8 Jul 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Arrays - Single Review: Too Late

03 Mar 2020 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Array's newest single Too Late is a solid track that continues the rock sound that JP Carroll is exploring through this solo studio project.

From the chugging guitar part that sets up the verse, the focus here is on the lyric with a mantra like 'over and over' repeated after each line. The setup then allows the chorus to really shine here, definitely the songs strongest part where the harmonies sound tight and powerful.

One thing Array's has a been doing a lot of lately is throwing away the rule book for how to write a song. Here, in the second verse, I would expect it to feel the same as the first, yet it is cranked up a lot more and it works well, especially heading back into the second chorus. With a cool breakdown that doesn't completely change up the track, overall this certainly sounds like the most commercial song which is not bad at all. I just hear it as a good option to be promoting, hence why it has been released as a single.

With a video of JP playing each instrument, and a lyric video, the whole package is here so it should hopefully get the attention it deserves. It's a powerful rock song about the musing of wondering if it is in fact Too Late.

Excellent work.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Arrays

Arrays is the solo studio project of JP Carroll - the archetypal one man band. Arrays expands directly from individuality; Driven, thoughtful and meticulously crafted productions. And lyrically it’s like therapy, expressing the gamut from divorce to depression, anxiety to existential angst, hopelessness to hope.

Conceptualised as a pure creative outlet, Arrays has morphed into a mission to create without constraint, to share music and story with like minded souls. It might be a solo project, but Arrays is about community and sharing struggles. Finding joy in the music, and something to relate to in the story. It is music to accompany soaring highs, or be the soundtrack to a bad day.

Arrays is guitar centric, melodic and anchored in groove. Grunge, Nu Metal, Metalcore and Prog Metal influences are drawn upon to create a sound that is as unique and unmistakably ‘JP’, while still feeling strangely familiar - like a trip down memory lane with a new perspective.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Arrays

Releases

Motives
Year: 2017
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

And$um - Album Review: Volume 1
26 Jun 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
And$um's album entitled Volume 1 is a trip through a whole range of ideas and concepts.Armed with an idea, a sound and a vision, And$um takes ownership of his sound and runs with it.
Read More...
Ekko Park - Single Review: All On Eyes On Me
24 Jun 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Wow! Hit repeat.
Read More...
Darryl Baser - EP Review: #SecondSelfie
11 Jun 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The room sound really comes through in the opening track of the new EP, #SecondSelfie, from Darryl Baser. It brings a real sense of honesty to recordings.
Read More...
She Loves You - Single Review: Devout
28 May 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Devout is the latest single from She Loves You, a 4-piece Auckland-based fast-talking all-action girl group.The track starts off quietly but quickly builds in a dance-rock song in the chorus.
Read More...
Mazbou Q - EP Review: Afroternity
20 May 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The debut EP from Mazbou Q is a powerful statement. Not only musically in the world of the now trap dominated rap and hip-hop scene, but also through the lyrical ideas that make up the 6-tracks of Afroternity.
Read More...
Outside In - Album Review: Karmatrain
17 May 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The debut release from Outside In is incredible, and it's currently up there as of the greatest debuts from a New Zealand band. Ok, let me explain.
Read More...
Dharma Dan - EP Review: Sotapatti
12 May 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
On the latest release, Sotapatti, from Dharma Dan, the artist finds himself with a set of beats reminiscent of the early New York hip-hop scene. Over the top, Dharma Dan lays down cool, chilled and thoughtful lyrics; "Just a drop of h2o just trying to find its way home to the ocean".
Read More...
Demons of Noon - EP Review: The Summoning
30 Apr 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Doom rock, metal or whatever you want to call it has been a fascination of mine since hearing it on a Guitar Hero game a while ago as a young lad. There was something about that wall of sound guitar and bass sludge sound that was almost hypnotic.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • ROSES (IMANBEK REMIX)
    SAINt JHN
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • STUCK WITH U
    Ariana Grande And Justin Bieber
  • WHAT'S POPPIN'
    Jack Harlow
  • ROVER
    S1mba feat. DTG
  • BREAKING ME
    Topic feat. A7S
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem