1 Mar 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Lizard Prom - EP Review: Lizard Prom

01 Jan 2020 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Lizard Prom is visceral. Really. I really had to sit back and take this one in.

Betty Goes To Hell starts off as you would expect a rock song would. I would say it very shoe-gaze to me and there ain’t nothing wrong with that.
But then slowly, those vocals start to intensify and it feels like you are hearing an exorcism. By the time the real gut wrenching scream starts, it seems like we have transitioned to doom rock.

And we have.

Fun starts out completely differently to that of the first track. Atmospheric and dark, it sounds amazing on a great stereo cranked up to 10. The vocals from Tyley are just so god damn raw and real. When Fun really goes into top gear it is just so good. Skin is a pretty intense song. "I wanna rip your little balls right off!!!"

Of course, music like this isn’t for everyone. But it’s for me. I love hearing an artist pour everything into their performance and Lizard Prom do this. It’s refreshing. It’s special. It’s one of the most unique and interesting sounds I have heard come out of NZ.

The whole band have done so well in capturing this sound that I actually believe it was recorded live. I now need to see them live. I’m sure Tyley comes off stage completely drained. It must be taxing but as a listener, I’m grateful. I love it.

Lizard Prom describe themselves as Doomgaze and I would definitely agree.

This is a very solid EP. Well done.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Lizard Prom

Lizard Prom are a four piece alternative rock band from the Hawkes Bay. Previously known as Queens of Beauty School, after a brief hiatus in 2017, the band reformed with a line-up change and started recording their debut EP.

Their sound is inspired by shoegaze, post-punk and doom, and has been described as “hypnotic and mesmerising”.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Lizard Prom

Releases

Lizard Prom
Year: 2019
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Jericho - EP Review: Rhythm
26 Feb 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Jericho are a 3-piece band made up of people who obviously love music. I say this because on their opening track Silence Won't Last, I kind of think it went through a lot of different styles and ideas that I actually didn't expect.
Read More...
Raw Collective - Album Review: The Good Things
18 Feb 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
The Good Things is the latest LP from the 10-piece live hip-hop band Raw Collective from Wellington. The album is quite something that showcases the versatility of the group's ability to swing from different styles of hip-hop, funk and soul.
Read More...
Fire For Glory - EP Review: Life Of The Party
16 Feb 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Yeah, bro. Get that punk-pop/rock vibe.
Read More...
Craig Payne - Album Review: I'm Not Giving The Game Away
10 Feb 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Ah. That's refreshing.
Read More...
Swerve City - Single Review: Sink Like Stones
05 Feb 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Right now, across New Zealand, there is a storm that keeps getting bigger and stronger. That storm is made up of an incredible group of artists and bands who are working to get more exposure to and notice from what I would call 'the mainstream'.
Read More...
Dilz - Single Review: Don't Trip
30 Jan 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Don't Trip is the latest track from Dilz, and slick production with a catchy chorus kicks this song off.  In what I would classify as pop-rap (this isn't a negative), it captivates the audience with a catchy hook.
Read More...
Will McClean - Single Review: One Way Road
30 Jan 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Will McClean's new track One Way Road is a stunner. The way the beat starts with backwards loops and trap style beats that have a hip-hip feel all work well.
Read More...
Mema Wilda - Single Review: How I Long
21 Jan 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Mema Wilda's newest track How I Long starts off with a simple acoustic guitar and vocal, but it's quick to showcase a track full of plenty of goodness. It's the type of song I would want to hear on modern pop radio; it's catchy and you can easily sing-a-long to it.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DRIVERS LICENSE
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • WHY OH WHY
    L.A.B.
  • CALLING MY PHONE
    Lil Tjay feat. 6LACK
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • GOOD DAYS
    SZA
  • NOT MY NEIGHBOUR
    Niko Walters
  • CONTROLLER
    L.A.B.
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • WITHOUT YOU
    The Kid LAROI
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem