30 Mar 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Sam V - Single Review: Shawty

10 Feb 2020 // A review by Ben Ruegg

The production is very slick on Shawty, the new track from Sam V. The vibe and the melodic idea captures you right from the get-go; and there's a real middle eastern vibe to it. Sam V's strong vocals stand out to me, kicking it off with a memorable hook before ripping into more of a rap vibe in the verse and then bringing it down to a more soulful pre-chorus. This is the sort of sound that would make waves, one that you crank up in the car while rollin' around. I mean, even in one of the hooks you hear "Come Shawty, won't you roll with me".

Shawty has plenty of good fun with some brilliant mixing and production which sounds incredible on either headphones or a good set of speakers. I'm expecting this track to become a hit on the radio - it has everything going for it, keeping it professional with an international quality production while still making sure it has that recognisable Kiwi sound.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Sam V

Sam V makes music and stuff (normally they call it R&B but not always).

He's ightskin.

* 22 Years old

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Sam V

Releases

There are no releases to display for Sam V.

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

EP Review: Enter Venus
26 Mar 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The explosive start of Throw It Away is hard to ignore. Right away, the guitar and bass smashes you in the face with a killer riff, accentuated further by the pounding drums.
Read More...
Column of Sand - EP Review: Head Damage
18 Mar 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Wide-open space greets the ear from the opening track Head Damage. In the modern world of music, sometimes I forget just how much has changed so it is so nice to hear reverb-soaked guitar lead lines over the top of a driving rhythm section.
Read More...
Kong Fooey - Single Review: Charade
13 Mar 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The new single from Kong Fooey, Charade, has got a lot going for it. Full of detail and a mash-up of genres I am blown away by how authentic this track is, coupled with its catchy melodies and tasty lead lines sprinkled all over the place.
Read More...
The Wake Up - Single Review: Dark Horse
06 Mar 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
This new single from The Wake Up is a solid pop rock/pop punk track with a fantastic chorus. From the moment Dark Horse starts, you can tell you are about to have a rocking good time and I certainly wasn't disappointed.
Read More...
Arrays - Single Review: Too Late
03 Mar 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Array's newest single Too Late is a solid track that continues the rock sound that JP Carroll is exploring through this solo studio project.From the chugging guitar part that sets up the verse, the focus here is on the lyric with a mantra like 'over and over' repeated after each line.
Read More...
The Settlers - Single Review: Swimming
25 Feb 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
New Zealand hip-hop is a thriving collection of artists who bring who we are and present it in musical form. The latest track Swimming from The Settlers is a fine example of what NZ can do.
Read More...
Gig Review: Six60 @ Western Springs, Auckland - 22/02/2020
24 Feb 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
"We are the mighty, mighty Six60", proclaims Maitu Walters, lead singer of Six60. And he is in right to say so.
Read More...
Domes - Single Review: Time and Relative Dimension in Space
22 Feb 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Domes newest release, Time And Relative Dimension in Space, is an incredibly deep track that offers so much to the listener. It interweaves soaring melodies and harmonies into what you would be forgiven in thinking was a thrash metal song from the explosive introduction.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • SUPALONELY
    BENEE feat. Gus Dapperton
  • INTENTIONS
    Justin Bieber feat. Quavo
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • THE BOX
    Roddy Ricch
  • ROSES (IMANBEK REMIX)
    SAINt JHN
  • SAY SO
    Doja Cat
  • DEATH BED
    Powfu feat. beabadoobee
  • SUNDAY BEST
    Surfaces
  • DON'T START NOW
    Dua Lipa
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem