17 Jan 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
  • Articles »
  • Reviews »
  • Fat Freddy's Drop - Gig Review: Fat Freddy's Drop @ Western Springs, Auckland - 18/01/2020

Fat Freddy's Drop - Gig Review: Fat Freddy's Drop @ Western Springs, Auckland - 18/01/2020

24 Jan 2020 // A review by Ben Ruegg

If you haven't seen Fat Freddy's Drop before, like I had not, you need to get out and see them.

Walking around the crowd it was awesome to see so many parents bring their kids along to it. It was an extremely family-friendly environment and crowd. On entry, wrist bands were put on kids with their parent's phone number should they become lost. The whole vibe just felt chill and very kiwi and that all comes down to what Fat Freddy's Drop believes in.

With a sleuth of acts warming up the crowd, it really was Fat Freddy's Drop's night. The moment the band took the stage, the crowd roared and began dancing away to the upbeat sound that is so uniquely them.  The idea of not having a drummer, but instead having Chris Faiumu use an MPC and sampler to keep the beats isn't new, but it is the chemistry that exists between the whole group that makes them so important to music. Joe Lindsay's swag, dancing around is contagious. The way he was able to control that trombone with such finesse and precision, alongside Scott Towers and Toby Laing is inspiring.  

While watching and listening, I couldn't help but notice that the group becomes one unit that lives and breathe together. Known for their improvised jams, you could see how this all worked. Iain Gordon was to the left and raised a bit and yet space doesn't get in the way of this group. Blasting horns, killer beats, smooth vocals from Dallas mixed in with his wonderful guitar playing, it is almost like they shared one mind. This also plays out to the crowd who understand the chemistry that exists within FFD. The audience is dancing, vibing and singing along to this magic that is unfolding in front of us.

One omission from the night was Wandering Eye, and while the encore was only one song, they chose to play Roady, still a fan favourite and one that had us all singing and dancing along. By the end of the show, the audience had been treated to some incredibly precise jam sessions that were driven by the collective.  It was mesmerizing and totally something I need to see again. Even the size of the venue did not hinder this magic.  

Make sure you get out and see them at the next opportunity!

Setlist:

Blackbird
Silver and Gold
Kamo Kamo
Slings and Arrows
Special Edition
Raleigh Twenty
Flashback
Mother Mother
Cortina Motors
Shiverman

Encore: Roady


Fat Freddy's Drop photos courtesy of Bruce Mackay for Darker Arts, from Williams Park, Wellington on 20 January 2020.

 

About Fat Freddy's Drop

Fat Freddy’s Drop is internationally regarded as one of the world’s finest live draws. The seven piece band has navigated their way from the incubator of sunshine reggae through a colour-saturated field of soul psychedelia before swerving onto a desolate Detroit superhighway at night. It’s a sound that demands to be heard live, a potent mixture of jazz virtuosity and diaphragm-wrecking digital sonics.

These influences have not only been formed by the band’s individual predilections, but also experiences on the road: Fat Freddy’s appearance at Detroit’s Movement festival in 2006 was a watershed moment for the band, fuelled by hearing May’s, Atkin’s and Craig’s stark futurism ricochet off the cold concrete of America’s broken dream. This stoked producer DJ Mu’s love of analog techno, balancing and fusing vocalist Dallas Tamaira’s adoration of soul and reggae with the band’s collective passion for Jazz, Rhythm & Blues, Rock, Disco, House, Post Punk and Balearic oddities.

For Bays studio album released in 2015, the 9-track LP was exclusively written and recorded at their studio in Kilbirnie, Wellington. Pre-Bays, Freddy's albums were formed almost entirely on the road; the songs slowly evolving live at festivals such as WOMAD UK, SONAR, Bestival, Lowlands, DEMF, Pukkelpop, Glastonbury, The Big Chill and Roskilde.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Fat Freddy's Drop

Releases

Special Edition Part 1
Year: 2019
Type: EP
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Bays
Year: 2015
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Blackbird
Year: 2013
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Silver and Gold 12"
Year: 2012
Type: Album
Fat Electric Drop
Year: 2012
Type: EP
Live At Roundhouse
Year: 2010
Type: Album
Dr Boondigga And The Big BW
Year: 2009
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
The Camel EP
Year: 2008
Type: EP
Fantastic Voyages Vol. 1
Year: 2006
Type: DVD
Based On A True Story
Year: 2005
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Live At The Matterhorn
Year: 2001
Type: EP
Buy Online @ Mightyape

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Gig Review: Th' Dudes @ Town Hall, Auckland - 19/11/2020
21 Nov 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Arriving at the Auckland Town Hall and subsequently finding parking was a lot easier than I had anticipated. The town seems very quiet at around 7:30 pm, although there is a large gathering of people around the Town Hall, an indication that something big is happening.
Read More...
Boy Virgo - Single Review: Psycho
15 Nov 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Here is a track that takes what you think you know about genres of music and says, "Nope, you are wrong". On the new track Psycho from Boy Virgo, I think this is the one thing I really enjoyed.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Jordan Luck Band @ Pukekohe Cosmopolitan Club, Pukekohe - 6/11/2020
08 Nov 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
It’s a Friday night in Pukekohe and as I walk into the Pukekohe Cosmopolitan Club just before 8 pm you can feel the anticipation in the air. Looking like a high school ball, there is a large dance floor in front of the stage while the rest of the venue is lined vertically with tables.
Read More...
Krispy & The Pooch - EP Review Drop The Needle
06 Nov 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Wow. Krispy & The Pooch have quite the EP here.
Read More...
And$um - EP Review: Late Nights
29 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
And$um has returned with a new EP. Made up of six tracks, this is yet another collection of songs that demonstrate the sound Sam brings to this project.
Read More...
Gig Review: BENEE @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 16/10/2020
17 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
As I got to Spark Arena for the first time since February this year, I couldn't help but notice how many families were there with smiling kids, and parents alike, all waiting for doors to open. BENEE has become quite a superstar over this past year which has been awesome to see.
Read More...
theajsound - Single Review: Sorrow
12 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Auckland based Indian born singer and songwriter theajsound (AKA AJ) has released a string of singles this year which have amassed hundreds of thousands stream on Spotify, and his latest, Sorrow is a catchy new tune that instantly catches your ear.The guitar sound is clean and an instant classic.
Read More...
Sam V - EP Review: Cruisin'
08 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The new EP from Sam V, bKidd and EDY is a blast. With a few skits interwoven into the EP, the whole package feels well thought out and it sounds great.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DRIVERS LICENSE
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • WHY OH WHY
    L.A.B.
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • CONTROLLER
    L.A.B.
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • GOOD DAYS
    SZA
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. iann dior
  • NOT MY NEIGHBOUR
    Niko Walters
  • ANYONE
    Justin Bieber
  • SUNDOWN
    Six60
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem