15 May 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Foley - EP Review: On My Conscience

01 Apr 2020 // A review by Isla Norman
The infectiously fun Foley are back with the five track EP to keep you grooving through your isolation. On My Conscience offers insight into the buzzing minds of Ash Wallace and Gabriel Everett. The duo have a knack for translating their doubts and daily challenges into ridiculously tasty pop tracks. Wallace and Everett’s friendship can be heard in the sound Foley creates— it’s clear that they have a lot of fun making music.


On My Conscience starts with a killer, catchy tune called Midnight which is about going home with the wrong person. The tidy, funky drum section and powerful pop vocal performance from Ash Wallace makes Midnight slap.

The second track on the EP is called Can’t Help the Way, and it brings back memories of the live music scene in Auckland. It’s no surprise the song was nominated for an APRA Silver Scroll award — it’s a brilliantly executed pop song. The chorus features a complex and exciting melody, and conversational lyrics, and a great hook line.

My favourite from the EP is the powerful Cola, which tells the narrative of moving on from a relationship that wasn’t worth your time. There is liberation in the track — Foley are feeling whole on their own, and it’s exciting. Cola boasts another killer chorus, a tell-tale sign of the duo’s writing.

The EP finishes with the more mellow and thoughtful Homesick. Wallace’s vocals are vulnerable, while the groovy production drives the song to align with Foley’s distinctive sound. The overall sound of the EP is professional and polished, and On My Conscience is relentlessly dancey. All five tracks call for the dance floor to flood.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Foley

Auckland-based pop duo Foley are beaming after the success of two previous singles Talk About It and Stranger. They received boundless support from New Zealand media and have graced international Spotify playlists. In 2018 Foley supported Openside on their No Going Back Tour, playing Christchurch, Wellington, Palmerston North and Hamilton. Foley are preparing for their debut EP release due the end of this year.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Foley

Releases

Vacation
Year: 2021
Type: EP
On My Conscience
Year: 2020
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Isla Norman

KITA - Single Review: Private Lives
06 Apr 2021 // by Isla Norman
2020's nation-wide lockdown was a time of creativity and motivation for some. Six weeks at home allowed for more time spent on passion projects, and an opportunity to spend time with family.
Read More...
Gig Review: The RVMES @ Pumphouse Theatre, Auckland - 19/03/2021
21 Mar 2021 // by Isla Norman
The magic began when I ducked under a fallen tree to reach the venue. Dimly lit by street lamps, the path held mystery in its stones.
Read More...
Foley - EP Review: Vacation
14 Mar 2021 // by Isla Norman
Tamaki Makaurau's Foley are at the heart of New Zealand indie pop. The duo consistently release polished and infectious music that's lovable from the first listen.
Read More...
Louis Baker - Single Review: Overdrive
02 Mar 2021 // by Isla Norman
Louis Baker has one of the most distinctive voices in modern Aotearoa music. He has gathered a loyal following worldwide.
Read More...
Dr.Reknaw - Single Review: Bassline Meditation
14 Dec 2020 // by Isla Norman
Dr.Reknaw is a psychedelic super group with roots in soul, hip-hop and dub.
Read More...
Imperial April - EP Review: An April Christmas
03 Dec 2020 // by Isla Norman
I was dubious at the thought of reviewing a Christmas album. It’s not often that modern holiday tracks dodge the danger of cheesy cheer and forced rhyme.
Read More...
Samantha Heart - Single Review: Alaska
27 Nov 2020 // by Isla Norman
After years of "scribbling lyrics and humming melodies", Samantha Heart is ready to "call herself a musician". She's taken on this new identity with the goal of staying honest, especially when it's difficult.
Read More...
Moonflower - Single Review: Poison
13 Nov 2020 // by Isla Norman
Moonflower is a smooth Christchurch three piece releasing music riddled with dark twists and societal narratives. Comprised of singer/ songwriter/ drummer Nicole Schaap, and accompanying musicians Josh Fairless and Hamish Ellis, this band is not to be missed.
Read More...
View All Articles By Isla Norman

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • BODY (REMIX)
    Russ Millions x Tion Wayne
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
  • HEARTBREAK ANNIVERSARY
    Giveon
  • LEAVE THE DOOR OPEN
    Silk Sonic
  • ASTRONAUT IN THE OCEAN
    Masked Wolf
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • I N T E R L U D E
    J. Cole
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem