16 Oct 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Arrays - Single Review: Too Late

03 Mar 2020 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Array's newest single Too Late is a solid track that continues the rock sound that JP Carroll is exploring through this solo studio project.

From the chugging guitar part that sets up the verse, the focus here is on the lyric with a mantra like 'over and over' repeated after each line. The setup then allows the chorus to really shine here, definitely the songs strongest part where the harmonies sound tight and powerful.

One thing Array's has a been doing a lot of lately is throwing away the rule book for how to write a song. Here, in the second verse, I would expect it to feel the same as the first, yet it is cranked up a lot more and it works well, especially heading back into the second chorus. With a cool breakdown that doesn't completely change up the track, overall this certainly sounds like the most commercial song which is not bad at all. I just hear it as a good option to be promoting, hence why it has been released as a single.

With a video of JP playing each instrument, and a lyric video, the whole package is here so it should hopefully get the attention it deserves. It's a powerful rock song about the musing of wondering if it is in fact Too Late.

Excellent work.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Arrays

Arrays is the solo studio project of JP Carroll - the archetypal one man band. JP writes, performs and arranges the songs, records and produces the tracks, and even handles the mixes by himself. Music is his obsession, from writing a song, to mixing it and releasing it.

The new album Light Years is a tour de force of melodic, guitar heavy, metal-infused rock. This record is proudly independent, self produced and funded, and another way point on the journey JP is on to achieving the sound he hears in his head.

No Way Out presents a visceral, aggressive aspect of Arrays, driven by a palm muted riff, before the syncopated, stomping bridge lands. Little Blue Dot reveals a softer side, until the anthemic final chorus. Home is a twisted time capsule for our shared experience in lockdown, and the title track sets off the record with introspective lyrics and an arrangement big and wide enough to carry them.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Arrays

Releases

Light Years
Year: 2020
Type: Album
Motives
Year: 2017
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Ms.Take - Single Review: Maybe That's Just What I Am
11 Oct 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
The dystopian Trap Jam Maybe That's Just What I Am is the second official single from Ms.Take, a follow up to 2018's Silver & Gold, and a 2020 lockdown collaboration with Melbourne-based artist F.
Read More...
Y$O - EP Review: Young And Slept On
05 Oct 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Y$O. Note that down.
Read More...
Louis Ross - Single Review: Here To Help
27 Sep 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Local Tauranga DJ and Producer Louis Ross has created a new song Here to Help to bring awareness to mental health issues ahead of Mental Health Awareness Week. After losing his father and Grandma within a few months of each other and navigating his way through loss and grief, Louis is combining his own mental health struggles with his love of music to help others.
Read More...
BrokeBoi Ace - Single Review: Watered Down Dreamz
15 Sep 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Oh man. I like this.
Read More...
Sam V - Single/Video Review: Wired
10 Sep 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Sam V's newest track Wired is another demonstration of how Sam keeps refining his sound. His vision has been getting more focused over time, based on his previous tracks like Cotton Candy which is actually a Y$O track, and Up Up Down.
Read More...
InDuna - Single Review: Strange Fruits
08 Sep 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
InDuna's approach to Hip-Hop/Rap is something that listeners should pay attention to. It fits into what kind of feels as almost progressive in regards to the styles it compasses.
Read More...
2Fly Ty - Single Review: That Track Feat. Dilz
03 Sep 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
2FLY TY's newest track entitled That Track is out now and features bars from Dilz. Both Ty and Dilz perform well here with TY’s flow being delivered on a rather flat way; not hyped and not like he’s not trying.
Read More...
Goodlynx - Single/Video Review: Purple Blue
10 Aug 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Starting Purple Blue off with a real honest vibe is the sound of a major 7th on a guitar. This interval sets a tone and mood that allows Goodlynx to be direct and honest with his audience.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • LOVE NWANTITI (AH AH AH)
    CKay
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
  • MEET ME AT OUR SPOT
    THE ANXIETY, WILLOW And Tyler Cole
  • WOMAN
    Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem