9 Apr 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Enter Venus - EP Review: Enter Venus

26 Mar 2020 // A review by Ben Ruegg

The explosive start of Throw It Away is hard to ignore. Right away, the guitar and bass smashes you in the face with a killer riff, accentuated further by the pounding drums. Enter Venus has pulled out all the stops on their new debut, self-titled EP.

With a fine mix of dynamics to allow the song to have more of an impact, like the verses with some guitar and bass missing to let the vocals and drums become the stars, to the epic and out of blue bridge that completely gives the song a whole new feel, it is clear that a lot of thought has gone into the arrangements and compositions. Every single part is well thought out. Like when you get to the track Beautiful Affliction, there are a lot more guitar parts than the previous track, but none feel out of place or added for the sake of technicality in a song. A special mention to the powerful bridge section. There are some great things happening here, clever and intriguing. Riff ideas used in the song culminate to create this incredible section that isn't like the 180 from the first one, but rather the perfect place the song was meant to go.

When we get to She Bites, the feeling has changed again. The sound is clearly Enter Venus, driven with crunchy guitar, powerful drums and bass and excellent vocals, but this time it's got that more staccato guitar feel to it. 'Somewhere out there under the black of night, she adores and she bites.' This part is so catchy, and then you are given a solid guitar with a little nod to Tom Morello of Rage Against The Machine. Nice touch!

In the final track Falling, there is a massive riff in the chorus that every kid is gonna want to learn on their guitar.

It is clear that the band have a solid set of songs here that would be perfect for the live setting. The recording from Dave Rhodes has allowed this to keep that wonderful live sound to it and it allows for these songs to sing. Having won the Battle Of The Bands in 2019, Enter Venus are absolutely a band to watch out for.

Go check out this stunning EP today!

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

Releases

Enter Venus
Year: 2020
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

DRXNES - Video Review: Zero
02 Apr 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Wow. This video is an incredible insight into the life of DRXNES.
Read More...
Column of Sand - EP Review: Head Damage
18 Mar 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Wide-open space greets the ear from the opening track Head Damage. In the modern world of music, sometimes I forget just how much has changed so it is so nice to hear reverb-soaked guitar lead lines over the top of a driving rhythm section.
Read More...
Kong Fooey - Single Review: Charade
13 Mar 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The new single from Kong Fooey, Charade, has got a lot going for it. Full of detail and a mash-up of genres I am blown away by how authentic this track is, coupled with its catchy melodies and tasty lead lines sprinkled all over the place.
Read More...
The Wake Up - Single Review: Dark Horse
06 Mar 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
This new single from The Wake Up is a solid pop rock/pop punk track with a fantastic chorus. From the moment Dark Horse starts, you can tell you are about to have a rocking good time and I certainly wasn't disappointed.
Read More...
Arrays - Single Review: Too Late
03 Mar 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Array's newest single Too Late is a solid track that continues the rock sound that JP Carroll is exploring through this solo studio project.From the chugging guitar part that sets up the verse, the focus here is on the lyric with a mantra like 'over and over' repeated after each line.
Read More...
The Settlers - Single Review: Swimming
25 Feb 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
New Zealand hip-hop is a thriving collection of artists who bring who we are and present it in musical form. The latest track Swimming from The Settlers is a fine example of what NZ can do.
Read More...
Gig Review: Six60 @ Western Springs, Auckland - 22/02/2020
24 Feb 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
"We are the mighty, mighty Six60", proclaims Maitu Walters, lead singer of Six60. And he is in right to say so.
Read More...
Domes - Single Review: Time and Relative Dimension in Space
22 Feb 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Domes newest release, Time And Relative Dimension in Space, is an incredibly deep track that offers so much to the listener. It interweaves soaring melodies and harmonies into what you would be forgiven in thinking was a thrash metal song from the explosive introduction.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • ROSES (IMANBEK REMIX)
    SAINt JHN
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • INTENTIONS
    Justin Bieber feat. Quavo
  • SUPALONELY
    BENEE feat. Gus Dapperton
  • DON'T START NOW
    Dua Lipa
  • DEATH BED
    Powfu feat. beabadoobee
  • SAY SO
    Doja Cat
  • THE BOX
    Roddy Ricch
  • SUNDAY BEST
    Surfaces
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem