27 Sep 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Skedaeddle - Album Review: Nuevo Direccion

26 Feb 2020 // A review by Darryl Baser

Skedaeddle is a music project performing the original folk pop music of Barry Holt. Wellington based, he also writes and performs on the classical guitar.

Joining Holt on this recording are Dean Zillwood, on acoustic guitar, and Chris Coad on bass.

The album opens with the warm tones of Barry Holt’s classical guitar. The opening tunes Noosa Theme and Fantasia are well laid out pieces of music, sounding like classical pieces, but adhering to ‘pop’ music structures, with intros, followed by what sounds like verses and choruses, where motifs change before returning to the previous part.

Canongate Waltz does lilt along in ¾, and again the piece shows Holt’s very high skill level.

The fourth track, Scenetta, begins with a chromatically descending pattern in a minor key, before the tune takes a turn for the happy. It makes me think of a young love affair in long grass, possibly in the Italian countryside. At the half way point Scenetta reached a coda, and essentially starts over, except with added parts here and there. It really is a piece that I could hear in a film.

Moto perpetuo thumps along quickly as the name suggests, with very fast finger work.

Continuing on with the songs which reflect their titles, Nocturne is a beautifully tranquil piece, which isn’t recommended listening if you’re writing an album review late into the night.

Mozart My Guitar does definitely have the feel of Mozart about it and is a nice way to pay homage to one of the greatest composers.

Prelude & Interlude does indeed sound like an introduction, and a series of intervals during a larger piece whilst Folk Theme sounds like a campfire session with a classically trained Romany traveler.

The 12-song album showcases Holt’s impressive skills both as a composer and a player.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Skedaeddle

Skedaeddle is a music project performing the original folk pop music of Barry Holt. Wellington based, he also writes and performs on the classical guitar.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Skedaeddle

Releases

Nuevo Direccion
Year: 2020
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Darryl Baser

Andrew Masseurs - EP Review: She’s So Nasty
19 Sep 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Well, being either a PC softy or a bit of a feminist, I didn’t warm to the title track She’s So Nasty, but being a professional I opened my ears and had a listen to Andrew Masseurs’ new EP. And I’m glad I did.
Read More...
Bingo Fighter - Single Review: Kama Sutra
03 Sep 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Well, as bloody obvious things to write go, music is in the entertainment industry should be fun and entertaining. With that premise in mind, Bingo Fighter go to the top of the class with their new single Kama Sutra.
Read More...
Stars and the Underground - Single Review: Nosferatu Upon Tyne
22 Aug 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Being an OG (old goth or original goth) from the 1980's I love me a bit of goth. Stars and the Underground are a nice bit of goth who have just released a 7" single.
Read More...
Marlin's Dreaming - Album Review: Quotidian
21 Aug 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Having been a reviewer of life and recorded music since the late 1980's, it is a rare and wonderful feeling to discover a band from my hometown who I haven’t heard of, until they drop a recording that takes my head clean off. Dunedin band Marlin’s Dreaming have released Quotidian, and are about to (Covid willing) head off on a NZ tour in late September and early October.
Read More...
Grant Duncan - Album Review: Contemplate
07 Aug 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Grant Duncan is a well-seasoned singer-songwriter based in Auckland, New Zealand, who’s just released his new 12 song album, Contemplate. The album is available on Duncan’s Bandcamp page as is the modern way of doing things.
Read More...
A Straw Assembly - Album Review: A Little More Life
28 Jul 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Right the get go this isn’t an album for the musically faint-hearted. The opening song A Saint Is Divided builds gently and beautifully into a maelstrom.
Read More...
Gig Review: Nadia Reid @ Grainstore Gallery, Oamaru - 24/07/2020
25 Jul 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Flora Knight is first up, beginning with saying "Hi, I'm not Nadia". Her solo set on fiddle and singing begins with an Appalachian mountain tune about Bow weevils destroying crops, it’s a classic piece of mountain music, and a great way to open her set.
Read More...
Phil and Lana Doublet - Album Review: Play Nice
12 Jul 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Multi award winning Christchurch based musicians Phil and Lana Doublet have teamed up to write, record, and release the stunning album Play Nice. The pair wrote all but one of the songs on the album.
Read More...
View All Articles By Darryl Baser

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • WAP
    Cardi B feat. Megan Thee Stallion
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • HOLY
    Justin Bieber feat. Chance The Rapper
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • MOOD SWINGS
    Pop Smoke feat. Lil Tjay
  • LAUGH NOW CRY LATER
    Drake feat. Lil Durk
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem