10 Jul 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Levi Patel - Album Review: A Shifting Lightness

19 Mar 2020 // A review by Mike Alexander
There is a place within all of us where our darkness gives way to the light and our sorrows become our rejoicing. It is elusive but wearies not as we journey through life with all of its disappointments. This soothing of the soul can come in many forms, of which music is one of its most potent forms.


Levi Patel dares enter where oft we fear to go and in his inspiration I have found the why of we and the who of me. I hear the calling and it reminds me of what I have forgot, a life less lived is soon forgot.

A Shifting Lightness is true to its word, though one dare not decree what purpose lies behind such sweetness. Simple piano melodies give pause for thought and gentle strings speak of hope and faith in renewal, uplifting the spirit of those who search for meaning beyond what has become meaningless.

If his previous works, the EPs Forms and Of Sleep and Time and the 2017 album Affinity, which yielded As She Passes, a composition which has had more than 10 million streams on Spotify and Soundcloud, were embellished with subtle electronic sweeps and strokes, which have given way to a more organic approach in the classical sense, with the deeply riveting cello of James Bush.

Titles are suggestive rather than directive - Signals Silent, Through Winter Eyes, In Ancient Ways and To Shift In Memories - and it comes as no surprise that they were conceived and birthed at Levi's home studio in Matakana "which is half underground, so from where I was writing every day I could only see through a single window above ground".

The lightness of being is potently encapsulated in A Shifting Lightness. It can only be hoped that Patel will find an audience amongst those who are awakened to their soul (sole) purpose.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Levi Patel

With four solo records released to glowing reception, New Zealand’s Levi Patel is finding his standing as one of the country's most promising composers. The 28-year-old holds a passion for crafting musical pieces that delicately reflect an emotional intensity that is both gentle and captivating.

Levi has a fascination with sound and the production process, which has encouraged him to pave his own compositional path. His passion for arrangement echoes throughout the diversity of his work. From intimate, solo piano to expansive and climactic soundscapes formed of layered voices and strings, Levi’s music has an encapsulating quality that speaks across his varied releases.

Levi's journey properly took flight in 2014 with his self-released EP Forms, which was closely followed by second EP Of Sleep and Time, the spiritual home to much-loved composition As she passes, which has received well over 10 million streams across Soundcloud and Spotify. Levi released his debut full-length album Affinity in 2017 to further positive reception and is currently preparing for the release of his next album.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Levi Patel

Releases

A Shifting Lightness
Year: 2019
Type: EP
Affinity
Year: 2017
Type: Album
Of Sleep And Time
Year: 2015
Type: EP
Forms
Year: 2014
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Mike Alexander

Gramsci - Album Review: Inheritance
06 Jul 2020 // by Mike Alexander
Paul McLaney has, metaphorically speaking, found his voice again. After a series of largely conceptual electronic albums as The Impending Adorations, he has rebooted Gramsci, the songwriting alias that has lain dormant since the release of Like Stray Voltage in 2005.
Read More...
Compilation Review: Home Alone: Winter 2020
02 Jul 2020 // by Mike Alexander
Wellington boutique label Home Alone has developed an exceptional roster of artists since it announced itself to the world in 2006. And while the creative backbone of the label has always been the triumvirate of Timothy Blackman, who actually launched the label in Dunedin with his debut EP, Lake South and French For Rabbits' Brooke Singer, it has expanded its repertoire and reach with such as internationalists Helena Massey and Shenondoah Davis.
Read More...
Sunny Ray - Album Review: Sentient Compass
16 Jun 2020 // by Mike Alexander
The transformation in Sunny Ray has always seemed inevitable since she made her debut in 2010 with the delightfully visionary EP Mindlessness. Here was a voice that spoke to us of the journey of the soul and the process of its awakening.
Read More...
Ignatia : Rising - Single Review: You Found Me Too
03 Jun 2020 // by Mike Alexander
The retooled Ignatia : Rising continue to surprise with their latest release - a quiet stunner, which is perhaps a reflection of these times when we have all been forced to look deep within ourselves. After three singles that made it almost impossible to pigeon-hole their style or swagger, You Found Me Too is an acoustic ballad "an ode to unconditional love".
Read More...
Jackie Bristow - Single Review: Blue Moon Rising
11 Feb 2020 // by Mike Alexander
For those who have followed the career of Stateside-based, but born and bred in New Zealand, songwriter Jackie Bristow there's an unintentional (as far as I am aware) poignancy about the release of her latest single Blue Moon Rising. It signals a slight wind shift, a change in musical direction, bought about by the musical influences she's been surrounded by since moving from Austin, Texas, to Nashville, Tennessee, in 2017.
Read More...
Tom Ludvigson and Trevor Reekie - Album Review: Roto
20 Jan 2020 // by Mike Alexander
Technology without artifice is a rarity in music nowadays – any 'nerd' with an understanding of the various software programmes available for composing music can create something out of nothing without being compelled by an inner muse. Roto, by Tom Ludvigson and Trevor Reekie, is an exception to such mundaneness.
Read More...
Tattletale Saints - Album Review: Under The Dogwoods
20 Jan 2020 // by Mike Alexander
There has always been a simple charm to Tattletale Saints ever since they announced themselves with the release of their debut album How Red Is The Blood in 2013. That album deservedly took out a Tui for best Folk Album at the New Zealand Music Awards the following year and while the duo of Cy Winstanley and Vanessa McGowan no longer call New Zealand home – they are based in Nashville, Tennessee – their OE has certainly broadened their musical horizons and palette.
Read More...
EP Review: Your Indigo
17 Dec 2019 // by Mike Alexander
What a great surprise and start to a new decade. Your Indigo has all the makings of a 'super group' with three very distinctive talents in their own right – 'electric' electro producer Joshua Holmes and songwriting maidens (they do bear bouquets  in their hair on the video to Glass Cloud),  Amiria Grenell (Autumn and Three Feathers) and Bryony Matthews (Little Queen).
Read More...
View All Articles By Mike Alexander

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • ROSES (IMANBEK REMIX)
    SAINt JHN
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • STUCK WITH U
    Ariana Grande And Justin Bieber
  • WHAT'S POPPIN'
    Jack Harlow
  • ROVER
    S1mba feat. DTG
  • BREAKING ME
    Topic feat. A7S
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem