9 Aug 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Crooked Royals - Single Review: Copacetic

19 Mar 2020 // A review by Kris Raven

Crooked Royals are back!

With brand new single Copacetic about to be released, Auckland progressive metalcore five-piece Crooked Royals are continuing their meteoric rise and adding to an already brilliant 2020 of music (and its only March!). Off the back of last year's Rumination EP and following a huge 2019 of touring and international support slots, including prime slots with metal heavyweights Northlane, Polaris and Monuments, the boys are back to destroy our ears once again.

This new song already feels like a step up, a gradual evolution, where they are really comfortable with their music and their overall musicianship. It feels like they are branching out and experimenting a little more, controlling the chaos with room to breathe between musical and vocal passages.

Co-Vocalist Christian Cartensen leads the song, his voice is harmonious, passionate and carries a lot of clarity. Beginning with lead guitarist Jake Andrews clean, finger picked guitar melody, they are quickly joined by drummer Keane Gillies snare rolling, the song slowly building. What I’ll call the “chorus” , this part is just so catchy and hooky, Jake's signature lead tapping mixing through Christian's incredibly punchy vocal melodies “If I could seize the day then I might please my pain”, a little less frantic, massive and allowing breathing room for the melodies to rule.

Then as they do, the song takes us off the tracks, co vocalist and main screamer Lee Mackley takes over, commanding and dominating this next section. I like how the vocals have been recorded in this song, Lee's screaming sounds rawer and live and Christian's clean vocals soar and control the song. There's the rhythmic breakey chugs breaking through Keane's impressive rolling double kicks, I love the Jake Luhr's spoken/whisper type vocals and then the customary breakdown with the complimentary Sam Carter Blurgh!

The next passage is groove heavy with Christian leading the vocal assault. There is some definite Veil of Maya inspiration, especially with Connor Lawson's bass mimicking certain guitar passages, which sounds insane, these guys kill it on their guitars every time. Again, the rhythm section and guitars are very tight and cohesive but this time there is more allowance for certain instruments to carry certain parts. When the guitar is demanding, the drums are solid and composed and then vice versa, as Lee savagely screams “And round and round and round” Coming down a notch,  there is a rad synthy guitar line that plays over a staggered palm muted rhythm, taking us on another path.

“Walls create divide”, we return briefly to where it began before we get some of Christian's impassioned screams, a cool dynamic within both vocalists. Then the return to the epic 'chorus part', getting that last session of hooky goodness. In true CR form, the song takes its own structure but they come back to the main vocal and driving guitar melody that really keeps you wanting more. I am incredibly curious to see where the next song or songs takes us and I can already see this being a big crowd favorite live! 

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

Releases

Rumination
Year: 2019
Type: EP
Intertwine
Year: 2018
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kris Raven

Swerve City - Single/Video Review: Dangerous
08 Aug 2020 // by Kris Raven
My first initial thoughts after hearing & viewing the debut single by alternative rock collective Swerve City was how lead vocalist JP Carroll (Arrays, ex-Armed in Advance) has further elevated his frontman persona and status in a relatively new (2019) band full of strong and diverse musicians. His vocal approach particularly in the chorus I found was a big take away from previous known material and he is singing a little out of his comfort zone which is very cool to hear (and see).
Read More...
Banks Arcade - EP Review: Fever Dreams
10 Jun 2020 // by Kris Raven
NZ/Aussie 5-piece Banks Arcade recently released their game changing second EP and follow up to their debut EP, 2018’s Endnote. A lot has changed for the band in three years, members have come and gone, a move across the ditch and an incredible evolution in their sound and focus.
Read More...
City of Souls - Album Review: Synaesthesia
30 Apr 2020 // by Kris Raven
Alright people, it’s here, it’s finally here!5 years in the making.
Read More...
These Four Walls - Album Review: This Is Not A Future
15 Apr 2020 // by Kris Raven
These Four Walls, a household name in NZ rock since the mid 2000's, the now Australian-based alt rock four piece are about to release their third album This Is Not A Future and the timing feels eerily perfect, an album name never seemed more real right now. Beginning with The Sound, the opening lyric "All my life I've lived this song" is a hauntingly introverted revelation that gives you an indication on where this album will take you.
Read More...
Devilskin - Album Review: Red
01 Apr 2020 // by Kris Raven
On album number four, RED is both a warning and a statement and Devilskin are here to deliver it in their most diverse and creative outing yet. Four years have passed since the release of their 2016 award-winning second album Be Like The River and as they come off the back of heavy national and international touring; Devilskin, one of NZ’s most beloved Rock/Metal bands is about to release their highly anticipated album in amongst the chaos of 2020.
Read More...
City of Souls - Single Review: Shimmer
27 Feb 2020 // by Kris Raven
The time is drawing ever closer to the impending, highly anticipated release of NZ Prog/Alt Rock Metal legends City of Souls debut album Synaesthesia. Off the back of several (SIX) epic single releases in the last five years, we received not one, but two brand new singles this week, the beautifully haunting White Ghost and the groove inducing heavy banger Shimmer, which is out today!
Read More...
Secrets Of The Sun - Single Review: Wretched Tracks
13 Feb 2020 // by Kris Raven
It’s always a good thing to hear of new music coming from the nation's capital, having been the hub of such huge and varying artists. However, in recent years there seems to have been a steady increase in bands and artists calling it a day.
Read More...
Streakers - Single Review: Saturated
14 Oct 2019 // by Kris Raven
Christchurch 3 Piece Alternative Rock and roll machine Streakers have recently dropped their new single Saturated. The song takes me back to the 90’s, with the sounds of big chunky guitar riffs, pounding Grohl-esque drums and unique vocal stylings.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kris Raven

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
  • MY FUTURE
    Billie Eilish
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • ROSES (IMANBEK REMIX)
    SAINt JHN
  • CARDIGAN
    Taylor Swift
  • BREAKING ME
    Topic feat. A7S
  • WHAT'S POPPIN'
    Jack Harlow
  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem