21 Sep 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Blindspott - Gig Review: Blindspott @ Powerstation, Auckland - 14/03/2020

16 Mar 2020 // A review by Steve Shyu

Way back in 2007, on the exact same stage, was the last time I witnessed Blindspott deliver the goods – And it certainly was a night to remember. Little did I know then, I was still in my formative years dabbling in heavy music, and Blindspott sat atop a high podium of reverence in my mind, as I’m sure many Aucklanders of my age did. Years have passed since, the band have undergone line-up changes, disbandments, two momentous reformations, and one album (yes, technically as Blacklistt, but for simplicity’s sake, let us have it). Like me, many of their fans have grown up, musical tastes may have shifted, and the performers themselves will have changed – Still, I wasted no time in accepting the opportunity to see the idols of my school-days again, revived, reinvigorated and live.

To set the pace of the evening, City of Souls were slated to kick things off. Richie brought forth impressively broad dynamics in vocal styles, backed harmonically by an equally talented Trajan, who also served on guitar. Fevered solo licks and atmospheric-sounding guitar arpeggios were filled in by Steve, with added weight on bass provided by Daniel, who, along with Marcus on lead-plus-rhythm guitar, were serving double-duties both in City of Souls as well as the headlining act. However, the main driving power lay with Corey, the man covering synths, samples and the drumkit. When combined with the weighty basslines, the ethereal background of synths truly added that mesmerising signature flavour.

The six-man group effortlessly presented some of their best singles, including Sleep, Ferryman, their newest hit Shimmer, plus their hard rock rendition of Joy Division’s Love Will Tear Us Apart, which frontman Richie dedicated to The Rock radio station for their months of on-air support.

With bold vocals, guitar riffs bursting with attitude, beaten over with hip-hop infused rock drum rhythms, it was easy to see why City of Souls was an easy contender to open for Blindspott.

Before the stagehands for the headline act had even finished setting up, the passionate crowd were chanting for Blindspott between house songs. No doubt, as lights dimmed and the band emerged, fans erupted in delighted screams.

Audio of a purerehua, or bull-roarer, being spun signalled the song Mind Dependency. Memories of late night hangouts in friends’ cars listening this very album washed over, and I grinned as I did back in 2007. As the even posters promised, the songs ran from start-of-album to ending; naturally, the band’s quintessential hit single Nil By Mouth followed. No kidding, glancing around the audience both upstairs and downstairs, everyone were singing (or at least mouthing) the lyrics, with a majority screaming aloud the “I! Don’t! Know! Why!” of choruses.

With apparently more than enough energy to burn, the band powered through album highlights Suffocate and Fall Down, and fans were familiar with just about every lyric and musical dynamic.

A longer ending to the first slow song of the set Blank was played, with emotions brimming as lead vocalist Damian crouched as he crooned the lines “Don’t go, please don’t go...”. I can’t lie, I got misty-eyed. Having done some growing up since first listening to Blindspott, I realised how personal some of the song’s lyrics really are. What I used to take as verses which simply catered to teen-angst I now find rather touching. It’s true when they say songs take on a different meaning when you’re older!

The song Plastic Shadows had to be restarted as a couple of punters at the front rail started to get overly-vigorous. Shelton leapt down from behind his drum riser to investigate and quell the commotion, and after members in the altercation had calmed, lead guitarist Marcus implored for the audience to look after one another. Good move - It might be unthinkable, but let's be civil and have a rock gig without violence!

I couldn’t help but feel a sense of pride on Blindspott’s behalf, seeing them rock as hard as they do, coming back together after a turbulent number of years, and still having the passion to dish out their best. Daniel Insley slammed away on bass guitar just as heavily as long-time guitarist Marcus Powell did, shuffling about and letting their instruments take control. Andrew Kerr of I Am Giant was also aboard, helping out on guitar duties, adding hefty layers to the string section. Drumming legend Shelton Woolwright hammered out both sturdy and hip-hop-infused grooves effortlessly, as he has always done, creating the unmistakable rhythm on almost every Blindspott release. Damian’s vocals were both on fine form, laying out both smooth, clean-singing as well as the harsh scream vocal he was revered for.

No Blindspott performance would be complete without their national favourite, the reggae-informed number-one hit, Phlex. The lyrically-reflective song always made for a hyper-emotive listen, both on record, and live on stage, but this time around, the atmosphere seemed lighter, and the men of Blindspott also appeared more upbeat. Being a reggae-rock tune, frontman Damian himself verbally permitted the sparking up of joints, but I can’t say I recall being surrounded by that much reefer smoke the last few times I saw this song performed!

With one encore down, even after the album's final track Ilah, the crowd continued cheering. With so many singles released under the collective names of Blindspott and Blacklistt, I knew it would be surprising if they didn’t play at least one more. Which they did! The group treated The Powerstation to Yours Truly and Drown, and a hugely surprising cover of Deftones’s 1997 song Be Quiet and Drive. What a terrific treat. This served as a nice gesture to soothe those who felt disappointed with news of aforementioned band’s cancellation.

Stage lights came on, but the smiling band members were still occupied taking selfies and shaking hands with fans at the front rails. Blindspott were beaming with pride, and rightly so. With over two decades to their names and still selling out a major Auckland venue, they certainly have earned it. Just when it seemed everything had wrapped up, Damian cheekily suggested, “Shall we play one more?” and with no objections from his bandmates, who picked up their respective instruments, and launched for a second time into their best-known hit, Nil By Mouth. ‘Cause why the heck not!

I arrived a thirty-something-year-old and left a giddy and grinning teen again; this was the Blindspott I remembered seeing. The band were still fun to watch, the songs made me mentally relive days gone by, and they gave a little more than I expected. Time marched on, yet when the prime work of one of Aotearoa’s most iconic bands was brought out in the limelight, it showed that it’s truly the spirit of heavy metal and rock n’ roll that prevails.

 

About Blindspott

May 29th will see the release of the second full-length album 'End The Silence' from West Auckland’s finest metal advocates, Blindspott.

This record marks numerous departures for the band that has evolved considerably since they burst onto the local music scene in 2002 with their self-titled debut.

Blindspott’s grassroots fan-base was such that that their first album debuted at number one in the New Zealand charts. It was an album that spawned multiple hits including the singles 'Phlex', 'Nil by Mouth', 'Room to Breathe' and 'S.U.I.T'. It was a shot in the arm for the country’s metal scene, and provided the impetus and confidence that has subsequently lead to the genre now thriving. The impact the band had on the otherwise arid scene spotlighted them for bigger things. They went onto major league success throughout South-east Asia, playing to crowds as big as 70,000 in Indonesia.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Blindspott

Releases

End the Silence
Year: 2006
Type: Album
Story So Far
Year: 2004
Type: DVD
Blindspott (Limited Edition)
Year: 2003
Type: Album
Blindspott
Year: 2002
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Steve Shyu

Strangely Arousing - Single Review: Airplanes
16 Sep 2020 // by Steve Shyu
Ska and reggae specialists Strangely Arousing hail from Rotorua, and the five lads have been making plenty of waves in the Aotearoa music scene over half a dozen years. They won SmokeFree Pacifica Beats in 2013, went on to perform at numerous Raggamuffin and Rhythm & Vines festivals, and even toured South Korea and China.
Read More...
Animalhead - Single Review: Follow Blind feat. Rory Howard
27 Aug 2020 // by Steve Shyu
For those who haven’t yet experienced Animalhead, the three-piece rock act is based in Auckland, and play energetic fusions of punk, rock & roll, with hard-grooves that nod at the likes of Black Sabbath and Audioslave. They’ve released three singles, have earned airplay on major radio stations The Rock and Hauraki, performed live at Muzic.
Read More...
Steve Hutchinson - Single Review: pfmcfnc
16 Jul 2020 // by Steve Shyu
Residing in Nelson, Steve Hutchinson creates rock and heavy metal music as a means of expressing himself, and to leave a mark on Aotearoa’s music scene. Though disabled, this has not deterred Steve from venturing forth and making some noise on guitar.
Read More...
Rei - Album Review: Hoea
14 Jul 2020 // by Steve Shyu
Over the past five years, Rei has worked his way to become arguably Wellington’s new king of Hip-Hop, on top of which he is also one of many in the rising tide of Rap artists writing in both English and Te Reo. Ever since I saw Rei open for Sons of Zion at The Powerstation two years ago, my interests have piqued further every time his name is mentioned on air or shows up billed on a music event.
Read More...
PolarisRadio - Album Review: Deadline
03 Jul 2020 // by Steve Shyu
Dean Moroney, under his stage name PolarisRadio, is on track to becoming Aotearoa’s finest retro-synth music producer. Over the past six years, from his home-base in the Hawke’s Bay, he has released numerous one-off singles and full-length releases, including Virtual Paradise.
Read More...
Voodoo Bloo - Single Review: MMA
11 Jun 2020 // by Steve Shyu
With lockdown officially over, here comes the time to see live some of the music that’s been recorded or released while Aotearoa has been in isolation. Out of the now indefinitely-shelved Wellington band Lucifer Gunne comes Voodoo Bloo, the new project of the musical mastermind Rory McDonald.
Read More...
Channeled - Single Review: Isolation
04 Jun 2020 // by Steve Shyu
Just by reading the title you’d be forgiven for thinking this is “just another song about being in lockdown”. Before you dismiss this outright, you’d be relieved to know the songwriter actually composed this years before Covid-19, and in his own words, it’s about "running away from being locked inside your head and turning away from the person you once were".
Read More...
Ten24 - Single Review: Blissful Affliction
01 Jun 2020 // by Steve Shyu
One of the newest and most brilliant acts to come out of Wellington recently is Ten24, the alternative rock four-piece that took out the Smokefree Rockquest People’s Choice Award of 2019. Steadily gaining traction and attention from throughout the capital, the band have recorded and released their very first single, entitled Blissful Affliction.
Read More...
View All Articles By Steve Shyu

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • WAP
    Cardi B feat. Megan Thee Stallion
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • LAUGH NOW CRY LATER
    Drake feat. Lil Durk
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • MOOD SWINGS
    Pop Smoke feat. Lil Tjay
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem