19 Apr 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Shady Brain Farm - EP Review: Orange to Red

13 Mar 2020 // A review by Chris Chick

Shady Brain Farm have played together as a group off and on for the last 20 years, with all the members living in the Northwest Auckland area of Kumeu, Waimauku and Muriwai Beach. The music they make reflects this West Coast beach vibe. Orange to Red is their 4th release as a band.

Let’s get straight to the point, I love this band, end of my review, hang on….apparently that is not a suitable statement to make. I was once told that short and sweet is enough in some situations, just like in photography, over saturating a picture can do much detriment to the final product. Shady Brain Farm are like that secret little hideout you are dying to tell your mates about, but you really want to keep the secret to yourself, for your own gratification.

I really dig short, sweet, uncomplicated music and this band has that in the scoop full. From the banging and rasping baselines in Orbiter to the simple, yet effective drum rolls throughout all 4 songs. Orange to Red is a real dreamy affair that makes you yearn for a long, yet romantic walk along the beach with an empty mind and a guitar in your hand ready to create the next 'big' hit. There is certainly a 10cc feel going on here, and I am very happy about that.

Just when I thought the dreamy walk along the beach was coming to an end, I was then transported to an empty beach along the Californian coast to the aptly named Astra California there is something very psychedelic and different to this EP, it entraps you with its head bopping harmonies. The final song I Don't Know is a great sound to finish off this fine polished sound track with a high octane funk brand of loveliness, just like music I have just listened to, this review is over before it even began, and that is meant in a good way. Short, sharp and like a fine pair of comfortable jandals, well worth the purchase.

This is well worth the 15 minutes to listen to, another wonderful Kiwi band that have been around for a wee while now and deserve the attention for never giving up their dream.

Playlist:

1. Orange to Red - Written some time ago and mixed in a spooky coincidence during Orange Sunday when the sky indeed did turn Orange.

2. Orbiter - Instrumental Surf Punk with backing singing by Local Morgan Costello.

3. Astra California - Written mostly by Ben Furniss after some time in California and based off a message written in a book about Log Cabins (found in a second hand shop) that was a gift To Bevan from Astra urging them to pursue their dreams of building a house together ending 'no bounds no fear, nor emptiness'.

4. I Don't Know - I don’t know what to do or where to go, longing for the past.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Shady Brain Farm

Shady Brain Farm have played together as a group off and on for the last 19 years,
all members living in the Norwest Auckland area of Kumeu, Waimauku and Muriwai beach
the music they make reflecting this West Coast beach vibe.

Ben Furniss - Main Vocals, Guitar & Keyboards has been in many Auckland bands over the years including The Broken Heartbreakers, Superturtle, White Swan Black Swan and Surrealistic, has a nice home studio in a barn on his farm in Kumeu where they do their recordings, (recent Galveston Demo Recordings were done there), and record local up and coming bands (this area seems to be saturated with talent coming out of Kaipara College).

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Shady Brain Farm

Releases

Orange To Red
Year: 2020
Type: EP
19 Years In The Same House
Year: 2018
Type: Album
Robot Radio
Year: 2015
Type: EP
Shady Brain Farm
Year: 2000
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Chris Chick

MARY. - Single Review: Day To Day
12 Mar 2021 // by Chris Chick
MARY. is the ‘dreamy’ alter ego of the songs creator Stef T, a robust and staunch woman making her way in what can be perceived as a very male orientated world in many aspects.
Read More...
Revulva - Single Review: Sniffly Lady
25 Feb 2021 // by Chris Chick
I had the privilege and honour to review the debut single from Revulva, Sniffly Lady, a song all about the grand boogie on a Saturday night. No matter how old or young you are, the intense anticipation of getting out and amongst the people for a boogie, especially in this day and age, is the great equalizer to the capitalistic machine we all find ourselves under.
Read More...
Bad Llamas - EP Review: Wunderlane
31 Jan 2021 // by Chris Chick
The new 6 track EP Wunderlane by Bad Llamas is a breath of fresh air when it comes to NZ music. Situated down in the depths of Christchurch, this is the band's second EP release after their debut 2019 EP What Even is Bad Llamas.
Read More...
Paul The Kid - Single Review: Palm Trees & Ciggies
08 Dec 2020 // by Chris Chick
If you were wondering what you Summer song was going to be for this year, the year of the 'what the hell just happened' Palm Trees and Ciggies could well be your winner to take you through to the next Winter. Any song that drops a humdinger of a ska/reggae beat is a sure fire way to get noticed by this reviewer, especially as the temperature starts to warm up and the stock of cold ones increases in the fridge.
Read More...
Miles Calder - Single Review: Take Me Back To How It Was
19 Oct 2020 // by Chris Chick
I think I just found the band that I really want to jam with; Miles Calder's new song Take Me Back To How It Was is a sound that really does what it says on the tin, it takes you back to the way it was. This late 60's and 70's psychedelic number really softens the soul and enables one to really re-live by gone days that many of us did not even have the opportunity to experience.
Read More...
Imperial April - Single Review: Release Me
08 Oct 2020 // by Chris Chick
Imperial April are releasing their new single Release Me on 9 October 2020, and by golly it's an absolute corker, and I will not let anyone else say different. This song has so much going for it, from its production, to the wonderfully enchanting singing, to the 80's summer vibe that will just keep the summer of 2020 a positive time considering the rest of the garbage we have all had to deal with.
Read More...
Turkey The Bird - Single Review: Everybody Needs A Little Sunshine
01 Oct 2020 // by Chris Chick
I was promised a happy little number when handed this assignment, and I was not let down, I think happy might be an understatement, elated, ecstatic, maybe even nirvanic, which I believe is a word I just made up. This is a timely release what with summer banging on the door, a great reminder to us all to put a smile on our faces, and be thankful for the simple things in life, like a little sunshine, especially if you are on the West Coast of the South Island, according to the rumours.
Read More...
Jam Fish - Single Review: The Hermits Red Balloon
24 Aug 2020 // by Chris Chick
Jam Fish’s new single The Hermit’s Red Balloon was released on the 14th August 2020. This song can only be described through golfing metaphors, the experience of listening to this song was like playing a shot beyond the horizon and hoping you make the green.
Read More...
View All Articles By Chris Chick

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • RAPSTAR
    Polo G
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
  • HEARTBREAK ANNIVERSARY
    Giveon
  • LEAVE THE DOOR OPEN
    Silk Sonic
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • ASTRONAUT IN THE OCEAN
    Masked Wolf
  • DEJA VU
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • ALL SHE WROTE
    Six60
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem