11 Jul 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Enter Venus - EP Review: Enter Venus

26 Mar 2020 // A review by Ben Ruegg

The explosive start of Throw It Away is hard to ignore. Right away, the guitar and bass smashes you in the face with a killer riff, accentuated further by the pounding drums. Enter Venus has pulled out all the stops on their new debut, self-titled EP.

With a fine mix of dynamics to allow the song to have more of an impact, like the verses with some guitar and bass missing to let the vocals and drums become the stars, to the epic and out of blue bridge that completely gives the song a whole new feel, it is clear that a lot of thought has gone into the arrangements and compositions. Every single part is well thought out. Like when you get to the track Beautiful Affliction, there are a lot more guitar parts than the previous track, but none feel out of place or added for the sake of technicality in a song. A special mention to the powerful bridge section. There are some great things happening here, clever and intriguing. Riff ideas used in the song culminate to create this incredible section that isn't like the 180 from the first one, but rather the perfect place the song was meant to go.

When we get to She Bites, the feeling has changed again. The sound is clearly Enter Venus, driven with crunchy guitar, powerful drums and bass and excellent vocals, but this time it's got that more staccato guitar feel to it. 'Somewhere out there under the black of night, she adores and she bites.' This part is so catchy, and then you are given a solid guitar with a little nod to Tom Morello of Rage Against The Machine. Nice touch!

In the final track Falling, there is a massive riff in the chorus that every kid is gonna want to learn on their guitar.

It is clear that the band have a solid set of songs here that would be perfect for the live setting. The recording from Dave Rhodes has allowed this to keep that wonderful live sound to it and it allows for these songs to sing. Having won the Battle Of The Bands in 2019, Enter Venus are absolutely a band to watch out for.

Go check out this stunning EP today!

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

Releases

Enter Venus
Year: 2020
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

And$um - Album Review: Volume 1
26 Jun 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
And$um's album entitled Volume 1 is a trip through a whole range of ideas and concepts.Armed with an idea, a sound and a vision, And$um takes ownership of his sound and runs with it.
Read More...
Ekko Park - Single Review: All On Eyes On Me
24 Jun 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Wow! Hit repeat.
Read More...
Darryl Baser - EP Review: #SecondSelfie
11 Jun 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The room sound really comes through in the opening track of the new EP, #SecondSelfie, from Darryl Baser. It brings a real sense of honesty to recordings.
Read More...
She Loves You - Single Review: Devout
28 May 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Devout is the latest single from She Loves You, a 4-piece Auckland-based fast-talking all-action girl group.The track starts off quietly but quickly builds in a dance-rock song in the chorus.
Read More...
Mazbou Q - EP Review: Afroternity
20 May 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The debut EP from Mazbou Q is a powerful statement. Not only musically in the world of the now trap dominated rap and hip-hop scene, but also through the lyrical ideas that make up the 6-tracks of Afroternity.
Read More...
Outside In - Album Review: Karmatrain
17 May 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The debut release from Outside In is incredible, and it's currently up there as of the greatest debuts from a New Zealand band. Ok, let me explain.
Read More...
Dharma Dan - EP Review: Sotapatti
12 May 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
On the latest release, Sotapatti, from Dharma Dan, the artist finds himself with a set of beats reminiscent of the early New York hip-hop scene. Over the top, Dharma Dan lays down cool, chilled and thoughtful lyrics; "Just a drop of h2o just trying to find its way home to the ocean".
Read More...
Demons of Noon - EP Review: The Summoning
30 Apr 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Doom rock, metal or whatever you want to call it has been a fascination of mine since hearing it on a Guitar Hero game a while ago as a young lad. There was something about that wall of sound guitar and bass sludge sound that was almost hypnotic.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • ROSES (IMANBEK REMIX)
    SAINt JHN
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • STUCK WITH U
    Ariana Grande And Justin Bieber
  • WHAT'S POPPIN'
    Jack Harlow
  • ROVER
    S1mba feat. DTG
  • BREAKING ME
    Topic feat. A7S
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem