19 Jan 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Marina Bloom and Moving Stuff - Album Review: Back Where We Started

01 Jan 2020 // A review by Ben Ruegg
Marina Bloom’s newest album, Back Where We Started is a rock solid modern contemporary record.

Starting with the title track, the upbeat pop rock creates an upbeat feel with a catch melody, driving electric guitars and a very catchy chorus.


On the very next track though, the tone changes and this isn’t a bad thing. Greetings From Sydney is a much slower ballad that details a lonesome trip away and wishing you were with that some special. It is evident on tracks like this and many others that Marina is a story teller. It works well, reminding me of a mix between Taylor Swift’s earlier work, some Celine Dion and Shania Twain. This is all down to how ballad heavy the rest of the album is.

Subtle touches like the slide guitar on Lions Fighting In A Church, to the more exotic sounds of Fragile, just to name a few, the music is spot on in capturing every songs story and feel. Marina’s vocals are perfectly performed. The switch between firm delivery to a more airy one on Fragile is an example here. It’s nice to hear so much care out into each piece.

There are so many gems here in this album. Seven Seas, with its wonderful duet harmonies paired with the perfect instrumentation to make it feel like it matches the sailors or large medieval ships. It has an almost Celtic vibe to it.

By track 6, we return to a more upbeat track with Flying. The production on this album is just awesome. Marina should be proud of what she has achieved here. Multiple listens open up a whole lot of things you may have missed on the first listen.

Not Another Ballad turns into what sounds like an Irish jig and yeah, you can definitely imagine people getting wild on this one.

Overall, this is an incredible body of work that also incorporates Marina’s native tongue on a couple of tracks. Special mention to the final track Tri Sestry - Three Sisters as it bought an emotive electronic sound to the album. I really felt that one. I just love how diverse she is both vocally and musically.

Bravo Marina. I respect your passion and dedication to song writing. Your care and thought is truly reflected here.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Marina Bloom and Moving Stuff

Marina Bloom and her band Moving Stuff are an experienced group of musicians of diverse backgrounds playing an eclectic blend of original songs.

Marina grew up in Russia singing and performing the traditional songs of her homeland. She continued singing after migrating to New Zealand. In the last couple of years she discovered songwriting and started collaborating with a local lyricist, Michael Davis and they’ve now penned over 60 songs, many of which have been recorded.

Her debut album When I Am Gone was released in Dec 2016 via New Zealand label Lost By Design. Currently getting a regular airplay on Radio NZ.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Marina Bloom and Moving Stuff

Releases

Back Where We Started
Year: 2019
Type: Album
When I Am Gone
Year: 2018
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Ignatia : Rising - Single Review: Don’t Know For Sure
12 Jan 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Ignatia : Rising are a 4-piece, occasional more piece, pop/rock group who crafted their style in the Wild West (Auckland, NZ) party and club circuit in the mid 90's. Their newest track, Don't Know For Sure brings about a sense of nostalgia.
Read More...
Gig Review: Th' Dudes @ Town Hall, Auckland - 19/11/2020
21 Nov 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Arriving at the Auckland Town Hall and subsequently finding parking was a lot easier than I had anticipated. The town seems very quiet at around 7:30 pm, although there is a large gathering of people around the Town Hall, an indication that something big is happening.
Read More...
Boy Virgo - Single Review: Psycho
15 Nov 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Here is a track that takes what you think you know about genres of music and says, "Nope, you are wrong". On the new track Psycho from Boy Virgo, I think this is the one thing I really enjoyed.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Jordan Luck Band @ Pukekohe Cosmopolitan Club, Pukekohe - 6/11/2020
08 Nov 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
It’s a Friday night in Pukekohe and as I walk into the Pukekohe Cosmopolitan Club just before 8 pm you can feel the anticipation in the air. Looking like a high school ball, there is a large dance floor in front of the stage while the rest of the venue is lined vertically with tables.
Read More...
Krispy & The Pooch - EP Review Drop The Needle
06 Nov 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Wow. Krispy & The Pooch have quite the EP here.
Read More...
And$um - EP Review: Late Nights
29 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
And$um has returned with a new EP. Made up of six tracks, this is yet another collection of songs that demonstrate the sound Sam brings to this project.
Read More...
Gig Review: BENEE @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 16/10/2020
17 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
As I got to Spark Arena for the first time since February this year, I couldn't help but notice how many families were there with smiling kids, and parents alike, all waiting for doors to open. BENEE has become quite a superstar over this past year which has been awesome to see.
Read More...
theajsound - Single Review: Sorrow
12 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Auckland based Indian born singer and songwriter theajsound (AKA AJ) has released a string of singles this year which have amassed hundreds of thousands stream on Spotify, and his latest, Sorrow is a catchy new tune that instantly catches your ear.The guitar sound is clean and an instant classic.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DRIVERS LICENSE
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • WHY OH WHY
    L.A.B.
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • CONTROLLER
    L.A.B.
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • GOOD DAYS
    SZA
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. iann dior
  • NOT MY NEIGHBOUR
    Niko Walters
  • ANYONE
    Justin Bieber
  • SUNDOWN
    Six60
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem