30 Nov 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Molly Devine - Single Review: Call Me Up

27 Feb 2020 // A review by IslaMusic
Dunedin pop singer Molly Devine has just released the perfect song for your honeymoon phase. Call Me Up is uplifting and hopeful. It captures the butterflies felt in the optimism of a new relationship.


The track starts with a mysterious synth, before moving into a catchy riff with a simple clap for the beat. Like any good pop song, it reaches its catchy chorus before the one minute mark. The arrangement is charming, and Devine’s whimsical voice evokes a daydream. Nothing overly complicated, Call Me Up is a fun song to enjoy for the end of summer.

Along with her new track, Devine has released a music video directed by Shae Stirling. The video captures the stunning landscape of Aotearoa. The scenery feels like a metaphor for a new love; green, fresh, and full of hope. The music video is full of vibrant colours and striking images of forests and beaches.

Ironically, Devine wrote the song while going through a breakup. On writing the song, she says “we chose the theme of new love, which is hilarious because I was going through a break up at the time…” Devine appears to have secret powers to see into the future, because “not long after it all came true and (she) found a new love”. Fact or fiction the song feels like a genuine love song. Grab your lover or a pet, crank the volume, and dance your heart out to Call Me Up.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

Releases

There are no releases to display for Molly Devine.

Other Reviews By IslaMusic

Gig Review: Hazza Making Noise w/ Mikaela Cougar @ The Thirsty Dog, Auckland - 23/07/2021
26 Jul 2021 // by IslaMusic
Another Friday, another epic gig at local favourite The Thirsty Dog.Mikaela Cougar warmed up the audience with a haunting rendition of Seven Nation Army.
Read More...
Album Review: KITA
27 May 2021 // by IslaMusic
KITA are a vision straight from a synth-pop dream. Hailing from art capital Wellington, the three-piece sew elements of modern jazz, vintage rock, polished pop and grounding soul into a sonic tapestry.
Read More...
KITA - Single Review: Private Lives
06 Apr 2021 // by IslaMusic
2020's nation-wide lockdown was a time of creativity and motivation for some. Six weeks at home allowed for more time spent on passion projects, and an opportunity to spend time with family.
Read More...
Gig Review: The RVMES @ Pumphouse Theatre, Auckland - 19/03/2021
21 Mar 2021 // by IslaMusic
The magic began when I ducked under a fallen tree to reach the venue. Dimly lit by street lamps, the path held mystery in its stones.
Read More...
Foley - EP Review: Vacation
14 Mar 2021 // by IslaMusic
Tamaki Makaurau's Foley are at the heart of New Zealand indie pop. The duo consistently release polished and infectious music that's lovable from the first listen.
Read More...
Louis Baker - Single Review: Overdrive
02 Mar 2021 // by IslaMusic
Louis Baker has one of the most distinctive voices in modern Aotearoa music. He has gathered a loyal following worldwide.
Read More...
Dr.Reknaw - Single Review: Bassline Meditation
14 Dec 2020 // by IslaMusic
Dr.Reknaw is a psychedelic super group with roots in soul, hip-hop and dub.
Read More...
Imperial April - EP Review: An April Christmas
03 Dec 2020 // by IslaMusic
I was dubious at the thought of reviewing a Christmas album. It’s not often that modern holiday tracks dodge the danger of cheesy cheer and forced rhyme.
Read More...
View All Articles By IslaMusic

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • EASY ON ME
    Adele
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • ALL TOO WELL (10 MINUTE VERSION) (TAYLOR'S VERSION)
    Taylor Swift
  • OH MY GOD
    Adele
  • SMOKIN' OUT THE WINDOW
    Silk Sonic
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • I DRINK WINE
    Adele
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • MY LITTLE LOVE
    Adele
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem