10 Jul 2020

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

O Juliet - Album Review: Unlash the Boats

12 Mar 2020 // A review by Isla Norman
New Plymouth based band O Juliet have released their debut album, the mystical and mysterious Unlash the Boats. The album begins with a shuffling rhythm section and smooth electric keyboard as Juliet herself laments the pain of losing what she mistook for love. She talks of lining her nerves in a row, as she gathers the energy and strength to leave. The backing vocals from the band add a solemn triumph to the piece, as if Juliet is returning from battle safe, but injured.

The second piece, Figured it Out, feels lighter. The electric piano that drives the soundscape of the album is less melancholy, and more thoughtful. The lyrics talk of moving through disappointments with maturity. With lounge jazz influences, the song sits somewhere between empowering and defeated. She says that it’s “never enough to dream in the light of others”, seemingly moved to find fulfilment from herself.

Juliet’s lyrics are thought provoking. She writes in metaphors that provide enough information to keep you interested without revealing too much. My favourite track on the album is Set the Fire, which uses creative guitar effects and once again demonstrates Juliet’s poetic ability.

The title track Unlash the Boats utilises creative synths, and sound effects that appear reversed. The result is a disorienting. Leaving Copper Mountain allows time for the listener to pause and think. The production is charmingly low-fi.

Finally, the album ends on an uplifting note with Somebody’s Sweetheart. Produced by Rhythm Ace, Unlash the Boats is worth a listen for its creativity, and ultimately calming timbre. O Juliet should be proud of the final product they worked hard to release. We look forward to seeing where their music takes them next.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )

About O Juliet

“A misty blend of pure, heartfelt lyricism cut against unexpected twists and twilight stylings. Blurred edges and a gentle sense of things not being quite as they first appear. A reward for the curious and the listener who likes to decide for themselves—not for the spoon feeders!”
-Sam Johnson, Producer and Sound Engineer, Rhythm Ace Studio

O Juliet are a band based in New Plymouth, New Zealand. Founded by songwriter Juliet McLean the group includes longtime collaborators and tour-mates Rob Ju and Hamish Cameron. Their latest album Unlash the Boats was released in November 2019.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for O Juliet


Unlash The Boats
Year: 2019
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Isla Norman

Madeleine Howard - Single Review: Missing Pieces
30 Jun 2020 // by Isla Norman
From a young age Madeleine Howard was inspired by female New Zealand artists. Brooke Fraser, Anika Moa and Lorde resonated with her.
Roonie - Single Review: My Heart
22 Jun 2020 // by Isla Norman
Taupo born Michaela Pointon started songwriting when she was 12, and released her debut EP Human Nature in her final year of high school. In 2019 the young artist adopted the moniker Roonie, and chased her musical dreams to Auckland.
Marina Bloom and Moving Stuff - Single Review: Let's Pretend
29 May 2020 // by Isla Norman
Russian singer-songwriter Marina Bloom has embraced lockdown as a time of creativity and expression through releasing a series of singles entitled Songs of Isolation. Ordinarily influenced by the likes of Celine Dion and Fleetwood Mac, her latest single Let’s Pretend is a grungier offering than her listeners may have expected.
Sofia Machray - Single Review: Handstands
25 May 2020 // by Isla Norman
“Indie-pop fantasizer” Sofia Machray is stirring up the music scene with her debut single Handstands. Having made a name for herself performing at festivals and opening for indie-rock band Racing, it’s exciting to see her step into the studio.
Imperial April - Single Review: Peachy
13 May 2020 // by Isla Norman
While Imperial April’s debut single was released this May, they are no strangers to the music scene. Victoria and Andy Knopp have worked on various projects over the years, including electro-pop band The Response and a handmade CD for Mother’s Day.
Echo Children - Single Review: Flowerbeds
04 May 2020 // by Isla Norman
Echo Children are "a band of foreigners formed in the melting pot of Auckland". With members hailing from Scotland, Sweden, the UK and Canada the group pull influences from Springsteen, Ryan Adams and Fleetwood Mac.
Album Review: Reb Fountain
30 Apr 2020 // by Isla Norman
Reb Fountain’s latest release is more than an album: it’s a sonic experience. The songs are innovative and varied - there’s reason to give attention to every track.
Farandicus - Double Single Review: Shame On You / Throwaway Youth
10 Apr 2020 // by Isla Norman
Farandicus’ style is an amalgamation of the varied musical backgrounds of its members. Their latest dual release of Shame on You and Throwaway Youth will make you move.
View All Articles By Isla Norman

NZ Top 10 Singles

    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
    The Weeknd
    Ariana Grande And Justin Bieber
    Jack Harlow
    S1mba feat. DTG
    Topic feat. A7S
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem