8 Jul 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Kong Fooey - Single Review: Charade

13 Mar 2020 // A review by Ben Ruegg

The new single from Kong FooeyCharade, has got a lot going for it. Full of detail and a mash-up of genres I am blown away by how authentic this track is, coupled with its catchy melodies and tasty lead lines sprinkled all over the place.

At first, the smooth dub/reggae vibes get you prepped for what is about to come, yet within half a minute you are given a whole other viewpoint to listen from. Sure, you've got that dub vibe, but throw over some funky guitar licks, solid bass and a rap flow that's an earworm, and here you have Kong Fooey. But even then, there were moments where there is an almost rock beat, some DJ record scratching, there is just so much to take in.

However, Charade is done so tastefully, so much so that you know that they are not just throwing around ideas. Lyrically, it kind of ties into the whole 'how do we keep with this whole charade' mantra at the end. The whole concept of keeping up appearances is discussed here within the context of a relationship.

This is a truly wonderful track that is funky, vibey and full of a lot of ideas that support each other as opposed to getting in the way of each other. The more you listen to this track, the more you hear and notice.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Kong Fooey

Predominately hip hop inspired but not afraid to infuse old school funk, soul, dance hall, heavy bass and solid grooves, Kong Fooey is a unique sound with hard hitting positive vibes, big hooks and solid beats. Kong Fooey is the alter ego of mild mannered drummer/producer Jason Peters who having drummed for various rock bands over the years - most notably for 90's heavy hitters Pumpkinhead - uses his knowledge of beats and percussion to provide the back bone of what is the groove-heavy Kong Fooey sound. Peters decided to relocate to Auckland in October 2011.

Looking for a new start after the chaos of the Christchurch earthquakes and working in a new direction musically he signed with Loop. Having crossed paths with Maitreya back in the '90s music scene, a chance meeting at Auckland's Ponsonby Food court led to Peters asking Maitreya to check out his new work, Maitreya dug the vibe and was happy to collaborate. "We have written around five tracks together and there is a mutual respect for each other's abilities and work ethic. I really want to produce music that not only grooves hard but has a positive and conscious message in the lyrics too, something Maitreya and Topaz both do very well," says Peters. Topaz (Jason's cousin also hailing from Christchurch) provides the yin to Kong Fooeys yang, a talented upcoming female MC who contributes positive and thought provoking vocals over Fooey's hyped up beats. Peters has been pleased with the positive reaction to first single 'Let Go' receiving excellent rotation on George, Kiwi and Mai FM. Kong Fooey recently played before 12,000 people warming up the Christchurch beer festival crowd before Supergroove took the stage, and then played a great show at Sounds on 2013 along side David Dallas and Home Brew.

A five track Kong Fooey EP is due to be released in 2013 along with an NZ on Air funded music video for 'Let Go'. With a debut album now in production Kong Fooey is a name you're definitely going to be hearing more of... and in case you were wondering about the name, it does come from the 1974 cartoon and the superhero pooch who uses martial arts to fight crime. Number one super fly and quicker than the human eye, Kong Fooey has got style, a groovy smile and a fight that just won't stop! Stay tuned...

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Kong Fooey

Releases

Final Destination
Year: 2015
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

And$um - Album Review: Volume 1
26 Jun 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
And$um's album entitled Volume 1 is a trip through a whole range of ideas and concepts.Armed with an idea, a sound and a vision, And$um takes ownership of his sound and runs with it.
Read More...
Ekko Park - Single Review: All On Eyes On Me
24 Jun 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Wow! Hit repeat.
Read More...
Darryl Baser - EP Review: #SecondSelfie
11 Jun 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The room sound really comes through in the opening track of the new EP, #SecondSelfie, from Darryl Baser. It brings a real sense of honesty to recordings.
Read More...
She Loves You - Single Review: Devout
28 May 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Devout is the latest single from She Loves You, a 4-piece Auckland-based fast-talking all-action girl group.The track starts off quietly but quickly builds in a dance-rock song in the chorus.
Read More...
Mazbou Q - EP Review: Afroternity
20 May 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The debut EP from Mazbou Q is a powerful statement. Not only musically in the world of the now trap dominated rap and hip-hop scene, but also through the lyrical ideas that make up the 6-tracks of Afroternity.
Read More...
Outside In - Album Review: Karmatrain
17 May 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The debut release from Outside In is incredible, and it's currently up there as of the greatest debuts from a New Zealand band. Ok, let me explain.
Read More...
Dharma Dan - EP Review: Sotapatti
12 May 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
On the latest release, Sotapatti, from Dharma Dan, the artist finds himself with a set of beats reminiscent of the early New York hip-hop scene. Over the top, Dharma Dan lays down cool, chilled and thoughtful lyrics; "Just a drop of h2o just trying to find its way home to the ocean".
Read More...
Demons of Noon - EP Review: The Summoning
30 Apr 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Doom rock, metal or whatever you want to call it has been a fascination of mine since hearing it on a Guitar Hero game a while ago as a young lad. There was something about that wall of sound guitar and bass sludge sound that was almost hypnotic.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • ROSES (IMANBEK REMIX)
    SAINt JHN
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • STUCK WITH U
    Ariana Grande And Justin Bieber
  • WHAT'S POPPIN'
    Jack Harlow
  • ROVER
    S1mba feat. DTG
  • BREAKING ME
    Topic feat. A7S
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem