1 Oct 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

David Sutton - Album Review: Eternal Memory

03 Jan 2020 // A review by Darryl Baser

Dad, or maybe Granddad, rock is alive and well.

Looking on Bandcamp, Eternal Memory appears to be David Sutton’s 8th release, following titles such as Upside-Down World, Binary, V, 40 and more.

There’s no doubting he’s a talented musician, as he plays and or programs 90% of the instrumentation on Eternal Memory, with a great degree of skill and precision.

His vocal delivery on many of the songs seems to have an ‘in character’ accent, to suit the style of the song. For example, in the opening song Some People, the second song, Gonna Be Alright, and in track 11, Ball and Chain, he sings with a very Mick Jagger-esque trans-Atlantic accent (kind of almost American sounding, as was popular in the 1960's). On the fourth song, Happy Rock Anthem, he’s affecting a ‘go blimey, Gov’nor’ London Cockney accent, think Dave and the Dynamos Life begins at 40 from 1983.

Travelling Light reminds me of a Johnny Cash railways song, especially as for this song Sutton’s singing about an octave below his usual range, and it doesn’t sound all that familiar for him.

The album sounds home recorded, and is well recorded and produced, although for the most part the vocals sound very dry. While I like a crisp under produced sound, a bit of a natural reverb goes a long way to making it sound fully polished.

I know he’s at least 8 releases into his career, but I wonder if he’s found his own songwriting voice, his reason and passion for writing songs.

I’d guess David Sutton’s target audience is 55+ years old.

And the album is released on a CD, which is nice for an older chap like myself.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About David Sutton

David writes and records songs.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for David Sutton

Releases

Upside-Down World
Year: 2018
Type: Album
Binary
Year: 2017
Type: Album
V
Year: 2016
Type: Album
40
Year: 2014
Type: Album
Cheese
Year: 2013
Type: Album
Mr. Rainbow
Year: 2011
Type: Album
Remember
Year: 2009
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Darryl Baser

Gig Review: PRINS & Vikae @ Dive Bar, Dunedin - 26/09/2020
27 Sep 2020 // by Darryl Baser
With most of New Zealand at Covid alert level 1, dancing is allowed at bars and clubs, and a good number of those who came along to see Auckland-based musicians PRINS and Vikae with local support from Molly Devine and Bryn Massey. Bryn Massey is the first of four women with amazing voices for the evening.
Read More...
Andrew Masseurs - EP Review: She’s So Nasty
19 Sep 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Well, being either a PC softy or a bit of a feminist, I didn’t warm to the title track She’s So Nasty, but being a professional I opened my ears and had a listen to Andrew Masseurs’ new EP. And I’m glad I did.
Read More...
Bingo Fighter - Single Review: Kama Sutra
03 Sep 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Well, as bloody obvious things to write go, music is in the entertainment industry should be fun and entertaining. With that premise in mind, Bingo Fighter go to the top of the class with their new single Kama Sutra.
Read More...
Stars and the Underground - Single Review: Nosferatu Upon Tyne
22 Aug 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Being an OG (old goth or original goth) from the 1980's I love me a bit of goth. Stars and the Underground are a nice bit of goth who have just released a 7" single.
Read More...
Marlin's Dreaming - Album Review: Quotidian
21 Aug 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Having been a reviewer of life and recorded music since the late 1980's, it is a rare and wonderful feeling to discover a band from my hometown who I haven’t heard of, until they drop a recording that takes my head clean off. Dunedin band Marlin’s Dreaming have released Quotidian, and are about to (Covid willing) head off on a NZ tour in late September and early October.
Read More...
Grant Duncan - Album Review: Contemplate
07 Aug 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Grant Duncan is a well-seasoned singer-songwriter based in Auckland, New Zealand, who’s just released his new 12 song album, Contemplate. The album is available on Duncan’s Bandcamp page as is the modern way of doing things.
Read More...
A Straw Assembly - Album Review: A Little More Life
28 Jul 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Right the get go this isn’t an album for the musically faint-hearted. The opening song A Saint Is Divided builds gently and beautifully into a maelstrom.
Read More...
Gig Review: Nadia Reid @ Grainstore Gallery, Oamaru - 24/07/2020
25 Jul 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Flora Knight is first up, beginning with saying "Hi, I'm not Nadia". Her solo set on fiddle and singing begins with an Appalachian mountain tune about Bow weevils destroying crops, it’s a classic piece of mountain music, and a great way to open her set.
Read More...
View All Articles By Darryl Baser

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • WAP
    Cardi B feat. Megan Thee Stallion
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • HOLY
    Justin Bieber feat. Chance The Rapper
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • MOOD SWINGS
    Pop Smoke feat. Lil Tjay
  • LAUGH NOW CRY LATER
    Drake feat. Lil Durk
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem