25 Nov 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Enter Venus - EP Review: Enter Venus

26 Mar 2020 // A review by Ben Ruegg

The explosive start of Throw It Away is hard to ignore. Right away, the guitar and bass smashes you in the face with a killer riff, accentuated further by the pounding drums. Enter Venus has pulled out all the stops on their new debut, self-titled EP.

With a fine mix of dynamics to allow the song to have more of an impact, like the verses with some guitar and bass missing to let the vocals and drums become the stars, to the epic and out of blue bridge that completely gives the song a whole new feel, it is clear that a lot of thought has gone into the arrangements and compositions. Every single part is well thought out. Like when you get to the track Beautiful Affliction, there are a lot more guitar parts than the previous track, but none feel out of place or added for the sake of technicality in a song. A special mention to the powerful bridge section. There are some great things happening here, clever and intriguing. Riff ideas used in the song culminate to create this incredible section that isn't like the 180 from the first one, but rather the perfect place the song was meant to go.

When we get to She Bites, the feeling has changed again. The sound is clearly Enter Venus, driven with crunchy guitar, powerful drums and bass and excellent vocals, but this time it's got that more staccato guitar feel to it. 'Somewhere out there under the black of night, she adores and she bites.' This part is so catchy, and then you are given a solid guitar with a little nod to Tom Morello of Rage Against The Machine. Nice touch!

In the final track Falling, there is a massive riff in the chorus that every kid is gonna want to learn on their guitar.

It is clear that the band have a solid set of songs here that would be perfect for the live setting. The recording from Dave Rhodes has allowed this to keep that wonderful live sound to it and it allows for these songs to sing. Having won the Battle Of The Bands in 2019, Enter Venus are absolutely a band to watch out for.

Go check out this stunning EP today!

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

Releases

Enter Venus
Year: 2020
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Gig Review: Th' Dudes @ Town Hall, Auckland - 19/11/2020
21 Nov 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Arriving at the Auckland Town Hall and subsequently finding parking was a lot easier than I had anticipated. The town seems very quiet at around 7:30 pm, although there is a large gathering of people around the Town Hall, an indication that something big is happening.
Read More...
Boy Virgo - Single Review: Psycho
15 Nov 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Here is a track that takes what you think you know about genres of music and says, "Nope, you are wrong". On the new track Psycho from Boy Virgo, I think this is the one thing I really enjoyed.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Jordan Luck Band @ Pukekohe Cosmopolitan Club, Pukekohe - 6/11/2020
08 Nov 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
It’s a Friday night in Pukekohe and as I walk into the Pukekohe Cosmopolitan Club just before 8 pm you can feel the anticipation in the air. Looking like a high school ball, there is a large dance floor in front of the stage while the rest of the venue is lined vertically with tables.
Read More...
Krispy & The Pooch - EP Review Drop The Needle
06 Nov 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Wow. Krispy & The Pooch have quite the EP here.
Read More...
And$um - EP Review: Late Nights
29 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
And$um has returned with a new EP. Made up of six tracks, this is yet another collection of songs that demonstrate the sound Sam brings to this project.
Read More...
Gig Review: BENEE @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 16/10/2020
17 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
As I got to Spark Arena for the first time since February this year, I couldn't help but notice how many families were there with smiling kids, and parents alike, all waiting for doors to open. BENEE has become quite a superstar over this past year which has been awesome to see.
Read More...
theajsound - Single Review: Sorrow
12 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Auckland based Indian born singer and songwriter theajsound (AKA AJ) has released a string of singles this year which have amassed hundreds of thousands stream on Spotify, and his latest, Sorrow is a catchy new tune that instantly catches your ear.The guitar sound is clean and an instant classic.
Read More...
Sam V - EP Review: Cruisin'
08 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The new EP from Sam V, bKidd and EDY is a blast. With a few skits interwoven into the EP, the whole package feels well thought out and it sounds great.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THEREFORE I AM
    Billie Eilish
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • POSITIONS
    Ariana Grande
  • HOLY
    Justin Bieber feat. Chance The Rapper
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • FADE AWAY
    Six60
  • WHAT YOU KNOW BOUT LOVE
    Pop Smoke
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem