28 May 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

DRXNES - Video Review: Zero

02 Apr 2020 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Wow. This video is an incredible insight into the life of DRXNES. Accompanying the huge track Zero which builds and builds until it ignites and explodes into a wonderfully epic ending, the video shows the inside chemistry of the group. With so much footage here showcasing their live performances, touring, rehearsals and music video shoots, it ties in super nicely with the feel of the music.

Starting an image of a fire on a beach and a setting sun, it feels nostalgic, like a trip back into the 'remember when' moments we all have. One thing is for sure though, DRXNES looked like they always have fun but can quickly get into the zone to do what they need to do in order to bring their music to life. We see just how much the group has done, been through and been part of. It's awesome. And again, the way the song works with this footage and the stories it tells, it really is the perfect blend. Especially with the sentiment of the lyrics. It is a top-notch production worth your time.

Musically, with a rap/rock vibe, I got a little hint of an English group called One Minute Silence. But, it's just a little hint. Overall, the sound is clearly theirs and it's a mixture of so many great influences.

A truly epic music video that would send their fans back in time to relive memories of days past.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About DRXNES

DRXNES are a Wanganui-based metal band formed in 2015. Loved for their stadium-ready anthems and high-energy performances, they have become a critical fixture in New Zealand's live music scene. With two national tours to their name in 2018 and 2019, they have also opened for international and national touring artists including Stray From The Path, Skinny Hobos, Intervals, Counterparts, Earth Tongue and Blindspott. DRXNES are currently working on new music and touring schedules for 2020.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for DRXNES

Releases

There are no releases to display for DRXNES.

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Mazbou Q - EP Review: Afroternity
20 May 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The debut EP from Mazbou Q is a powerful statement. Not only musically in the world of the now trap dominated rap and hip-hop scene, but also through the lyrical ideas that make up the 6-tracks of Afroternity.
Read More...
Outside In - Album Review: Karmatrain
17 May 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The debut release from Outside In is incredible, and it's currently up there as of the greatest debuts from a New Zealand band. Ok, let me explain.
Read More...
Dharma Dan - EP Review: Sotapatti
12 May 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
On the latest release, Sotapatti, from Dharma Dan, the artist finds himself with a set of beats reminiscent of the early New York hip-hop scene. Over the top, Dharma Dan lays down cool, chilled and thoughtful lyrics; "Just a drop of h2o just trying to find its way home to the ocean".
Read More...
Demons of Noon - EP Review: The Summoning
30 Apr 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Doom rock, metal or whatever you want to call it has been a fascination of mine since hearing it on a Guitar Hero game a while ago as a young lad. There was something about that wall of sound guitar and bass sludge sound that was almost hypnotic.
Read More...
Chris Bates - Single Review: Focus
22 Apr 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Focus is a stunning track showcasing the combined efforts of Luan and Chris Bates. The production quality here from Luan is outstanding.
Read More...
General Vibe - EP Review: California Rocket
22 Apr 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
From the low-fi sound that kicks off with the opening track Secondhand, the jazzy elements are right there interwoven amongst beat and pulsing beat. And then, so subtly the vocals transition out of the low-fi realm into crystal clear, as does the rest of the band.
Read More...
Apollo SteamTrain - Single Review: Nothing Stupid
10 Apr 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Starting an acoustic guitar and then adding texture through melodic lead guitar and powerful drums and bass, the new track from Apollo SteamTrain, Nothing Stupid, starts off strong and solid. And from there it only builds and gets stronger.
Read More...
EP Review: Enter Venus
26 Mar 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The explosive start of Throw It Away is hard to ignore. Right away, the guitar and bass smashes you in the face with a killer riff, accentuated further by the pounding drums.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
  • STUCK WITH U
    Ariana Grande And Justin Bieber
  • ROSES (IMANBEK REMIX)
    SAINt JHN
  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • SAY SO
    Doja Cat
  • SAVAGE (REMIX)
    Megan Thee Stallion feat. Beyonce
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • SUPALONELY
    BENEE feat. Gus Dapperton
  • TOOSIE SLIDE
    Drake
  • DEATH BED
    Powfu feat. beabadoobee
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem