31 Oct 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
  • Articles »
  • Reviews »
  • Fat Freddy's Drop - Gig Review: Fat Freddy's Drop @ Western Springs, Auckland - 18/01/2020

Fat Freddy's Drop - Gig Review: Fat Freddy's Drop @ Western Springs, Auckland - 18/01/2020

24 Jan 2020 // A review by Ben Ruegg

If you haven't seen Fat Freddy's Drop before, like I had not, you need to get out and see them.

Walking around the crowd it was awesome to see so many parents bring their kids along to it. It was an extremely family-friendly environment and crowd. On entry, wrist bands were put on kids with their parent's phone number should they become lost. The whole vibe just felt chill and very kiwi and that all comes down to what Fat Freddy's Drop believes in.

With a sleuth of acts warming up the crowd, it really was Fat Freddy's Drop's night. The moment the band took the stage, the crowd roared and began dancing away to the upbeat sound that is so uniquely them.  The idea of not having a drummer, but instead having Chris Faiumu use an MPC and sampler to keep the beats isn't new, but it is the chemistry that exists between the whole group that makes them so important to music. Joe Lindsay's swag, dancing around is contagious. The way he was able to control that trombone with such finesse and precision, alongside Scott Towers and Toby Laing is inspiring.  

While watching and listening, I couldn't help but notice that the group becomes one unit that lives and breathe together. Known for their improvised jams, you could see how this all worked. Iain Gordon was to the left and raised a bit and yet space doesn't get in the way of this group. Blasting horns, killer beats, smooth vocals from Dallas mixed in with his wonderful guitar playing, it is almost like they shared one mind. This also plays out to the crowd who understand the chemistry that exists within FFD. The audience is dancing, vibing and singing along to this magic that is unfolding in front of us.

One omission from the night was Wandering Eye, and while the encore was only one song, they chose to play Roady, still a fan favourite and one that had us all singing and dancing along. By the end of the show, the audience had been treated to some incredibly precise jam sessions that were driven by the collective.  It was mesmerizing and totally something I need to see again. Even the size of the venue did not hinder this magic.  

Make sure you get out and see them at the next opportunity!

Setlist:

Blackbird
Silver and Gold
Kamo Kamo
Slings and Arrows
Special Edition
Raleigh Twenty
Flashback
Mother Mother
Cortina Motors
Shiverman

Encore: Roady


Fat Freddy's Drop photos courtesy of Bruce Mackay for Darker Arts, from Williams Park, Wellington on 20 January 2020.

 

About Fat Freddy's Drop

Fat Freddy’s Drop is internationally regarded as one of the world’s finest live draws. The seven piece band has navigated their way from the incubator of sunshine reggae through a colour-saturated field of soul psychedelia before swerving onto a desolate Detroit superhighway at night. It’s a sound that demands to be heard live, a potent mixture of jazz virtuosity and diaphragm-wrecking digital sonics.

These influences have not only been formed by the band’s individual predilections, but also experiences on the road: Fat Freddy’s appearance at Detroit’s Movement festival in 2006 was a watershed moment for the band, fuelled by hearing May’s, Atkin’s and Craig’s stark futurism ricochet off the cold concrete of America’s broken dream. This stoked producer DJ Mu’s love of analog techno, balancing and fusing vocalist Dallas Tamaira’s adoration of soul and reggae with the band’s collective passion for Jazz, Rhythm & Blues, Rock, Disco, House, Post Punk and Balearic oddities.

For Bays studio album released in 2015, the 9-track LP was exclusively written and recorded at their studio in Kilbirnie, Wellington. Pre-Bays, Freddy's albums were formed almost entirely on the road; the songs slowly evolving live at festivals such as WOMAD UK, SONAR, Bestival, Lowlands, DEMF, Pukkelpop, Glastonbury, The Big Chill and Roskilde.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Fat Freddy's Drop

Releases

Special Edition Part 1
Year: 2019
Type: EP
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Bays
Year: 2015
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Blackbird
Year: 2013
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Silver and Gold 12"
Year: 2012
Type: Album
Fat Electric Drop
Year: 2012
Type: EP
Live At Roundhouse
Year: 2010
Type: Album
Dr Boondigga And The Big BW
Year: 2009
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
The Camel EP
Year: 2008
Type: EP
Fantastic Voyages Vol. 1
Year: 2006
Type: DVD
Based On A True Story
Year: 2005
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Live At The Matterhorn
Year: 2001
Type: EP
Buy Online @ Mightyape

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

And$um - EP Review: Late Nights
29 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
And$um has returned with a new EP. Made up of six tracks, this is yet another collection of songs that demonstrate the sound Sam brings to this project.
Read More...
Gig Review: BENEE @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 16/10/2020
17 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
As I got to Spark Arena for the first time since February this year, I couldn't help but notice how many families were there with smiling kids, and parents alike, all waiting for doors to open. BENEE has become quite a superstar over this past year which has been awesome to see.
Read More...
theajsound - Single Review: Sorrow
12 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Auckland based Indian born singer and songwriter theajsound (AKA AJ) has released a string of singles this year which have amassed hundreds of thousands stream on Spotify, and his latest, Sorrow is a catchy new tune that instantly catches your ear.The guitar sound is clean and an instant classic.
Read More...
Sam V - EP Review: Cruisin'
08 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The new EP from Sam V, bKidd and EDY is a blast. With a few skits interwoven into the EP, the whole package feels well thought out and it sounds great.
Read More...
An Electric Heart - Album Review: Otiose Me
06 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
As you press play, the prologue hits you hard and it is obvious that Luke Pell, known as An Electric Heart, has a great understanding on sonics and dynamics on his new album Otiose Me.Luke Pell describes the An Electric Heart sound as 'alternative pop'.
Read More...
Matt Bizzle - Single Review: Just Let Me Know with Kevin Posey Feat. Lily Jackson
05 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The reggaeton beat has been quite the staple in music trends for some time now, and with the new track Just Let Me Know from Matt Bizzle, it isn't the main feature. Instead, it is used in the right places to give this track a different vibe at the exact moment it is needed.
Read More...
Lester - Single Review: Sometimes Feat. Aunty Rae
29 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
On Lester's latest track Sometimes, featuring Aunty Rae, the New Zealand Hip-Hop artist turns his focus inward and discusses the things that we miss when we are away from home; which in his case is a list of memories that make home what it is. And yet, the real meaning of home is blurred and put to question.
Read More...
The RVMES - Single Review: Big Bam Boom
14 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The RVMES newest track Big Bam Boom is a good time that deserves your attention.The rawness and realness of this track cannot be denied.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • POSITIONS
    Ariana Grande
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • HOLY
    Justin Bieber feat. Chance The Rapper
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • DREAMS
    Fleetwood Mac
  • WAP
    Cardi B feat. Megan Thee Stallion
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • WHAT YOU KNOW BOUT LOVE
    Pop Smoke
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem