29 Sep 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Settlers - Single Review: Swimming

25 Feb 2020 // A review by Ben Ruegg

New Zealand hip-hop is a thriving collection of artists who bring who we are and present it in musical form. The latest track Swimming from The Settlers is a fine example of what NZ can do. The world is on notice.

Don't confuse this track for trap, based on the feel of the beat when it comes in at the beginning, as this is anything but. From the vocal sample that swings in and out of the mix to create a beat to the time the first verse comes in, the beat is rolling and going hard while the rap verse is fast, fierce and on form. The rap verse flows well, the cadence is well thought out and the phrasing creates a strong sense of movement.

Throughout Swimming I hear the New Zealand accent come through many times, which makes me feel proud; there is some incredible music here. Lyrically, I hear talk about working hard, putting everything into life, we are all one etc. There is so much going on here and it all works. This is what I would call modern old school hip-hop; conscious rap that has a lot of meaning.

The Settlers have created a track that bounces well and still feels like it has a purpose, a message and something to think about.

Excellent work, especially the production. Sounds absolutely mint!

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About The Settlers

The Settlers are a thriving hip-hop crew reigning from Lyttelton Harbour and crafted in the cradle of Canterbury. A soulful expression of rap and its qualities that expresses an uplifting approach to the hip-hop genre in a gritty smooth blend. Their dynamic wordplay and solid content bring a strong presence of awareness and empathy. They provoke thought and adorn their subjective while relating to the common man and woman with both integrity and levity.

The settlers consist of Anthony Horan, Elias Tyro and Laura Hunter and their synergy of vocals form an animated rise of frequency DJ’d by Michael Thorpe. With early success playing at Rhythm and Alps 2017 and recently played Northern Bass bringing in 2019. They have consistent packed out local shows with performances throughout New Zealand and recent support for the 2018 sold out Home Brew tour in Wellington and Christchurch. The Settlers raise questions hungry for relations, engaging the audience with witty tales of wisdom, battles of fear and games of desire, a truly conscious resonance of modern hip-hop. After the fresh release of their fourth EP Steps


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The Settlers

Releases

Steps
Year: 2018
Type: EP
Due Date
Year: 2017
Type: Album
Train of Thought
Year: 2016
Type: EP
...
Year: 2016
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

The RVMES - Single Review: Big Bam Boom
14 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The RVMES newest track Big Bam Boom is a good time that deserves your attention.The rawness and realness of this track cannot be denied.
Read More...
Troy Kingi - Album Review: The Ghost of Freddie Cesar
10 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Genius. Honestly.
Read More...
Dub Boys - EP Review: Fortune Favours The Bold
10 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The newest EP from the Dub Boys is fantastic. As someone who appreciates all styles of music, Hip-Hop continues to be one I stay fascinated with due to the current climate and success of certain artists.
Read More...
The Settlers - Single Review: Love
06 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Driven by a catchy guitar loop and backed up with a beat that ebbs and flows, the new track Love from The Settlers really puts its focus on its lyrics and delivery.Keeping the vocal effects to the minimum here allows the verses to sound authentic and real.
Read More...
Ekko Park - Album Review: Horizon
24 Aug 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The latest album from Ekko Park is an absolute blast of a time to listen to from beginning to end.All Eyes On Me sets the scene by just giving it everything.
Read More...
Investigator - Single Review: Bad Luck Shoebox
17 Aug 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Classic rock vibes crossed with modern rock sound drives this new track from Investigator. Driven by Adrian Drew, Investigator has a sound that is clear and defined and Bad Luck Shoebox adds another track to an ever-growing catalogue that showcases his ideas and sounds that make up Investigator.
Read More...
Will McClean - Album Review: Can't Sleep I'm Dreaming
07 Aug 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The new album from Will McClean takes a lot of well-produced beats and combines them with his flow and lyrics. It's a smooth ride most of the time as is demonstrated in the opening track Front Desk featuring JClean.
Read More...
TheOpHilus - Single Review: My Little Rugrat
02 Aug 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Authentic and real; that’s the best way to describe the new track My Little Rugrat from TheOpHilus. True Hip-Hop has always been, in my mind, sampling and talking about how things are where you are right now.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • WAP
    Cardi B feat. Megan Thee Stallion
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • HOLY
    Justin Bieber feat. Chance The Rapper
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • MOOD SWINGS
    Pop Smoke feat. Lil Tjay
  • LAUGH NOW CRY LATER
    Drake feat. Lil Durk
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem