21 Apr 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Sam Wave - Album Review: Rhetorical What

13 Jan 2020 // A review by Lou Clement
Sam Wave is the moniker of musician Sam Mehrtens. Sam's 13-track debut album Rhetorical What was released in late December. With this release Wave adds a welcome and original blend of synth-pop infused tunes, android vocals and futuristic experimental vibes.


The world Sam Wave creates through his music is a sound from the future combined with the sounds from the past, and that’s the best kind of music in my book. The sixth track caught my attention first; titled Find Someone Sexy, it seems to reference an AI world with its breathy subtle robo-vocals. As the album progresses single synth notes hover and provide additional tempo in Faded, followed by 
a slightly sultry and groovy tone to Clouds.

Rhetorical What is then broken down with the electro chill ambiance of Same Same. Briefly, the tone changes to a decidedly darker feel in Wake Up Sunny but it then levels out with a blend of delicate vocals. I think this could be my favourite track. There’s a disorienting effect in The Best Irregular; to me it’s ripe for a dancier fast-paced remix. Again, the female vocals are further enhanced by an electronic generated sound which I especially like.

I look forward to seeing Sam Wave perform live - if this album is anything to go by, it'll be more than worth it.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Sam Wave

Sam Wave is Sam Mehrtens. He makes music and films that explore the obscurities and beauty of you.

Sam records and writes his music in a home studio in the mountains of Arrowtown, New Zealand. He immerses himself in the full process; producing, mixing, playing, singing ... it’s fun and all teaches him different ways of approaching his writing.

“Instead of trying to be Miles Davis, try and be the best trumpet” ... something Sam wrote. It's how he goes about his art.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Sam Wave

Releases

Rhetorical What
Year: 2020
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Lou Clement

Gig Review: Dr.Reknaw @ Anthology Lounge, Auckland - 16/04/2021
19 Apr 2021 // by Lou Clement
Epic eight-piece, Dr.Reknaw, took to the stage at Anthology Lounge on a wet Friday evening for their only Auckland gig.
Read More...
Dr.Reknaw - Album Review: Rektified
14 Apr 2021 // by Lou Clement
Dr.Reknaw are an eight-piece psychedelic group who happily straddle genres: funk, soul, hip-hop and dub.
Read More...
Something Zesty - Album Review: Funk’t Up
06 Mar 2021 // by Lou Clement
Something Zesty is a musical project from solo-artist Iain Chamberlain and Funk’t Up, released in early 2021, is his debut album. It offers a mix of easy going funk riffs and enjoyable guitar-infused tracks overlaid with urban vocals.
Read More...
Single Review: Cherry Blind
16 Dec 2020 // by Lou Clement
Cherry Blind's new single; a pace, energy and a dash of screamo. I recently attended a punk-weekender: two days of what seemed like seven minute sets, where there were really only fans and no bystanders and bands that moved from one song to the next as quickly as the flip of a pancake.
Read More...
Gig Review: Avantdale Bowling Club @ Hollywood Avondale, Auckland - 23/10/2020
25 Oct 2020 // by Lou Clement
Multi-genre bending Avantdale Bowling Club played to a sold out crowd, breaking in, what seemed like the first long weekend in a very long time, at them Hollywood Avondale. Their most recent release, earlier in 2020 was LIVE, it does what it says on the tin.
Read More...
Gig Review: Racing @ Whammy Bar, Auckland - 31/07/2020
02 Aug 2020 // by Lou Clement
Racing took to the stage on the penultimate date of their Flashback tour. The four-date stop off comes ahead of their highly-anticipated second album release.
Read More...
Yumi Zouma - Album Review: Truth or Consequences
30 Mar 2020 // by Lou Clement
Yumi Zouma are a four-piece band who formed in New Zealand and have seen international success with their brand of dreamy beach pop – effortlessly upbeat and post-party feels. It’s music that I can always put on my playlist repeat loop.
Read More...
Gig Review: Fat Freddy's Drop @ Thames Racecourse, Thames - 28/12/2019
08 Jan 2020 // by Lou Clement
When Fat Freddy’s Drop announced their Summer Album tour, with dates across New Zealand, I had the feeling of the holiday season beginning. I went along to the first of the tour dates that began their extensive list of stop offs and took place in the lazy in between days of the Christmas-New Year break.
Read More...
View All Articles By Lou Clement

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • RAPSTAR
    Polo G
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
  • HEARTBREAK ANNIVERSARY
    Giveon
  • LEAVE THE DOOR OPEN
    Silk Sonic
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • ASTRONAUT IN THE OCEAN
    Masked Wolf
  • DEJA VU
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • ALL SHE WROTE
    Six60
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem