4 Aug 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Shady Brain Farm - EP Review: Orange to Red

13 Mar 2020 // A review by Chris Chick

Shady Brain Farm have played together as a group off and on for the last 20 years, with all the members living in the Northwest Auckland area of Kumeu, Waimauku and Muriwai Beach. The music they make reflects this West Coast beach vibe. Orange to Red is their 4th release as a band.

Let’s get straight to the point, I love this band, end of my review, hang on….apparently that is not a suitable statement to make. I was once told that short and sweet is enough in some situations, just like in photography, over saturating a picture can do much detriment to the final product. Shady Brain Farm are like that secret little hideout you are dying to tell your mates about, but you really want to keep the secret to yourself, for your own gratification.

I really dig short, sweet, uncomplicated music and this band has that in the scoop full. From the banging and rasping baselines in Orbiter to the simple, yet effective drum rolls throughout all 4 songs. Orange to Red is a real dreamy affair that makes you yearn for a long, yet romantic walk along the beach with an empty mind and a guitar in your hand ready to create the next 'big' hit. There is certainly a 10cc feel going on here, and I am very happy about that.

Just when I thought the dreamy walk along the beach was coming to an end, I was then transported to an empty beach along the Californian coast to the aptly named Astra California there is something very psychedelic and different to this EP, it entraps you with its head bopping harmonies. The final song I Don't Know is a great sound to finish off this fine polished sound track with a high octane funk brand of loveliness, just like music I have just listened to, this review is over before it even began, and that is meant in a good way. Short, sharp and like a fine pair of comfortable jandals, well worth the purchase.

This is well worth the 15 minutes to listen to, another wonderful Kiwi band that have been around for a wee while now and deserve the attention for never giving up their dream.

Playlist:

1. Orange to Red - Written some time ago and mixed in a spooky coincidence during Orange Sunday when the sky indeed did turn Orange.

2. Orbiter - Instrumental Surf Punk with backing singing by Local Morgan Costello.

3. Astra California - Written mostly by Ben Furniss after some time in California and based off a message written in a book about Log Cabins (found in a second hand shop) that was a gift To Bevan from Astra urging them to pursue their dreams of building a house together ending 'no bounds no fear, nor emptiness'.

4. I Don't Know - I don’t know what to do or where to go, longing for the past.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Shady Brain Farm

Shady Brain Farm have played together as a group off and on for the last 19 years,
all members living in the Norwest Auckland area of Kumeu, Waimauku and Muriwai beach
the music they make reflecting this West Coast beach vibe.

Ben Furniss - Main Vocals, Guitar & Keyboards has been in many Auckland bands over the years including The Broken Heartbreakers, Superturtle, White Swan Black Swan and Surrealistic, has a nice home studio in a barn on his farm in Kumeu where they do their recordings, (recent Galveston Demo Recordings were done there), and record local up and coming bands (this area seems to be saturated with talent coming out of Kaipara College).

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Shady Brain Farm

Releases

Orange To Red
Year: 2020
Type: EP
19 Years In The Same House
Year: 2018
Type: Album
Robot Radio
Year: 2015
Type: EP
Shady Brain Farm
Year: 2000
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Chris Chick

Iveta & Simone - Single Review: I'm Only Focused On You
15 Jul 2020 // by Chris Chick
Intense and full of bravado, as soon as the first piano chord hammered over my speakers, I jumped to attention like a well drilled private awaiting his first taste of action. Without any hesitation this private felt the need to start running towards the battle with no second thought for my own safety, willed on by the heavy baseline that accompanies the just as strong willed lyrical content.
Read More...
Mini Simmons - Single Review: Travelling Show
12 Jul 2020 // by Chris Chick
With a skip in my step, bounding my way through Trafalgar Square making my way to the center of the world as I knew it, London Town, this brand new single by Mini Simmons is, as they say in London, ruddy bloody good. I love songs that take me back to bygone days of freedom and an ignorance that only a young 20 year old called entangle into his swagger.
Read More...
Hummucide - Single Review: Reacher
25 Jun 2020 // by Chris Chick
Picture a wonderfully blissful day, slow wanderings around the park as it blooms fully into the start of a new creation, beckoning good will and tidings to all that seek it. With that picture in mind, now listen to the new single from Hummucide Reacher and transcend the only way possible from the vibe that jazz music can only touch.
Read More...
Whaea Stylz - Single Review: North Star
11 Jun 2020 // by Chris Chick
Whenever anyone makes the plunge into Reggae style music, you just know you are in for a treat, and there is no difference here with Whaea Stylz latest single North Star; an infused reggae beat that is guaranteed to get you moving even those muscles you never knew existed. I was really drawn in by the range of instruments, especially the piano, I thought its use really added to the song.
Read More...
Found Family - Single Review: Alive
27 May 2020 // by Chris Chick
Again, New Zealand music goes and surprises me, and in a good way. It reminds me of my trip to a well-known hot pool resort in the South Island; I arrived there with my little buddy that I mentor and saw the price of entrance.
Read More...
Phil Stoodley - Single Review: Undercover
13 May 2020 // by Chris Chick
I was pleasantly surprised when I was reminded that I also reviewed Phil Stoodley's work 7 years ago. This was like a coming of age moment and having recently returned to the duties of music reviewing, I thoroughly enjoyed the nostalgia of that memory.
Read More...
Terrence & The Optimistics - EP Review: Groovy Baby
07 May 2020 // by Chris Chick
As an eternal optimist, the chance to review a band with that term implanted into their vibe was an easy decision. Some would say that this is a recipe for bias reviewing, I would rather see it as a an extra brownie point before I had even cracked open the computer salivating in anticipation for some retro nostalgic soul grooves of the 60’s and 70;s, not that I was there in person, only in spirit.
Read More...
Papercity - Single Review: Feel
14 Apr 2020 // by Chris Chick
Feel is the second single from Papercity since their debut track Plastic and this one is a rasper. I came into this review on a very neutral playing field and as soon as the song started I was hooked.
Read More...
View All Articles By Chris Chick

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • CARDIGAN
    Taylor Swift
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
  • EXILE
    Taylor Swift feat. Bon Iver
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • THE 1
    Taylor Swift
  • ROSES (IMANBEK REMIX)
    SAINt JHN
  • WHAT'S POPPIN'
    Jack Harlow
  • BREAKING ME
    Topic feat. A7S
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem