6 Jul 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Dark Water - Single Review: Presence Of Fear

19 Feb 2020 // A review by Carl Hayman

Ever heard of Dark Water? I’ve been lucky enough to play on the bill with these guys in their home town of The 'Naki and they sure know how to put a massive amount of energy into their set. They dub themselves alternative, but definitely on the mainstream end of this in my honest opinion.

Their new single Presence Of Fear is aptly named. From the first chord progression, the song gives you a chill that cuts you. It’s dark. I closed my eyes and pictured a room filled with second hand cigarette smoke, a bunch of rockers wearing dark shades, half-filled glasses of whiskey with melting ice sitting on top of the guitar amps, and a bunch of rockers laying into what is probably their most awesome single to date.

Let's compare this to something for the sake of it – probably the most immediate comparison I’d make is to early Alice In Chains. The drums are so crisp, yet Ross has laid down some pretty impressive technical drumming twined with backbeats that drive the tune exactly as it should, and as always, Nathan and Merran’s guitar and bass lines weave in and out of the melody seamlessly providing this incredible phat sound for a 3-piece that I can’t get my head around. Nathan breaks into a guitar solo just after the mid-way point, simple, yet so effective. The tune really doesn’t ask for anything more as it works through into a more layered second half. Nathan's really gripped the melody for the song and managed to lay it down thick so it adds the final touches to what is already musically an awesome song. It sits a little low In the mix, but I’m pretty sure I can hear Merran’s vocals working away in harmony underneath just to add spice.

I can’t compliment these guys enough, the tune is fantastic and the recording quality is awesome, it’s getting the big two thumbs up from me. Definitely add this to your Spotify playlist, or even better, head along to their Bandcamp, watch the video here, support them as an artist, and buy their tunes.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Dark Water

DARK WATER are a three piece Taranaki, alternative Rock band formed in 2009.

DARK WATER started life as a four piece, after a lineup change, they are now a hard hitting three piece. Their first year together was spent developing their sound and style, which has developed into a gripping yet gritty sound with a heaviness that enfolds melody.

DARK WATER have already started making a name for themselves having played at G Taranaki and opening for Shihad, The Feelers, I Am Giant and The Checks in their home town of New Plymouth. .

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Dark Water

Releases

Other Reviews By Carl Hayman

Bad Jones - EP Review: You Are All Animals
12 May 2020 // by Carl Hayman
During these uncertain and unique times, all the self-isolation days at home trawling old music videos and posting my favourite album every day on Facebook has had me reminiscing about better times when rock was still king, and people who played live instruments were admired. By better times, I mean the days when we all used to be allowed out, get dieseled up on JD’s and coke, and watch an epic live band rip life a new one, so Bad Jones brand new EP You Are All Animals was the antidote I’ve been looking for.
Read More...
Sycophant - EP Review: Pop Frog
28 Mar 2020 // by Carl Hayman
Today I'm on Covid-19 lockdown, which has given me the opportunity to give you my spin on Sycophant's brand new EP Pop Frog. I've been listening to this EP on and off for a week to find the accurate words to describe, and here's my thoughts.
Read More...
The Lost Boys - Single Review: Hook, Line And Sinker
08 Oct 2019 // by Carl Hayman
I was absolutely gutted this morning to see two of my favourite bands are coming to NZ this December while I'm out of the country; Bad Religion and Frenzal Rhomb. I started hunting through playlists on Spotify and ended up listening to some of my favourite Kiwi punk/pop/rock acts from years gone by.
Read More...
Ginzu and the Steak Knives - Single/Video Review: Edge Of The Universe
18 Sep 2019 // by Carl Hayman
This morning I got the pleasure of being one of the very first people to see the latest release from Ginzu and the Steak Knives – Edge Of The Universe. The second that you see a guy tied up on a chair inside a Pentacle, you know you are in for a treat.
Read More...
Glow Becky - Single Review: Fade Back
10 Sep 2019 // by Carl Hayman
For the last couple of years, a previous bandmate and good friend Nate has been telling me about this awesome rock band called Glow Becky that I have to hear. The team at Muzic.
Read More...
Iveta & Simone - Single Review: L.O.V.E
16 Jul 2019 // by Carl Hayman
Iveta & Simone have just dropped their hot new single L.O.
Read More...
Lakius - Single Review: Student Of Fools
24 May 2019 // by Carl Hayman
I haven’t reviewed anything heavy for a while, so I was pretty lucky to get handed the brand new single by Lakius. Broken Season has been one of my favourite Kiwi heavy (very heavy) rock/metal acts for ages, and Lakius is the sequel born from what Broken Season used to be.
Read More...
Jason McIver Collective - Single Review: We Change
23 May 2019 // by Carl Hayman
I’ve been following The Jason McIver Collective for a few years now; I met Jason a few years ago at one of my own gigs, and then had the privilege of reviewing another project of his If He Dies He Dies, then got finally got to see him play solo at the Lake Taupo Cycle Challenge last year. This latest release from The JMC is titled We Change and it’s a bloody solid tune.
Read More...
View All Articles By Carl Hayman

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • ROSES (IMANBEK REMIX)
    SAINt JHN
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • STUCK WITH U
    Ariana Grande And Justin Bieber
  • WHAT'S POPPIN'
    Jack Harlow
  • ROVER
    S1mba feat. DTG
  • BREAKING ME
    Topic feat. A7S
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem