24 Jun 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Lizard Prom - EP Review: Lizard Prom

01 Jan 2020 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Lizard Prom is visceral. Really. I really had to sit back and take this one in.

Betty Goes To Hell starts off as you would expect a rock song would. I would say it very shoe-gaze to me and there ain’t nothing wrong with that.
But then slowly, those vocals start to intensify and it feels like you are hearing an exorcism. By the time the real gut wrenching scream starts, it seems like we have transitioned to doom rock.

And we have.

Fun starts out completely differently to that of the first track. Atmospheric and dark, it sounds amazing on a great stereo cranked up to 10. The vocals from Tyley are just so god damn raw and real. When Fun really goes into top gear it is just so good. Skin is a pretty intense song. "I wanna rip your little balls right off!!!"

Of course, music like this isn’t for everyone. But it’s for me. I love hearing an artist pour everything into their performance and Lizard Prom do this. It’s refreshing. It’s special. It’s one of the most unique and interesting sounds I have heard come out of NZ.

The whole band have done so well in capturing this sound that I actually believe it was recorded live. I now need to see them live. I’m sure Tyley comes off stage completely drained. It must be taxing but as a listener, I’m grateful. I love it.

Lizard Prom describe themselves as Doomgaze and I would definitely agree.

This is a very solid EP. Well done.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Lizard Prom

Lizard Prom are a four piece alternative rock band from the Hawkes Bay. Previously known as Queens of Beauty School, after a brief hiatus in 2017, the band reformed with a line-up change and started recording their debut EP.

Their sound is inspired by shoegaze, post-punk and doom, and has been described as “hypnotic and mesmerising”.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Lizard Prom

Releases

Lizard Prom
Year: 2019
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Y$O - Single Review: Cotton Candy
16 Jun 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Tracks like this deserve a good amount of attention. It's funky, groovy and makes you feel good.
Read More...
Y$O - Single Review: M.I.A
23 May 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Combining the forces of artists Sam V, Aidan Fine, JARNA, Brokeboi Ace and producers EDY, CreationKit & M4, Young & $lept On (Y$O) is New Zealand's newest supergroup. This stable of talent is set to disrupt airwaves and social media with their eclectic sense of style, talent and vision - demonstrated by the group's first release M.
Read More...
Ryan Farrell - Single Review: Teenage Dreamer
22 May 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
I love it when these sorts of things happen. At just 18, the new track Teenage Dreamer from Ryan Farrell is another example of a young artist who had a vision for their sound and delivers on it.
Read More...
D.Matthews - Single Review: Melanin Skin
29 Apr 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Melanin Skin is a new single from Auckland-based Nigerian singer-songwriter, D.Matthews (aka David Matthews) who has curated his own brand of energetic calm Afrobeat/Afropop.
Read More...
Silas Futura - EP Review: Pluto
21 Apr 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
The new EP Pluto from Silas Futura feels like a tip of the hat to Hip-Hop, with its roots coming from Jazz and all the breaks that bought together that style.On the opening track Care, the time signature plays games with you but that is fine because you won't really notice.
Read More...
Album Review: Hawkins
21 Apr 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Yep. I knew that voice immediately.
Read More...
Alders - Single Review: Hounds
23 Mar 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
The new track from Alders, Hounds, is quite a fun time alright! With a feel that seems inspired by the likes of Smash Mouth's Astro Lounge, The Dandy Warhols and 60's psychedelic pop-rock.
Read More...
Aidan Fine - Single Review: CLV
21 Mar 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Quick fire rapid lyrics. That’s what I like here.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GOOD 4 U
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • SOLAR POWER
    Lorde
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • DEJA VU
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • TRAITOR
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • BODY (REMIX)
    Russ Millions x Tion Wayne
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • FAVORITE CRIME
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem