29 Jan 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
  • Articles »
  • Reviews »
  • Shapeshifter - Gig Review: Shapeshifter @ Trustspower Baypark, Mt Maunganui - 28/12/2019

Shapeshifter - Gig Review: Shapeshifter @ Trustspower Baypark, Mt Maunganui - 28/12/2019

09 Jan 2020 // A review by Jason Peters

After a small hiccup getting into the venue, we arrived to see State Of Mind hitting the stage, unfortunately we had missed Concord Dawn but I heard they had a killer set. State of Mind warmed up the throngs of summer DnB heads nicely with their heavy DnB morsels, their MC hyped the crowd and it was a great set for this mini DnB festival Shapeshifter had compiled on this warm summer night.

Next up were fellow Shapeshifter collaborators The Upbeats with the talented Tiki Taane taking the MC reins. It’s been a while since I’ve seen him perform a DnB set and he nailed this one to the wall. The Upbeats set had a sweet variety of beats switching from heavy DnB, to fast breakbeats, ragga inspired grooves and Tiki even mixed in a bit of Basement Jaxx Where’s Your Head At for good measure.

Their energetic set culminating in Tiki donning a silver jumpsuit while crowd surfing in an inflatable raft with a cool nod to Dillinja's 90’s track All Aboard, and then he capsized into the audience, there were smiles all around. The Upbeats and Tiki combo was a great success and enjoyed by all, next-level fun indeed. The entrees were rather delicious but now it’s time for the main course.

The anticipation was high for Shapeshifter who have been on the Kiwi summer circuit for many years now and are quintessential live performers and know how to hype up their audience to the max with their brand of heavy fusion soul DnB.

They kick off with Lifetime from System Is A Vampire which goes off and then launch into Stars and Eternal from their 2016 album, also called Stars, and the sound was huge! We are then treated to two brand new cuts Found In You and Ritual - both very cool tracks and I'll be looking forward to hearing the recorded versions later on in 2020. A stand out of the night was Dutchies from 2009’s System Is A Vampire; Tiki had now found his stride in the mix and the band also hit top gear.

We were treated to three more new tracks, the stand out being a heavy banger called Roxy, this track reminded me of their version of Shihad's Screwtop they did a few years back, heavy guitars over frenetic DnB beats, a stand out was Darren Mathiassen’s drumming in this track, a killer tune and I look forward to hearing the recorded version as well, but live this song is monster and will be a future live favourite for sure.

Lead singer P Digsss is in fine form tonight and always brings the good vibes to their shows, he introduces the next tune, a fav of mine called One off the excellent Soulstice album, it’s a sweet version although I do miss Devin Abrams live Sax playing on this tune. Their big hit In Colour had the crowd singing in unison before ending the set with the wonderfully epic Monarch.

A shout out also must go to the awesome light show and superb 80’s Tron/Star Wars-inspired video graphics by Tim Budgen for this show. Tiki always pulls a massive mix for Shapeshifter, and the crew and this band know how to put on memorable shows with sweet top-level production.

I’ve seen these guys perform a bunch of times now and this show was one of their best, it’s never easy including brand new tracks into a set but the new cuts sat nicely with the classics. What a fun night, and I highly recommend that you brothers and sisters, kings and queens catch these guys on their remaining Aotearoa summer tour dates, mean as!


Photos courtesy of Nichole June Productions

 

About Shapeshifter

New Zealand's best live act is an extraordinary spectacle you can't miss.

Shapeshifter has been heralded as a musical phenomenon on their ground breaking live shows and unique blend of heavy Soul/Drum n Bass. Their reputation as pioneers of modern music was built by an unique approach to Electronic music which had previously been restricted to computer based studio musicians and has earned them widespread critical and commercial acclaim.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Shapeshifter

Releases

Stars
Year: 2016
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
SSXUB
Year: 2014
Type: EP
Delta
Year: 2013
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
System Remix
Year: 2011
Type: Album
The System Is A Vampire
Year: 2009
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Shapeshifter Live
Year: 2007
Type: Album
Soulstice
Year: 2006
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Riddim Wise
Year: 2004
Type: LP
Styles
Year: 2003
Type: EP
Been Missing / Relocator
Year: 2003
Type: EP
D.N.A.
Year: 2001
Type: EP
Realtime
Year: 2001
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Jason Peters

Festival Review: Good Vibes @ Soundshell, Gisborne - 11/01/2020
16 Jan 2020 // by Jason Peters
Good Vibes was a packed-out festival with lots of very 'happy' people, after soaking up the rays and many beverages and other herbs I suspect the audience was certainly in good vibes alright. We headed over to Three Houses Down featuring General Fiyah (pictured); their brand of soul reggae was received well and their monster hit Love & Affection went over well with the enthusiastic crowd.
Read More...
Anxiety Club - EP Review: Francine
14 Nov 2019 // by Jason Peters
Well, this is a nice surprise. One of the perks of writing for Muzic.
Read More...
Pluto - Album Review: IV
13 Nov 2019 // by Jason Peters
Before egos ran wild and personalities clashed to derail Pluto or Pipeline Under The Ocean in 2009 they reigned supreme on the local alternative music scene and even hitting the musical jackpot with two killer singles in Dance Stamina and Long White Cross in the mid 2000's. They also released three full-length albums and played a slew of quality live shows and festivals locally and worldwide, but unfortunately it all came unraveled while recording their fourth album.
Read More...
Pale Lady - EP Review: My New Maze
01 Nov 2019 // by Jason Peters
Young Wellington 4-piece Pale Lady, winners of the 2017 National Battle Of The Bands, hit us with their latest EP called My New Maze. And 6 tracks of rollicking rock n roll ensue.
Read More...
EP Review: Radio Therapy
31 Oct 2019 // by Jason Peters
If Pat Benatar and the Foo Fighters had a child it would be called Radio Therapy, that's my first impression of the first couple of tracks on Radio Therapy's second self-titled EP and that's a good thing in my books. Singer Renee Leishman is somewhat of a New Plymouth Rock legend having performed with bands Demon Dolls and 1080 in the past and her vocals in this release are crisp and full of melody, she also helps out the rhythm section by playing bass guitar too, which is impressive.
Read More...
Gig Review: Coridian @ Anthology, Auckland - 20/09/2019
27 Sep 2019 // by Jason Peters
I'd heard about Anthology as a new venue a couple of months back, and any new venues in Auckland that local artists can play after the demise of the legendary Kings Arms are always welcome. My buddy and I were greeted at the door by two friendly bearded characters that turned out to be the drummer and guitarist of the headline act.
Read More...
L.A.B. - Single Review: Personify
17 Sep 2019 // by Jason Peters
L.A.
Read More...
Pale Lady - Single Review: Never Gonna Be This Way Again
27 Aug 2019 // by Jason Peters
Winners of the 2017 National Battle Of The Bands Pale Lady hit us with their latest creation called Never Gonna Be This Way Again. I can see why they won that competition because these young fellas know how to craft a tune and they're all kick ass at their chosen instruments.
Read More...
View All Articles By Jason Peters

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • YUMMY
    Justin Bieber
  • GODZILLA
    Eminem feat. Juice WRLD
  • THE BOX
    Roddy Ricch
  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • GLITTER
    BENEE
  • ROXANNE
    Arizona Zervas
  • DON'T START NOW
    Dua Lipa
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem