21 Sep 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Fat Freddy's Drop - Fat Freddy's Drop @ Western Springs, Auckland - 18/01/2020

24 Jan 2020 // A review by Ben Ruegg

If you haven't seen Fat Freddy's Drop before, like I had not, you need to get out and see them.

Walking around the crowd it was awesome to see so many parents bring their kids along to it. It was an extremely family-friendly environment and crowd. On entry, wrist bands were put on kids with their parent's phone number should they become lost. The whole vibe just felt chill and very kiwi and that all comes down to what Fat Freddy's Drop believes in.

With a sleuth of acts warming up the crowd, it really was Fat Freddy's Drop's night. The moment the band took the stage, the crowd roared and began dancing away to the upbeat sound that is so uniquely them.  The idea of not having a drummer, but instead having Chris Faiumu use an MPC and sampler to keep the beats isn't new, but it is the chemistry that exists between the whole group that makes them so important to music. Joe Lindsay's swag, dancing around is contagious. The way he was able to control that trombone with such finesse and precision, alongside Scott Towers and Toby Laing is inspiring.  

While watching and listening, I couldn't help but notice that the group becomes one unit that lives and breathe together. Known for their improvised jams, you could see how this all worked. Iain Gordon was to the left and raised a bit and yet space doesn't get in the way of this group. Blasting horns, killer beats, smooth vocals from Dallas mixed in with his wonderful guitar playing, it is almost like they shared one mind. This also plays out to the crowd who understand the chemistry that exists within FFD. The audience is dancing, vibing and singing along to this magic that is unfolding in front of us.

One omission from the night was Wandering Eye, and while the encore was only one song, they chose to play Roady, still a fan favourite and one that had us all singing and dancing along. By the end of the show, the audience had been treated to some incredibly precise jam sessions that were driven by the collective.  It was mesmerizing and totally something I need to see again. Even the size of the venue did not hinder this magic.  

Make sure you get out and see them at the next opportunity!

Setlist:

Blackbird
Silver and Gold
Kamo Kamo
Slings and Arrows
Special Edition
Raleigh Twenty
Flashback
Mother Mother
Cortina Motors
Shiverman

Encore: Roady


Fat Freddy's Drop photos courtesy of Bruce Mackay for Darker Arts, from Williams Park, Wellington on 20 January 2020.

 

About Fat Freddy's Drop

Fat Freddy’s Drop is internationally regarded as one of the world’s finest live draws. The seven piece band has navigated their way from the incubator of sunshine reggae through a colour-saturated field of soul psychedelia before swerving onto a desolate Detroit superhighway at night. It’s a sound that demands to be heard live, a potent mixture of jazz virtuosity and diaphragm-wrecking digital sonics.

These influences have not only been formed by the band’s individual predilections, but also experiences on the road: Fat Freddy’s appearance at Detroit’s Movement festival in 2006 was a watershed moment for the band, fuelled by hearing May’s, Atkin’s and Craig’s stark futurism ricochet off the cold concrete of America’s broken dream. This stoked producer DJ Mu’s love of analog techno, balancing and fusing vocalist Dallas Tamaira’s adoration of soul and reggae with the band’s collective passion for Jazz, Rhythm & Blues, Rock, Disco, House, Post Punk and Balearic oddities.

For Bays studio album released in 2015, the 9-track LP was exclusively written and recorded at their studio in Kilbirnie, Wellington. Pre-Bays, Freddy's albums were formed almost entirely on the road; the songs slowly evolving live at festivals such as WOMAD UK, SONAR, Bestival, Lowlands, DEMF, Pukkelpop, Glastonbury, The Big Chill and Roskilde.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Fat Freddy's Drop

Releases

Special Edition Part 1
Year: 2019
Type: EP
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Bays
Year: 2015
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Blackbird
Year: 2013
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Silver and Gold 12"
Year: 2012
Type: Album
Fat Electric Drop
Year: 2012
Type: EP
Live At Roundhouse
Year: 2010
Type: Album
Dr Boondigga And The Big BW
Year: 2009
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
The Camel EP
Year: 2008
Type: EP
Fantastic Voyages Vol. 1
Year: 2006
Type: DVD
Based On A True Story
Year: 2005
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Live At The Matterhorn
Year: 2001
Type: EP
Buy Online @ Mightyape

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

The RVMES - Single Review: Big Bam Boom
14 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The RVMES newest track Big Bam Boom is a good time that deserves your attention.The rawness and realness of this track cannot be denied.
Read More...
Troy Kingi - Album Review: The Ghost of Freddie Cesar
10 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Genius. Honestly.
Read More...
Dub Boys - EP Review: Fortune Favours The Bold
10 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The newest EP from the Dub Boys is fantastic. As someone who appreciates all styles of music, Hip-Hop continues to be one I stay fascinated with due to the current climate and success of certain artists.
Read More...
The Settlers - Single Review: Love
06 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Driven by a catchy guitar loop and backed up with a beat that ebbs and flows, the new track Love from The Settlers really puts its focus on its lyrics and delivery.Keeping the vocal effects to the minimum here allows the verses to sound authentic and real.
Read More...
Ekko Park - Album Review: Horizon
24 Aug 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The latest album from Ekko Park is an absolute blast of a time to listen to from beginning to end.All Eyes On Me sets the scene by just giving it everything.
Read More...
Investigator - Single Review: Bad Luck Shoebox
17 Aug 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Classic rock vibes crossed with modern rock sound drives this new track from Investigator. Driven by Adrian Drew, Investigator has a sound that is clear and defined and Bad Luck Shoebox adds another track to an ever-growing catalogue that showcases his ideas and sounds that make up Investigator.
Read More...
Will McClean - Album Review: Can't Sleep I'm Dreaming
07 Aug 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The new album from Will McClean takes a lot of well-produced beats and combines them with his flow and lyrics. It's a smooth ride most of the time as is demonstrated in the opening track Front Desk featuring JClean.
Read More...
TheOpHilus - Single Review: My Little Rugrat
02 Aug 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Authentic and real; that’s the best way to describe the new track My Little Rugrat from TheOpHilus. True Hip-Hop has always been, in my mind, sampling and talking about how things are where you are right now.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • WAP
    Cardi B feat. Megan Thee Stallion
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • LAUGH NOW CRY LATER
    Drake feat. Lil Durk
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • MOOD SWINGS
    Pop Smoke feat. Lil Tjay
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem