oct 2020 // by Chris Chick
Imperial April are releasing their new single Release Me on 9 October 2020, and by golly it's an absolute corker, and I will not let anyone else say different. This song has so much going for it, from its production, to the wonderfully enchanting singing, to the 80's summer vibe that will just keep the summer of 2020 a positive time considering the rest of the garbage we have all had to deal with.
Read More...
Turkey The Bird - Single Review: Everybody Needs A Little Sunshine
01 Oct 2020 // by Chris Chick
I was promised a happy little number when handed this assignment, and I was not let down, I think happy might be an understatement, elated, ecstatic, maybe even nirvanic, which I believe is a word I just made up. This is a timely release what with summer banging on the door, a great reminder to us all to put a smile on our faces, and be thankful for the simple things in life, like a little sunshine, especially if you are on the West Coast of the South Island, according to the rumours.
Read More...
Jam Fish - Single Review: The Hermits Red Balloon
24 Aug 2020 // by Chris Chick
Jam Fish’s new single The Hermit’s Red Balloon was released on the 14th August 2020. This song can only be described through golfing metaphors, the experience of listening to this song was like playing a shot beyond the horizon and hoping you make the green.
Read More...
Fornax Chemica - Album Review: Audio Vision
06 Aug 2020 // by Chris Chick
Let’s get one thing straight right off the bat, creating, producing, and performing an album is a massive undertaking in itself. I am always impressed by any musician who is able to accomplish this, no matter the genre or the instruments they play (the more the better I say) this is why longevity within the music industry is not to be ignored when embracing all aspects of artists you love, and those you find hard to love.
Read More...
Iveta & Simone - Single Review: I'm Only Focused On You
15 Jul 2020 // by Chris Chick
Intense and full of bravado, as soon as the first piano chord hammered over my speakers, I jumped to attention like a well drilled private awaiting his first taste of action. Without any hesitation this private felt the need to start running towards the battle with no second thought for my own safety, willed on by the heavy baseline that accompanies the just as strong willed lyrical content.
Read More...
Mini Simmons - Single Review: Travelling Show
12 Jul 2020 // by Chris Chick
With a skip in my step, bounding my way through Trafalgar Square making my way to the center of the world as I knew it, London Town, this brand new single by Mini Simmons is, as they say in London, ruddy bloody good. I love songs that take me back to bygone days of freedom and an ignorance that only a young 20 year old called entangle into his swagger.
Read More...
Hummucide - Single Review: Reacher
25 Jun 2020 // by Chris Chick
Picture a wonderfully blissful day, slow wanderings around the park as it blooms fully into the start of a new creation, beckoning good will and tidings to all that seek it. With that picture in mind, now listen to the new single from Hummucide Reacher and transcend the only way possible from the vibe that jazz music can only touch.
Read More...
View All Articles By Chris Chick

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THEREFORE I AM
    Billie Eilish
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • POSITIONS
    Ariana Grande
  • HOLY
    Justin Bieber feat. Chance The Rapper
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • FADE AWAY
    Six60
  • WHAT YOU KNOW BOUT LOVE
    Pop Smoke
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem