25 Nov 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Lizard Prom - EP Review: Lizard Prom

01 Jan 2020 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Lizard Prom is visceral. Really. I really had to sit back and take this one in.

Betty Goes To Hell starts off as you would expect a rock song would. I would say it very shoe-gaze to me and there ain’t nothing wrong with that.
But then slowly, those vocals start to intensify and it feels like you are hearing an exorcism. By the time the real gut wrenching scream starts, it seems like we have transitioned to doom rock.

And we have.

Fun starts out completely differently to that of the first track. Atmospheric and dark, it sounds amazing on a great stereo cranked up to 10. The vocals from Tyley are just so god damn raw and real. When Fun really goes into top gear it is just so good. Skin is a pretty intense song. "I wanna rip your little balls right off!!!"

Of course, music like this isn’t for everyone. But it’s for me. I love hearing an artist pour everything into their performance and Lizard Prom do this. It’s refreshing. It’s special. It’s one of the most unique and interesting sounds I have heard come out of NZ.

The whole band have done so well in capturing this sound that I actually believe it was recorded live. I now need to see them live. I’m sure Tyley comes off stage completely drained. It must be taxing but as a listener, I’m grateful. I love it.

Lizard Prom describe themselves as Doomgaze and I would definitely agree.

This is a very solid EP. Well done.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Lizard Prom

Lizard Prom are a four piece alternative rock band from the Hawkes Bay. Previously known as Queens of Beauty School, after a brief hiatus in 2017, the band reformed with a line-up change and started recording their debut EP.

Their sound is inspired by shoegaze, post-punk and doom, and has been described as “hypnotic and mesmerising”.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Lizard Prom

Releases

Lizard Prom
Year: 2019
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Gig Review: Th' Dudes @ Town Hall, Auckland - 19/11/2020
21 Nov 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Arriving at the Auckland Town Hall and subsequently finding parking was a lot easier than I had anticipated. The town seems very quiet at around 7:30 pm, although there is a large gathering of people around the Town Hall, an indication that something big is happening.
Read More...
Boy Virgo - Single Review: Psycho
15 Nov 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Here is a track that takes what you think you know about genres of music and says, "Nope, you are wrong". On the new track Psycho from Boy Virgo, I think this is the one thing I really enjoyed.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Jordan Luck Band @ Pukekohe Cosmopolitan Club, Pukekohe - 6/11/2020
08 Nov 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
It’s a Friday night in Pukekohe and as I walk into the Pukekohe Cosmopolitan Club just before 8 pm you can feel the anticipation in the air. Looking like a high school ball, there is a large dance floor in front of the stage while the rest of the venue is lined vertically with tables.
Read More...
Krispy & The Pooch - EP Review Drop The Needle
06 Nov 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Wow. Krispy & The Pooch have quite the EP here.
Read More...
And$um - EP Review: Late Nights
29 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
And$um has returned with a new EP. Made up of six tracks, this is yet another collection of songs that demonstrate the sound Sam brings to this project.
Read More...
Gig Review: BENEE @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 16/10/2020
17 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
As I got to Spark Arena for the first time since February this year, I couldn't help but notice how many families were there with smiling kids, and parents alike, all waiting for doors to open. BENEE has become quite a superstar over this past year which has been awesome to see.
Read More...
theajsound - Single Review: Sorrow
12 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Auckland based Indian born singer and songwriter theajsound (AKA AJ) has released a string of singles this year which have amassed hundreds of thousands stream on Spotify, and his latest, Sorrow is a catchy new tune that instantly catches your ear.The guitar sound is clean and an instant classic.
Read More...
Sam V - EP Review: Cruisin'
08 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The new EP from Sam V, bKidd and EDY is a blast. With a few skits interwoven into the EP, the whole package feels well thought out and it sounds great.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THEREFORE I AM
    Billie Eilish
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • POSITIONS
    Ariana Grande
  • HOLY
    Justin Bieber feat. Chance The Rapper
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • FADE AWAY
    Six60
  • WHAT YOU KNOW BOUT LOVE
    Pop Smoke
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem