12 Aug 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Sam Wave - Album Review: Rhetorical What

13 Jan 2020 // A review by Lou Clement
Sam Wave is the moniker of musician Sam Mehrtens. Sam's 13-track debut album Rhetorical What was released in late December. With this release Wave adds a welcome and original blend of synth-pop infused tunes, android vocals and futuristic experimental vibes.


The world Sam Wave creates through his music is a sound from the future combined with the sounds from the past, and that’s the best kind of music in my book. The sixth track caught my attention first; titled Find Someone Sexy, it seems to reference an AI world with its breathy subtle robo-vocals. As the album progresses single synth notes hover and provide additional tempo in Faded, followed by 
a slightly sultry and groovy tone to Clouds.

Rhetorical What is then broken down with the electro chill ambiance of Same Same. Briefly, the tone changes to a decidedly darker feel in Wake Up Sunny but it then levels out with a blend of delicate vocals. I think this could be my favourite track. There’s a disorienting effect in The Best Irregular; to me it’s ripe for a dancier fast-paced remix. Again, the female vocals are further enhanced by an electronic generated sound which I especially like.

I look forward to seeing Sam Wave perform live - if this album is anything to go by, it'll be more than worth it.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Sam Wave

Sam Wave is Sam Mehrtens. He makes music and films that explore the obscurities and beauty of you.

Sam records and writes his music in a home studio in the mountains of Arrowtown, New Zealand. He immerses himself in the full process; producing, mixing, playing, singing ... it’s fun and all teaches him different ways of approaching his writing.

“Instead of trying to be Miles Davis, try and be the best trumpet” ... something Sam wrote. It's how he goes about his art.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Sam Wave

Releases

Rhetorical What
Year: 2020
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Lou Clement

Gig Review: Racing @ Whammy Bar, Auckland - 31/07/2020
02 Aug 2020 // by Lou Clement
Racing took to the stage on the penultimate date of their Flashback tour. The four-date stop off comes ahead of their highly-anticipated second album release.
Read More...
Yumi Zouma - Album Review: Truth or Consequences
30 Mar 2020 // by Lou Clement
Yumi Zouma are a four-piece band who formed in New Zealand and have seen international success with their brand of dreamy beach pop – effortlessly upbeat and post-party feels. It’s music that I can always put on my playlist repeat loop.
Read More...
Gig Review: Fat Freddy's Drop @ Thames Racecourse, Thames - 28/12/2019
08 Jan 2020 // by Lou Clement
When Fat Freddy’s Drop announced their Summer Album tour, with dates across New Zealand, I had the feeling of the holiday season beginning. I went along to the first of the tour dates that began their extensive list of stop offs and took place in the lazy in between days of the Christmas-New Year break.
Read More...
Gig Review: Dead Little Penny @ Wine Cellar, Auckland - 15/11/2019
29 Nov 2019 // by Lou Clement
Dead Little Penny played their album launch gig at the Wine Cellar on K Road. Their debut album, Urge Surfing, was released the week of the gig and received many positive reviews, including my review for Muzic.
Read More...
Dead Little Penny - Album River: Urge Surfing
13 Nov 2019 // by Lou Clement
Dead Little Penny released their debut album Urge Surfing on 13 November 2019. It’s nine tracks of electro-industrial, synthesiser-infused melodic, dirge-drifting fun.
Read More...
Gig Review: Pitch Black @ Neck of the Woods, Auckland - 17/10/2019
18 Oct 2019 // by Lou Clement
The legendary Christchurch act Pitch Black whipped up an electronica storm at Neck of Woods, Auckland on their Third Light Tour on 17 October 2019. Taking the audience with them on a visual and musical journey, the duo kicked off their international tour, with this, their first date of twelve, which will take them to London, Amsterdam and Berlin over the coming months.
Read More...
Gig Review: Troy Kingi @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 26/09/2019
04 Oct 2019 // by Lou Clement
Troy Kingi delivered a mash up of reggae, funk and soul as he debuted an album of politically laced tracks and performed for an enthusiastic crowd at the Tuning Fork in Auckland. This was the first of a three date New Zealand tour, following the release of his latest album Holy Colony Burning Acres and tonight he played to a sold out crowd.
Read More...
Gig Review: JessB @ Raynham Park, Auckland
22 Sep 2019 // by Lou Clement
Artist JessB hit Auckland’s Raynham Park late on a Saturday night in September completing the third and final date of her New Views tour, following dates in Wellington and Christchurch. Special guests for the evening were Silva MC, Vayne and {half.
Read More...
View All Articles By Lou Clement

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
  • MY FUTURE
    Billie Eilish
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • ROSES (IMANBEK REMIX)
    SAINt JHN
  • CARDIGAN
    Taylor Swift
  • BREAKING ME
    Topic feat. A7S
  • WHAT'S POPPIN'
    Jack Harlow
  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem