22 Apr 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Serious Happiness - EP Review: Serious Happiness

22 Feb 2020 // A review by Paul Goddard

The ocean is amazing. Just about everyone in New Zealand has a connection with it. It can calm and sooth, it can be a scary as fuck. It also throws up gems everyday (along with its fair share of plastic jandals)

New Plymouth has a rocky shoreline but just as the sea pummels the rocks into shiny treasures, it has also thrown up another gem.

Serious Happiness have been shaped by Taranaki and they also shine.

When I read that name I hated it. Like seriously what the fuck? Then I heard the music on this debut EP and it all made sense

The four songs on the Serious Happiness EP twist and turn through a maelstrom of indie cool, punk ethics, soulful funk and garage D.I.Y. It doesn’t sound like it was created in the 'Naki - this is the sound of a group of people wanting to escape. A group of people who want to create something that the world can hold and admire. Something new and shiny. Something to smile about.

This EP is a statement of intent. It ticks all the boxes whilst also asking “do you love us?”

There is a sense of the need to be accepted in its crossing of genres but there is enough attitude seeping through to give a big fuck you if you don’t like it

I know I am not giving you much indication of what this EP sounds like.

I don’t want to

Just buy it and find out for yourself. Discover what Taranaki has thrown up. Love it or hate it Serious Happiness are seriously talented and they're here to stay.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Serious Happiness

Joel Ruys, Kayleb Duckett, Sam Egli and Stu Morris are the faces of Serious Happiness, the inimitable rock-n-roll boy-band. Serious Happiness are a unique band in that each member is a singer songwriter in their own right. The band's live shows include instrument trading on a near song-to-song basis which makes for both a musically and visually diverse experience.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Serious Happiness

Releases

Serious Happiness
Year: 2020
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Album Review: Thunderground
18 Mar 2021 // by Paul Goddard
Headphones in, let's go.So the drummer keeps beat, guitars wail and scream, the singer....
Read More...
FRE3DOM - Single Review: Back To The Beginning
12 Mar 2021 // by Paul Goddard
Looking back to move forward. Musicians have done this from the beginning.
Read More...
Dark Water - Single Review: Seas of Fallen Concern
21 Jan 2021 // by Paul Goddard
I like to be transported. Moved to a different place.
Read More...
Manzo - Single Review: Working Class Hero (John Lennon Cover)
05 Dec 2020 // by Paul Goddard
In 1946 John Lennon almost became a Kiwi. His estranged father took him to Blackpool with the intention of heading over with John to start a new life in NZ.
Read More...
The Avondale Spiders - Single Review: Black Magik Pills
05 Nov 2020 // by Paul Goddard
Do you miss anything at the moment?The world is in a crazy place and it is easy to not want to look forward when the future doesn’t look so bright.
Read More...
Coffin Club - Single Review: Gaslight
08 Oct 2020 // by Paul Goddard
Gaslight (or rather Gaslighting) has become a bit of a buzz word recently and sits perfectly as the title for this short sharp shock of fuzzed up punk from Auckland three piece Coffin Club.Unlike a real Gaslight, this song is no slow burner.
Read More...
The Response - Single Review: All Of My Flaws
24 Sep 2020 // by Paul Goddard
Smooth.A word that sounds just as good as it looks.
Read More...
EP Review: Dick Raine and Dick’s Guns
08 Sep 2020 // by Paul Goddard
Lockdowns are shit. A few months ago, we didn’t even know what a lockdown was nor social distancing and let’s face it the world is pretty fucked at the moment.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • RAPSTAR
    Polo G
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
  • HEARTBREAK ANNIVERSARY
    Giveon
  • LEAVE THE DOOR OPEN
    Silk Sonic
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • ASTRONAUT IN THE OCEAN
    Masked Wolf
  • DEJA VU
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • ALL SHE WROTE
    Six60
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem