24 Sep 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Beacon Bloom - Single Review: Little Kingdom

15 Jan 2020 // A review by Chris Chick
The one aspect of music reviewing I love the most, is finding out about new musicians, the depth of talent that New Zealand has is astounding and very exciting. Beacon Bloom, I applaud you and your efforts, and that is not just because you are based in Christchurch, even though that gets extra brownie points.


Little Kingdom
 is the band's third single release, and this one is a corker, using an experimental synth sound to inspire even the dowdiest of days. Though I must admit, it took a few listens, to really get the sound resonating around my jelly like brain, but this is the beautiful aspect of the song, whether this was intentional or not, it enabled me to achieve an awareness of calmness within myself without my knowing. If you are a fan of bands like Arcade Fire, this is certainly along the same style, and production greatness. The song was inspired by founding band member Ryan Ferris who said;

"This song is my attempt to encapsulate the way Berlin shaped me in the years I lived there. It's a song to Berlin and a song to myself."

For me as a reviewer, a song should do one of two things, does it change my mood? And does the song make me stop and think? As a human traversing this thing we called life, it is paramount that we take stock now and again and listen to the voices that are being amplified. Some of the great revolutions throughout history have included artists and musicians, they are the backbone of our consciousness to some degree.

The start of the song I really like, it allowed me to disappear into my imagination, akin to being on a yacht travelling to places unknown, but excited about the possibilities to come. I like how the band change the tempo on multiple occasions during the song to give it a well balanced mix that kept my attention all the way to the end. I was actually disappointed when the song came to an end, I could have almost enjoyed another twist in the tale, but that is why we have the continuous button to aid us.

I like to end my review with a definitive answer to whether or not I think you should take your time to go out and listen to this song or not.I would hate to put a number on how many songs have been recorded since the start of music as we know it. I am a strong believer in taking the time to listen to others when they have taken the time to produce a work of art. With all that said, even if I did not take that stance, I would highly recommend you go out of your way to listen to this single, the only aspect that goes against this song is a slightly higher tempo feel that really gets my body bouncing off the walls, but that is because I love high octane pumping songs.

All in all, this gets a bright, sparky 4 out of 5, this is a band with an exciting future.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Beacon Bloom

Beacon Bloom is the musical outlet of New Zealand native Ryan Ferris.

Ryan has spent the last 5 years in 22 countries as a musical nomad, following the sun, writing and performing in the opposite seasons of Australasia and Europe.

Midnights in Berlin, hazy sunburn in Mallorca and Lisbon, the effervescent hum of Prague and Sydney and the sleepy stillness of hometown Christchurch have all collided and culminated in his latest body of work - a bedrock of groove and punchy bass; layered and soaring vocals cresting over wavey analog synths. Electronica carved from pop, chillwave, space disco, neo soul and funk.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Beacon Bloom

Releases

There are no releases to display for Beacon Bloom.

Other Reviews By Chris Chick

Jam Fish - Single Review: The Hermits Red Balloon
24 Aug 2020 // by Chris Chick
Jam Fish’s new single The Hermit’s Red Balloon was released on the 14th August 2020. This song can only be described through golfing metaphors, the experience of listening to this song was like playing a shot beyond the horizon and hoping you make the green.
Read More...
Fornax Chemica - Album Review: Audio Vision
06 Aug 2020 // by Chris Chick
Let’s get one thing straight right off the bat, creating, producing, and performing an album is a massive undertaking in itself. I am always impressed by any musician who is able to accomplish this, no matter the genre or the instruments they play (the more the better I say) this is why longevity within the music industry is not to be ignored when embracing all aspects of artists you love, and those you find hard to love.
Read More...
Iveta & Simone - Single Review: I'm Only Focused On You
15 Jul 2020 // by Chris Chick
Intense and full of bravado, as soon as the first piano chord hammered over my speakers, I jumped to attention like a well drilled private awaiting his first taste of action. Without any hesitation this private felt the need to start running towards the battle with no second thought for my own safety, willed on by the heavy baseline that accompanies the just as strong willed lyrical content.
Read More...
Mini Simmons - Single Review: Travelling Show
12 Jul 2020 // by Chris Chick
With a skip in my step, bounding my way through Trafalgar Square making my way to the center of the world as I knew it, London Town, this brand new single by Mini Simmons is, as they say in London, ruddy bloody good. I love songs that take me back to bygone days of freedom and an ignorance that only a young 20 year old called entangle into his swagger.
Read More...
Hummucide - Single Review: Reacher
25 Jun 2020 // by Chris Chick
Picture a wonderfully blissful day, slow wanderings around the park as it blooms fully into the start of a new creation, beckoning good will and tidings to all that seek it. With that picture in mind, now listen to the new single from Hummucide Reacher and transcend the only way possible from the vibe that jazz music can only touch.
Read More...
Whaea Stylz - Single Review: North Star
11 Jun 2020 // by Chris Chick
Whenever anyone makes the plunge into Reggae style music, you just know you are in for a treat, and there is no difference here with Whaea Stylz latest single North Star; an infused reggae beat that is guaranteed to get you moving even those muscles you never knew existed. I was really drawn in by the range of instruments, especially the piano, I thought its use really added to the song.
Read More...
Found Family - Single Review: Alive
27 May 2020 // by Chris Chick
Again, New Zealand music goes and surprises me, and in a good way. It reminds me of my trip to a well-known hot pool resort in the South Island; I arrived there with my little buddy that I mentor and saw the price of entrance.
Read More...
Phil Stoodley - Single Review: Undercover
13 May 2020 // by Chris Chick
I was pleasantly surprised when I was reminded that I also reviewed Phil Stoodley's work 7 years ago. This was like a coming of age moment and having recently returned to the duties of music reviewing, I thoroughly enjoyed the nostalgia of that memory.
Read More...
View All Articles By Chris Chick

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • WAP
    Cardi B feat. Megan Thee Stallion
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • LAUGH NOW CRY LATER
    Drake feat. Lil Durk
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • MOOD SWINGS
    Pop Smoke feat. Lil Tjay
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem