25 Oct 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Jumping The Fucking Shark - EP Review: Jumping The Fucking Shark

31 Dec 2019 // A review by Tony McDonald
Happy New Year everyone, hope you all had a great Christmas. To start the new year off with a bang I had the pleasure of reviewing the debut self-titled EP from Jumping the Fucking Shark. WOW what a name for a band!!


To give you an insight straight away of this in-your-face punk rock band, I would describe them as a cross between Green Day and the Sex Pistols with a bit of Weezer thrown in for good measure. I hope that’s viewed as a compliment.

The track titles are seriously inventive, and a lot of thought has gone into them - for example Track 4 is called The Printer Is Now Called Bob Marley, Coz It's Always Jamming, fantastic!!

My only criticism is the effect on the vocals all the way through disguises Dan’s true voice, and makes it sound like a megaphone. This was recorded in Dan’s garage, so hats off to the them for a job well done.

I'm looking forward to the next release from these Feilding lads - if this EP is anything to go by, it'll be worth keeping an ear out for it!

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Jumping The Fucking Shark

Hailing from Titahi Bay and Feilding Jumping The Fucking Shark are a power pop trio with nothing to say, seriously, like nothing, but what they lack in saying they make some effort in doing, or trying to do, or doing something, who knows what they’re doing - I mean power pop, what the hell is power pop? I'll tell you what it is, it's laziness - pick a genre you dickheads, and while you're at it - Titahi Bay! You are from Wellington!!! Just say Wellington!!! And no one knows where the hell Feilding is, so no one cares about you. So, apparently you are in other bands - Starving Millions, Dimestore Skanks, Instant Death, Churlington, Polaroids of Polarbears and Feildings Best Dancers, and also, still nobody cares - you are two old guys and one young guy who looks like an old guy…”

In summary: Jumping The Fucking Shark are a power pop trio from Wellington and a place no one knows of. The members are from other bands, they’re kinda old and kinda young, but mainly old - give them a hoon, coz no matter what anyone else says, they think they’re awesome.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Jumping The Fucking Shark

Releases

There are no releases to display for Jumping The Fucking Shark.

Other Reviews By Tony McDonald

Gig Review: Devilskin with Shepherds Reign @ San Fran, Wellington - 08/10/2020
11 Oct 2020 // by Tony McDonald
Even during a period of uncertainty in New Zealand with Covid-19, Devilskin and support act Shepherds Reign managed to fill San Francisco Bath House in Wellington. In fact, I have not seen a queue outside on the street for quite some time.
Read More...
Album Review: MudBelly
20 May 2020 // by Tony McDonald
I'm glad we are on lockdown, as its time to really put my speakers to the test and turn them up loud (but not too loud, my health & safety hat is on).MudBelly (what a great name) are fairly new, but this debut album will ensure that they are going to be well-known from now on!
Read More...
Apollo SteamTrain - Single Review: Phone Box of Life
02 Mar 2020 // by Tony McDonald
This upbeat Summer rock song really took me by surprise, and in a very good way.The latest single from Apollo SteamTrain takes the listener on a journey back to the 80’s.
Read More...
Gig Review: Devilskin @ Hunter Lounge, Wellington - 24/10/2019
27 Oct 2019 // by Tony McDonald
24th October @ The Hunter Lounge in Wellington and Black Smoke Trigger emerge to a packed out venue. Flashing lights, smoke, the smell of alcohol and a vocal crowd were there to greet them.
Read More...
Holloway Holiday - Single Review: Here Comes Glitterboy
06 Sep 2019 // by Tony McDonald
When something this powerful, upbeat and energetic comes along you have to stand up and take notice. Holloway Holiday have released a fantastic new single called Here Comes Glitterboy, and it comes complete with funky digital sounds and a mix of real and electronic drums which work amazingly well together.
Read More...
Dead Beat Boys - EP Review: Very Live
14 Jul 2019 // by Tony McDonald
This five-song live punk EP from the Dead Beat Boys is packed with plenty of talent and energy. I was expecting to hear the crowd clapping and screaming, but there is none of that on this EP which was surprising.
Read More...
The Wake Up - Single Review: Pretty Little Caption
10 Apr 2019 // by Tony McDonald
The Wake Up from Palmerston North have just released their latest upbeat single Pretty Little Caption. This follows on from Castle which was another upbeat poppy number.
Read More...
The Diamond Dead - EP Review: Becoming
20 Mar 2019 // by Tony McDonald
Having already reviewed the song and video for Track 1 No Revolution, and absolutely loving everything about it, I jumped at the chance to review this small 3-song EP by The Diamond Dead. In my previous review, I described No Revolution as the female equivalent of Marilyn Manson in song sound and video style, an absolute classic and one you must check out.
Read More...
View All Articles By Tony McDonald

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • HOLY
    Justin Bieber feat. Chance The Rapper
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • WAP
    Cardi B feat. Megan Thee Stallion
  • DREAMS
    Fleetwood Mac
  • WHAT YOU KNOW BOUT LOVE
    Pop Smoke
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • PUT YOUR RECORDS ON
    Ritt Momney
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem