24 Jan 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

David Sutton - Album Review: Eternal Memory

03 Jan 2020 // A review by Darryl Baser

Dad, or maybe Granddad, rock is alive and well.

Looking on Bandcamp, Eternal Memory appears to be David Sutton’s 8th release, following titles such as Upside-Down World, Binary, V, 40 and more.

There’s no doubting he’s a talented musician, as he plays and or programs 90% of the instrumentation on Eternal Memory, with a great degree of skill and precision.

His vocal delivery on many of the songs seems to have an ‘in character’ accent, to suit the style of the song. For example, in the opening song Some People, the second song, Gonna Be Alright, and in track 11, Ball and Chain, he sings with a very Mick Jagger-esque trans-Atlantic accent (kind of almost American sounding, as was popular in the 1960's). On the fourth song, Happy Rock Anthem, he’s affecting a ‘go blimey, Gov’nor’ London Cockney accent, think Dave and the Dynamos Life begins at 40 from 1983.

Travelling Light reminds me of a Johnny Cash railways song, especially as for this song Sutton’s singing about an octave below his usual range, and it doesn’t sound all that familiar for him.

The album sounds home recorded, and is well recorded and produced, although for the most part the vocals sound very dry. While I like a crisp under produced sound, a bit of a natural reverb goes a long way to making it sound fully polished.

I know he’s at least 8 releases into his career, but I wonder if he’s found his own songwriting voice, his reason and passion for writing songs.

I’d guess David Sutton’s target audience is 55+ years old.

And the album is released on a CD, which is nice for an older chap like myself.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About David Sutton

David writes and records songs.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for David Sutton

Releases

Upside-Down World
Year: 2018
Type: Album
Binary
Year: 2017
Type: Album
V
Year: 2016
Type: Album
40
Year: 2014
Type: Album
Cheese
Year: 2013
Type: Album
Mr. Rainbow
Year: 2011
Type: Album
Remember
Year: 2009
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Darryl Baser

James Hunter - EP Review: You
21 Jan 2021 // by Darryl Baser
There are tough days and good days in all aspects of life. In music reviewing there are recording which don’t grab you and professionalism is necessary.
Read More...
The Big Lawn - Album Review: Silverspoon
10 Dec 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Dunedin band The Big Lawn have just released their first album, Silverspoon. The album following on from the success of their debut EP Help Myself.
Read More...
Single Review: Viices: Double Denim 7”
01 Dec 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Viices, known to his mum as Jake McComb, has been making music for a number of years, releasing the Toxic EP in 2017. Double Denim is released on a grey marble 7", which was lovingly packed well in a box.
Read More...
Gig Review: French for Rabbits @ Bark, Dunedin - 27/11/2020
28 Nov 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Port Chalmers songwriter Lucy Hunter opened up the evening with Please Just Break My Heart and Let Me Go. Announcing to the rapidly filling Bark space at Dunedin’s Dog With Two Tails "this is my first [piano] gig standing up".
Read More...
Jolandi Ford - Single Review: You Ain’t In The Picture
28 Nov 2020 // by Darryl Baser
I love me a good break up song, and You Ain’t In The Picture is such a song with a good dose of ‘don’t let the door hit you in the ass on the way out’. The joy in the subject of the song comes across in the lyrics; it's in the way you can hear the smile on her face as she delivers the lines, and also in the song’s composition, especially in the lift to the leading note of the chord, when Jolandi sings; "…will I cry a million tears?
Read More...
Gabriel Bond - Single Review: History
12 Nov 2020 // by Darryl Baser
First thing; wow what a voice. Gabriel Bond has a stunning voice, I would frankly amazed if he hasn’t had a bunch of formal vocal training.
Read More...
Single Review: Redwoods
11 Nov 2020 // by Darryl Baser
In their brief blurb, Redwoods describe themselves as "a Kiwi band formed on the Jurassic lake of Tarawera, featuring members of Fire at Will and Dead Favours". The band comprising of members Josh Dillner, Will Kearney and Hannah Kearney have recently released their debut single, which is self-titled.
Read More...
Gig Review: Die! Die! Die! @ Pioneer Hall, Port Chalmers - 06/11/2020
07 Nov 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Bliss Point are a Dunedin based high school band with musical lineage including drummer Tane Cotton, son of audio engineer Dale Cotton, and nephew of Shayne P Carter. Bliss Point take to the end of the room which is used as a stage to a quarter full room of their parents, school pals and unfashionably early concert goers, your humble scribe included.
Read More...
View All Articles By Darryl Baser

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DRIVERS LICENSE
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • WHY OH WHY
    L.A.B.
  • 34+35
    Ariana Grande
  • GOOD DAYS
    SZA
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • CONTROLLER
    L.A.B.
  • NOT MY NEIGHBOUR
    Niko Walters
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. iann dior
  • ANYONE
    Justin Bieber
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem