5 Apr 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

And$um - Single Review: Look At Me

10 Feb 2020 // A review by Ben Ruegg

The beginning of Look At Me confused me at first. The vocal delivery seemed dull and with low energy, but by the time the raps kick in, it has definitely picked up and raised the level. I think this may have been an artistic decision based on the feel of the beat - it feels very avant-garde, but, paired with the quick fire verses from And$um, Fable, Silas Future and FKA Bobandii, there is a lot of talent here especially with the lyrical word play. By working together, writing their own raps and then teaming up to make it all work, you can tell they had fun creating Look At Me together. Just listen to the little laugh towards the end of the final verse.

This is not your average hip-hop or rap. It kind of reminded me a little of Run The Jewels and that style, but presented in a unique New Zealand way.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About And$um

Hailing from the sleepy port town of Lyttelton, And$um is an explosive young hip-hop artist beginning to carve out a real identity.

2019 has been a big step forward for the Christchurch artist. With two full length projects released racking up over 100,000 streams and being included in a variety of Spotify editorial playlists, including the official New Music Friday.

And$um describes his music as "authentic", and seeks to talk about his personal experiences in a relatable way. With a tendency for up-tempo head-bobbing songs, And$um wants to have fun with his music.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for And$um

Releases

There are no releases to display for And$um.

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

DRXNES - Video Review: Zero
02 Apr 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Wow. This video is an incredible insight into the life of DRXNES.
Read More...
EP Review: Enter Venus
26 Mar 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The explosive start of Throw It Away is hard to ignore. Right away, the guitar and bass smashes you in the face with a killer riff, accentuated further by the pounding drums.
Read More...
Column of Sand - EP Review: Head Damage
18 Mar 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Wide-open space greets the ear from the opening track Head Damage. In the modern world of music, sometimes I forget just how much has changed so it is so nice to hear reverb-soaked guitar lead lines over the top of a driving rhythm section.
Read More...
Kong Fooey - Single Review: Charade
13 Mar 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The new single from Kong Fooey, Charade, has got a lot going for it. Full of detail and a mash-up of genres I am blown away by how authentic this track is, coupled with its catchy melodies and tasty lead lines sprinkled all over the place.
Read More...
The Wake Up - Single Review: Dark Horse
06 Mar 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
This new single from The Wake Up is a solid pop rock/pop punk track with a fantastic chorus. From the moment Dark Horse starts, you can tell you are about to have a rocking good time and I certainly wasn't disappointed.
Read More...
Arrays - Single Review: Too Late
03 Mar 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Array's newest single Too Late is a solid track that continues the rock sound that JP Carroll is exploring through this solo studio project.From the chugging guitar part that sets up the verse, the focus here is on the lyric with a mantra like 'over and over' repeated after each line.
Read More...
The Settlers - Single Review: Swimming
25 Feb 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
New Zealand hip-hop is a thriving collection of artists who bring who we are and present it in musical form. The latest track Swimming from The Settlers is a fine example of what NZ can do.
Read More...
Gig Review: Six60 @ Western Springs, Auckland - 22/02/2020
24 Feb 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
"We are the mighty, mighty Six60", proclaims Maitu Walters, lead singer of Six60. And he is in right to say so.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • ROSES (IMANBEK REMIX)
    SAINt JHN
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • INTENTIONS
    Justin Bieber feat. Quavo
  • SUPALONELY
    BENEE feat. Gus Dapperton
  • DON'T START NOW
    Dua Lipa
  • DEATH BED
    Powfu feat. beabadoobee
  • SAY SO
    Doja Cat
  • THE BOX
    Roddy Ricch
  • SUNDAY BEST
    Surfaces
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem