7 Dec 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Domes - Single Review: Time and Relative Dimension in Space

22 Feb 2020 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Domes newest release, Time And Relative Dimension in Space, is an incredibly deep track that offers so much to the listener.

It interweaves soaring melodies and harmonies into what you would be forgiven in thinking was a thrash metal song from the explosive introduction. But quite quickly, it shifts into a softer, more approachable sound in which Matthew Bosher's guitar work sets a beautiful atmospheric tone, lifted even further into the ether with wonderful lyrics, gentle vocals, and a chemistry between all members that paints a canvas of interconnectedness. The bass runs from Brendon, play against the simple yet deceptively complex rhythms created from Dan on the drums.

My absolute favourite part of this track was at around the 1:16 min mark. Just such a beautiful feeling that ultimately prepares you for the exciting and super explosive final few minutes of the song. Matthews scream is piercing, breaking through just moments before where he was able to sing with such sincerity.

Overall, this track, in my mind, is a masterpiece. Just read about how they wrote it on their website, learn where it was done and just the actual track itself. New Zealand metal/rock/progressive music is so diverse and exciting, and this track is a statement about how Domes does it. I'm a big fan of this one and their previous works.

If you get into groups like Karnivool, Tesseract or Deftones, you will enjoy this.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Domes

Domes started as an adventure—a big, bold idea to galvanise musicians Brendon Kahi and Mathew Bosher in a creative sprint. The goal: to start from scratch and record on the other side of the world in one year.

Distilling their accumulated experience across several bands, album releases and international tours, the project was designed to celebrate the art while avoiding the mundanity and mistakes of operating a band in the usual way. The result was a unique experience in every sense: from an experimental songwriting approach to recording on an 80-year-old heritage vessel some 18,000 kilometres away (Bosher resides in New Zealand, Kahi in Australia).

This is metal with elements of space rock and post-hardcore. “We’re writing songs that we want to hear. We’re going after heavy music that’s forward-looking,” says Bosher. Not overstating the musicality nor telling the story plainly, the songs are conceptually deep and artistically broad. “We were looking for meaningful moments: richness of tone, nuanced performance, curious lyrics,” Kahi reflects. Indeed the laconic run-times are no less elaborate in traversing post-metal tropes and thematic landscapes.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Domes

Releases

There are no releases to display for Domes.

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Rei - Album Review: Enjoy The Ride
29 Nov 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Enjoy The Ride showcases Rei’s diversity and prowess as a musician and producer with its mix of rap, pop, R&B and UK flavour, it’s a fusion of innovative styles. Written over the past 2 years, mixed and mastered by Kog Studio’s Chris Chetland and supported by NZ On Air, this project is a musical ride in itself.
Read More...
EP Review: Will McClean and The Zooks - Live At The Surgery
06 Nov 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Will McClean and The Zooks - Live At The Surgery EP is a hat tip to live hip-hop. The band is super tight with wonderful guitar licks working wonderfully over top of the rhythm section.
Read More...
Cking - Single/Video Review: No Snakes Feat. Dilz
21 Oct 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Cking is the Brisbane-based, New Zealand-bred rapper who’s eclectic catalogue of hits has seen him share the stage with everyone from T-Pain to Kerser, and now, he’s linked up with fellow NZ emcee Dilz for a hard-hitting banger, No Snakes. Cking and Dilz each come lyrically strapped with passionate and emotive verses, matching the energy of the rapid-fire, earth-rattling production alongside them.
Read More...
Dallas Harvey - Single Review: Patience
20 Oct 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Auckland City’s up and coming Hip-Hop artist Dallas Harvey is a breath of fresh air with his honest lyricism, piecing his life together through story-telling and music. Mentored by the likes of Church from Church & AP, Chris RL and Melodownz, Dallas has built a well-versed understanding of self throughout his development at Te Karanga Navigators songwriting and production sessions.
Read More...
Ms.Take - Single Review: Maybe That's Just What I Am
11 Oct 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
The dystopian Trap Jam Maybe That's Just What I Am is the second official single from Ms.Take, a follow up to 2018's Silver & Gold, and a 2020 lockdown collaboration with Melbourne-based artist F.
Read More...
Y$O - EP Review: Young And Slept On
05 Oct 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Y$O. Note that down.
Read More...
Louis Ross - Single Review: Here To Help
27 Sep 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Local Tauranga DJ and Producer Louis Ross has created a new song Here to Help to bring awareness to mental health issues ahead of Mental Health Awareness Week. After losing his father and Grandma within a few months of each other and navigating his way through loss and grief, Louis is combining his own mental health struggles with his love of music to help others.
Read More...
BrokeBoi Ace - Single Review: Watered Down Dreamz
15 Sep 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Oh man. I like this.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • EASY ON ME
    Adele
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • MR REGGAE
    L.A.B.
  • ABCDEFU
    GAYLE
  • ALL TOO WELL (10 MINUTE VERSION) (TAYLOR'S VERSION)
    Taylor Swift
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • SMOKIN' OUT THE WINDOW
    Silk Sonic
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem