21 Sep 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Enter Venus - EP Review: Enter Venus

26 Mar 2020 // A review by Ben Ruegg

The explosive start of Throw It Away is hard to ignore. Right away, the guitar and bass smashes you in the face with a killer riff, accentuated further by the pounding drums. Enter Venus has pulled out all the stops on their new debut, self-titled EP.

With a fine mix of dynamics to allow the song to have more of an impact, like the verses with some guitar and bass missing to let the vocals and drums become the stars, to the epic and out of blue bridge that completely gives the song a whole new feel, it is clear that a lot of thought has gone into the arrangements and compositions. Every single part is well thought out. Like when you get to the track Beautiful Affliction, there are a lot more guitar parts than the previous track, but none feel out of place or added for the sake of technicality in a song. A special mention to the powerful bridge section. There are some great things happening here, clever and intriguing. Riff ideas used in the song culminate to create this incredible section that isn't like the 180 from the first one, but rather the perfect place the song was meant to go.

When we get to She Bites, the feeling has changed again. The sound is clearly Enter Venus, driven with crunchy guitar, powerful drums and bass and excellent vocals, but this time it's got that more staccato guitar feel to it. 'Somewhere out there under the black of night, she adores and she bites.' This part is so catchy, and then you are given a solid guitar with a little nod to Tom Morello of Rage Against The Machine. Nice touch!

In the final track Falling, there is a massive riff in the chorus that every kid is gonna want to learn on their guitar.

It is clear that the band have a solid set of songs here that would be perfect for the live setting. The recording from Dave Rhodes has allowed this to keep that wonderful live sound to it and it allows for these songs to sing. Having won the Battle Of The Bands in 2019, Enter Venus are absolutely a band to watch out for.

Go check out this stunning EP today!

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

Releases

Enter Venus
Year: 2020
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

The RVMES - Single Review: Big Bam Boom
14 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The RVMES newest track Big Bam Boom is a good time that deserves your attention.The rawness and realness of this track cannot be denied.
Read More...
Troy Kingi - Album Review: The Ghost of Freddie Cesar
10 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Genius. Honestly.
Read More...
Dub Boys - EP Review: Fortune Favours The Bold
10 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The newest EP from the Dub Boys is fantastic. As someone who appreciates all styles of music, Hip-Hop continues to be one I stay fascinated with due to the current climate and success of certain artists.
Read More...
The Settlers - Single Review: Love
06 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Driven by a catchy guitar loop and backed up with a beat that ebbs and flows, the new track Love from The Settlers really puts its focus on its lyrics and delivery.Keeping the vocal effects to the minimum here allows the verses to sound authentic and real.
Read More...
Ekko Park - Album Review: Horizon
24 Aug 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The latest album from Ekko Park is an absolute blast of a time to listen to from beginning to end.All Eyes On Me sets the scene by just giving it everything.
Read More...
Investigator - Single Review: Bad Luck Shoebox
17 Aug 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Classic rock vibes crossed with modern rock sound drives this new track from Investigator. Driven by Adrian Drew, Investigator has a sound that is clear and defined and Bad Luck Shoebox adds another track to an ever-growing catalogue that showcases his ideas and sounds that make up Investigator.
Read More...
Will McClean - Album Review: Can't Sleep I'm Dreaming
07 Aug 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The new album from Will McClean takes a lot of well-produced beats and combines them with his flow and lyrics. It's a smooth ride most of the time as is demonstrated in the opening track Front Desk featuring JClean.
Read More...
TheOpHilus - Single Review: My Little Rugrat
02 Aug 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Authentic and real; that’s the best way to describe the new track My Little Rugrat from TheOpHilus. True Hip-Hop has always been, in my mind, sampling and talking about how things are where you are right now.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • WAP
    Cardi B feat. Megan Thee Stallion
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • LAUGH NOW CRY LATER
    Drake feat. Lil Durk
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • MOOD SWINGS
    Pop Smoke feat. Lil Tjay
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem