14 Jul 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Marina Bloom and Moving Stuff - Album Review: Back Where We Started

01 Jan 2020 // A review by Ben Ruegg
Marina Bloom’s newest album, Back Where We Started is a rock solid modern contemporary record.

Starting with the title track, the upbeat pop rock creates an upbeat feel with a catch melody, driving electric guitars and a very catchy chorus.


On the very next track though, the tone changes and this isn’t a bad thing. Greetings From Sydney is a much slower ballad that details a lonesome trip away and wishing you were with that some special. It is evident on tracks like this and many others that Marina is a story teller. It works well, reminding me of a mix between Taylor Swift’s earlier work, some Celine Dion and Shania Twain. This is all down to how ballad heavy the rest of the album is.

Subtle touches like the slide guitar on Lions Fighting In A Church, to the more exotic sounds of Fragile, just to name a few, the music is spot on in capturing every songs story and feel. Marina’s vocals are perfectly performed. The switch between firm delivery to a more airy one on Fragile is an example here. It’s nice to hear so much care out into each piece.

There are so many gems here in this album. Seven Seas, with its wonderful duet harmonies paired with the perfect instrumentation to make it feel like it matches the sailors or large medieval ships. It has an almost Celtic vibe to it.

By track 6, we return to a more upbeat track with Flying. The production on this album is just awesome. Marina should be proud of what she has achieved here. Multiple listens open up a whole lot of things you may have missed on the first listen.

Not Another Ballad turns into what sounds like an Irish jig and yeah, you can definitely imagine people getting wild on this one.

Overall, this is an incredible body of work that also incorporates Marina’s native tongue on a couple of tracks. Special mention to the final track Tri Sestry - Three Sisters as it bought an emotive electronic sound to the album. I really felt that one. I just love how diverse she is both vocally and musically.

Bravo Marina. I respect your passion and dedication to song writing. Your care and thought is truly reflected here.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Marina Bloom and Moving Stuff

Marina Bloom and her band Moving Stuff are an experienced group of musicians of diverse backgrounds playing an eclectic blend of original songs.

Marina grew up in Russia singing and performing the traditional songs of her homeland. She continued singing after migrating to New Zealand. In the last couple of years she discovered songwriting and started collaborating with a local lyricist, Michael Davis and they’ve now penned over 60 songs, many of which have been recorded.

Her debut album When I Am Gone was released in Dec 2016 via New Zealand label Lost By Design. Currently getting a regular airplay on Radio NZ.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Marina Bloom and Moving Stuff

Releases

Back Where We Started
Year: 2019
Type: Album
When I Am Gone
Year: 2018
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Steffany Beck - Single Review: I Have A Dream
13 Jul 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The new track I Have a Dream from Steffany Beck is a wonderfully uplifting song that feels authentic and honest. The mix and overall sound of the track allow for the recording to feel natural and heart-warming.
Read More...
Lauren Gin - EP Review: Supernova
13 Jul 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The EP Supernova from Lauren Gin is subtle and done so elegantly. The opening track Need To Know showcases a more thoughtful and relaxed, almost conversational like vocal that bucks the trend for the big vocal you would typically expect from a track like this.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Beths @ The Powerstation, Auckland - 11/07/2020
12 Jul 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The Beths truly showcased why they are so beloved by so many people. The way Elizabeth Stokes and her band, made up of Jonathan Pearce, Benjamin Sinclair and Tristan Deck, commanded the stage so effortlessly was refreshing.
Read More...
And$um - Album Review: Volume 1
26 Jun 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
And$um's album entitled Volume 1 is a trip through a whole range of ideas and concepts.Armed with an idea, a sound and a vision, And$um takes ownership of his sound and runs with it.
Read More...
Ekko Park - Single Review: All On Eyes On Me
24 Jun 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Wow! Hit repeat.
Read More...
Darryl Baser - EP Review: #SecondSelfie
11 Jun 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The room sound really comes through in the opening track of the new EP, #SecondSelfie, from Darryl Baser. It brings a real sense of honesty to recordings.
Read More...
She Loves You - Single Review: Devout
28 May 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Devout is the latest single from She Loves You, a 4-piece Auckland-based fast-talking all-action girl group.The track starts off quietly but quickly builds in a dance-rock song in the chorus.
Read More...
Mazbou Q - EP Review: Afroternity
20 May 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The debut EP from Mazbou Q is a powerful statement. Not only musically in the world of the now trap dominated rap and hip-hop scene, but also through the lyrical ideas that make up the 6-tracks of Afroternity.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • ROSES (IMANBEK REMIX)
    SAINt JHN
  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • BREAKING ME
    Topic feat. A7S
  • STUCK WITH U
    Ariana Grande And Justin Bieber
  • ROVER
    S1mba feat. DTG
  • WHAT'S POPPIN'
    Jack Harlow
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem