30 Jul 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Marina Bloom and Moving Stuff - Album Review: Back Where We Started

01 Jan 2020 // A review by Ben Ruegg
Marina Bloom’s newest album, Back Where We Started is a rock solid modern contemporary record.

Starting with the title track, the upbeat pop rock creates an upbeat feel with a catch melody, driving electric guitars and a very catchy chorus.


On the very next track though, the tone changes and this isn’t a bad thing. Greetings From Sydney is a much slower ballad that details a lonesome trip away and wishing you were with that some special. It is evident on tracks like this and many others that Marina is a story teller. It works well, reminding me of a mix between Taylor Swift’s earlier work, some Celine Dion and Shania Twain. This is all down to how ballad heavy the rest of the album is.

Subtle touches like the slide guitar on Lions Fighting In A Church, to the more exotic sounds of Fragile, just to name a few, the music is spot on in capturing every songs story and feel. Marina’s vocals are perfectly performed. The switch between firm delivery to a more airy one on Fragile is an example here. It’s nice to hear so much care out into each piece.

There are so many gems here in this album. Seven Seas, with its wonderful duet harmonies paired with the perfect instrumentation to make it feel like it matches the sailors or large medieval ships. It has an almost Celtic vibe to it.

By track 6, we return to a more upbeat track with Flying. The production on this album is just awesome. Marina should be proud of what she has achieved here. Multiple listens open up a whole lot of things you may have missed on the first listen.

Not Another Ballad turns into what sounds like an Irish jig and yeah, you can definitely imagine people getting wild on this one.

Overall, this is an incredible body of work that also incorporates Marina’s native tongue on a couple of tracks. Special mention to the final track Tri Sestry - Three Sisters as it bought an emotive electronic sound to the album. I really felt that one. I just love how diverse she is both vocally and musically.

Bravo Marina. I respect your passion and dedication to song writing. Your care and thought is truly reflected here.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Marina Bloom and Moving Stuff

Marina Bloom and her band Moving Stuff are an experienced group of musicians of diverse backgrounds playing an eclectic blend of original songs.

Marina grew up in Russia singing and performing the traditional songs of her homeland. She continued singing after migrating to New Zealand. In the last couple of years she discovered songwriting and started collaborating with a local lyricist, Michael Davis and they’ve now penned over 60 songs, many of which have been recorded.

Her debut album When I Am Gone was released in Dec 2016 via New Zealand label Lost By Design. Currently getting a regular airplay on Radio NZ.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Marina Bloom and Moving Stuff

Releases

Back Where We Started
Year: 2019
Type: Album
When I Am Gone
Year: 2018
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Dilz - Single Review: Resurrection Feat. He Ra
22 Jul 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Dilz is real. He is authentic.
Read More...
Souldrop - EP Review: Gypsy Lizard King
21 Jul 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Kiwi new-wave indie-soul 4-piece Souldrop have released their brand new and much-anticipated EP Gypsy Lizard King via label Meow. Featuring the stunningly smooth singles Cadet and Jive, and new single/ title track Gypsy Lizard King, this latest EP release furthers their reputation as a talented band on the rise.
Read More...
And$um - Single Review: Ride The Wave Feat. Valle
26 Jun 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
I’m a big fan of Hip-Hop - I teach it at school to my students. Hip-Hop is about being real and it has an honest vibe to it.
Read More...
Y$O - Single Review: Cotton Candy
16 Jun 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Tracks like this deserve a good amount of attention. It's funky, groovy and makes you feel good.
Read More...
Y$O - Single Review: M.I.A
23 May 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Combining the forces of artists Sam V, Aidan Fine, JARNA, Brokeboi Ace and producers EDY, CreationKit & M4, Young & $lept On (Y$O) is New Zealand's newest supergroup. This stable of talent is set to disrupt airwaves and social media with their eclectic sense of style, talent and vision - demonstrated by the group's first release M.
Read More...
Ryan Farrell - Single Review: Teenage Dreamer
22 May 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
I love it when these sorts of things happen. At just 18, the new track Teenage Dreamer from Ryan Farrell is another example of a young artist who had a vision for their sound and delivers on it.
Read More...
D.Matthews - Single Review: Melanin Skin
29 Apr 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Melanin Skin is a new single from Auckland-based Nigerian singer-songwriter, D.Matthews (aka David Matthews) who has curated his own brand of energetic calm Afrobeat/Afropop.
Read More...
Silas Futura - EP Review: Pluto
21 Apr 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
The new EP Pluto from Silas Futura feels like a tip of the hat to Hip-Hop, with its roots coming from Jazz and all the breaks that bought together that style.On the opening track Care, the time signature plays games with you but that is fine because you won't really notice.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • BEGGIN'
    Måneskin
  • GOOD 4 U
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • TRAITOR
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • AIN'T S**T
    Doja Cat
  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem