25 Nov 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Yumi Zouma - Album Review: Truth or Consequences

30 Mar 2020 // A review by Lou Clement
Yumi Zouma are a four-piece band who formed in New Zealand and have seen international success with their brand of dreamy beach pop – effortlessly upbeat and post-party feels. It’s music that I can always put on my playlist repeat loop. Their third album Truth or Consequences was released this month. It was produced by the band and mixed by Jake Aron and is their first release on Polyvinyl.

I took an instant like to Yumi Zouma; a big part of it was lead singer Christie Simpson's voice which delivers lyrics full of feeling and supported by a beautiful blend of electro beats.

Their tracks have been a staple on my playlists, and so I was thrilled to listen to new music from the alt-pop quartet. New listeners could choose to be introduced to the band with this album: a great example of their electro-flecked sound and delicate harmonies.

This is particularly true of the laid back percussive Right Track Wrong Man, where the harmonies are cleverly interlaced. The third track Southwark is layered feels evocative of urban life and is a little wistful. Sage is melody-led and slows the pace down. A stand out track which sort of reminded me of the Stranger Things series 1980’s nostalgia was Cool for a Second, which put me in mind of a coming of age theme with its lyrics and resonant of a decade sound-tracked for sci-fi magic realism in its pop culture. However, my favourite track was My palms are Your Reference. It’s gentle rise and fall and sense of longing in the lyrics and vocal delivery just make for a perfect pop tune.

The band make mainstream music that’s original, music that’ll take your mind off to memories of sun-laden days, and at these stressful times, I’d say this album is a welcome opportunity to be enveloped in Yumi Zouma’s dreamy sound.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Yumi Zouma

Yumi Zouma are three friends from New Zealand now living internationally in New York and Paris. Their music is timeless, honest and direct. Their debut EP Yumi Zouma was Cascine's first release of 2014.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Yumi Zouma

Releases

Truth or Consequences
Year: 2020
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Willowbank
Year: 2017
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Yoncalla
Year: 2016
Type: Album
EP I & II
Year: 2015
Type: Album
Yumi Zouma
Year: 2014
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Lou Clement

Gig Review: Avantdale Bowling Club @ Hollywood Avondale, Auckland - 23/10/2020
25 Oct 2020 // by Lou Clement
Multi-genre bending Avantdale Bowling Club played to a sold out crowd, breaking in, what seemed like the first long weekend in a very long time, at them Hollywood Avondale. Their most recent release, earlier in 2020 was LIVE, it does what it says on the tin.
Read More...
Gig Review: Racing @ Whammy Bar, Auckland - 31/07/2020
02 Aug 2020 // by Lou Clement
Racing took to the stage on the penultimate date of their Flashback tour. The four-date stop off comes ahead of their highly-anticipated second album release.
Read More...
Sam Wave - Album Review: Rhetorical What
13 Jan 2020 // by Lou Clement
Sam Wave is the moniker of musician Sam Mehrtens. Sam's 13-track debut album Rhetorical What was released in late December.
Read More...
Gig Review: Fat Freddy's Drop @ Thames Racecourse, Thames - 28/12/2019
08 Jan 2020 // by Lou Clement
When Fat Freddy’s Drop announced their Summer Album tour, with dates across New Zealand, I had the feeling of the holiday season beginning. I went along to the first of the tour dates that began their extensive list of stop offs and took place in the lazy in between days of the Christmas-New Year break.
Read More...
Gig Review: Dead Little Penny @ Wine Cellar, Auckland - 15/11/2019
29 Nov 2019 // by Lou Clement
Dead Little Penny played their album launch gig at the Wine Cellar on K Road. Their debut album, Urge Surfing, was released the week of the gig and received many positive reviews, including my review for Muzic.
Read More...
Dead Little Penny - Album River: Urge Surfing
13 Nov 2019 // by Lou Clement
Dead Little Penny released their debut album Urge Surfing on 13 November 2019. It’s nine tracks of electro-industrial, synthesiser-infused melodic, dirge-drifting fun.
Read More...
Gig Review: Pitch Black @ Neck of the Woods, Auckland - 17/10/2019
18 Oct 2019 // by Lou Clement
The legendary Christchurch act Pitch Black whipped up an electronica storm at Neck of Woods, Auckland on their Third Light Tour on 17 October 2019. Taking the audience with them on a visual and musical journey, the duo kicked off their international tour, with this, their first date of twelve, which will take them to London, Amsterdam and Berlin over the coming months.
Read More...
Gig Review: Troy Kingi @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 26/09/2019
04 Oct 2019 // by Lou Clement
Troy Kingi delivered a mash up of reggae, funk and soul as he debuted an album of politically laced tracks and performed for an enthusiastic crowd at the Tuning Fork in Auckland. This was the first of a three date New Zealand tour, following the release of his latest album Holy Colony Burning Acres and tonight he played to a sold out crowd.
Read More...
View All Articles By Lou Clement

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THEREFORE I AM
    Billie Eilish
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • POSITIONS
    Ariana Grande
  • HOLY
    Justin Bieber feat. Chance The Rapper
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • FADE AWAY
    Six60
  • WHAT YOU KNOW BOUT LOVE
    Pop Smoke
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem