19 Sep 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Levi Patel - Album Review: A Shifting Lightness

19 Mar 2020 // A review by Mike Alexander
There is a place within all of us where our darkness gives way to the light and our sorrows become our rejoicing. It is elusive but wearies not as we journey through life with all of its disappointments. This soothing of the soul can come in many forms, of which music is one of its most potent forms.


Levi Patel dares enter where oft we fear to go and in his inspiration I have found the why of we and the who of me. I hear the calling and it reminds me of what I have forgot, a life less lived is soon forgot.

A Shifting Lightness is true to its word, though one dare not decree what purpose lies behind such sweetness. Simple piano melodies give pause for thought and gentle strings speak of hope and faith in renewal, uplifting the spirit of those who search for meaning beyond what has become meaningless.

If his previous works, the EPs Forms and Of Sleep and Time and the 2017 album Affinity, which yielded As She Passes, a composition which has had more than 10 million streams on Spotify and Soundcloud, were embellished with subtle electronic sweeps and strokes, which have given way to a more organic approach in the classical sense, with the deeply riveting cello of James Bush.

Titles are suggestive rather than directive - Signals Silent, Through Winter Eyes, In Ancient Ways and To Shift In Memories - and it comes as no surprise that they were conceived and birthed at Levi's home studio in Matakana "which is half underground, so from where I was writing every day I could only see through a single window above ground".

The lightness of being is potently encapsulated in A Shifting Lightness. It can only be hoped that Patel will find an audience amongst those who are awakened to their soul (sole) purpose.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Levi Patel

With four solo records released to glowing reception, New Zealand’s Levi Patel is finding his standing as one of the country's most promising composers. The 28-year-old holds a passion for crafting musical pieces that delicately reflect an emotional intensity that is both gentle and captivating.

Levi has a fascination with sound and the production process, which has encouraged him to pave his own compositional path. His passion for arrangement echoes throughout the diversity of his work. From intimate, solo piano to expansive and climactic soundscapes formed of layered voices and strings, Levi’s music has an encapsulating quality that speaks across his varied releases.

Levi's journey properly took flight in 2014 with his self-released EP Forms, which was closely followed by second EP Of Sleep and Time, the spiritual home to much-loved composition As she passes, which has received well over 10 million streams across Soundcloud and Spotify. Levi released his debut full-length album Affinity in 2017 to further positive reception and is currently preparing for the release of his next album.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Levi Patel

Releases

A Shifting Lightness
Year: 2019
Type: EP
Affinity
Year: 2017
Type: Album
Of Sleep And Time
Year: 2015
Type: EP
Forms
Year: 2014
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Mike Alexander

Arli Liberman - Soundtrack Review: Savage
17 Sep 2020 // by Mike Alexander
Arli Liberman is a natural fit for a movie score. As anyone who has listened to his three solo albums - Arli Liberman, Fata Morgana and Allegra will have noted, the Israel-born guitarist has a flair for visceral, beautifully textured and other-worldly soundscapes.
Read More...
Empasse - EP Review: Ultraviolet
13 Sep 2020 // by Mike Alexander
Ultraviolet has history – literally. As its composer Nick Johnston explains in the press release accompanying the EP, his first under the moniker Empasse , it is a “soundtrack to a story that is not well known in New Zealand outside the Waikato region where I live.
Read More...
Lou'ana - Single Review: Feel This
01 Sep 2020 // by Mike Alexander
It’s no surprise that Lou’ana has been nominated in three categories at the Pacific Music Awards. What would surprise is if she didn’t scoop up the two main ones – Best Soul/RnB artist and Best Female Artist.
Read More...
Echo Children - Single Review: Our Parents Fixed It All
01 Sep 2020 // by Mike Alexander
With the beguiling This Was Our Fault EP and the bitter-sweetness of Flowers still lingering, Echo Children are proving as alluring as they are elusive to define on their latest single, Our Parents Fixed It All. That might be because of the melting pot of nationalities – Amanda Larsson (Sweden), Niamh O'Flynn (Canada) and Oliver Young (Scotland) – that gives them such a sense of other-worldiness, beautifully infused in songs that sparkle like rare pop gems tinged with the earthiness of country and folk.
Read More...
Torn Chorus - Single Review: Letting Go
27 Aug 2020 // by Mike Alexander
Franklin Davis doesn’t have a pure voice. It’s on the slightly brittle side of melodious, more the kind that would blend in well with others.
Read More...
Riqi Harawira - Single Review: Suffering
25 Aug 2020 // by Mike Alexander
Riqi Harawira has made his calling an open book that has dealt with his personal experience of addiction and mental health challenges. His latest single Suffering, is his most powerful statement yet, precisely and eloquently encapsulating aspects of the recovery journey.
Read More...
Lee Martin - Single/Video Review: Falling Down
20 Aug 2020 // by Mike Alexander
Now is the time Lee Martin was due to take a trip to the US.Covid has scuttled those plans and, instead, she’s released the stunning single Falling Down (and 360-degree music video) from her Lost Girl EP, which came out last year.
Read More...
Maciek Hrybowicz - Single Review: Mr Ponsonby
17 Aug 2020 // by Mike Alexander
As far as introductions go, Poland-born composer and guitarist Maciek Hrybowicz has left quite the impression with this calling card. Mr Ponsonby is taken from his 2019 album AWA, a collection of pieces inspired by the beauty of his adopted home land New Zealand.
Read More...
View All Articles By Mike Alexander

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • WAP
    Cardi B feat. Megan Thee Stallion
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • LAUGH NOW CRY LATER
    Drake feat. Lil Durk
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • MOOD SWINGS
    Pop Smoke feat. Lil Tjay
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem