28 Nov 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
  • Articles »
  • Reviews »
  • The Feelers - Gig Review: The Feelers @ Manurewa Cosmopolitan Club, Auckland - 19/12/2019

The Feelers - Gig Review: The Feelers @ Manurewa Cosmopolitan Club, Auckland - 19/12/2019

19 Dec 2019 // A review by Ben Ruegg

The Feelers performed tonight to a small but passionate crowd of fans at the Manurewa Cosmopolitan Club. And I was one of them.

Right from the get-go with Pressure Man, the sound was bold and exciting, yet not so loud it was bad. To me, it was perfect. Pressure Man was the song that really got me into The Feelers while I was at high school, and their album Supersystem was a massive smash that came crashing into our lives. So, to hear Pressure Man played with such precision and force was a nostalgic feeling that was felt by all in attendance. James' voice, seemingly still as beautiful and raspy as ever was a welcome reminder to The Feelers sound.

Crisp guitar, bass, and drums made the overall experience even more enjoyable. While at first, it seemed there was a little monitor trouble for the band, by the very next song, they were away again giving it their all. Each song was perfectly played and done so with enjoyment, the sentiment shared with the lively audience dancing and singing along. It was a true Kiwi affair.

The tour is labelled as 'All The Hits' and they were not wrong. Every song, from Fishing For Lisa, As Good As It Gets, Venus (which was an encore) and my favourite of the night, Supersystem, were all fantastic songs. It wasn't until a little later in the evening that I realised I was watching one of the most important bands in New Zealand music's history performing in a small, but very decent, venue. I felt very honoured, especially with how well everything sounded and how tightly it was performed.

Overall, this was an incredibly well-rehearsed show that wowed those in attendance. Along with James Reid and Hamish Gee as the core members, they were joined by Andy Lynch from Zed and Clinton Harris of OpShop, together there were members from three of NZ's top bands, all professionals and delivering all the hits.

As well as being incredibly humble, signing fans shirts and chatting with us afterward, The Feelers have proven that they are still here and still able to deliver the goods.

An excellent show and I highly recommend you get along to see them if you can.

 

About The Feelers

Schoolboy friends James Reid and Hamish Gee started a legacy that is hard to match. Twentyfive years ago they formed one of our best-loved bands The Feelers and started on a journey that has spawned catalogue of some of the greatest songs written in New Zealand. They truly are a household name.

Along the way they have amassed some remarkable statistics, a quarter of a million albums sold, five multi-platinum albums, five number one albums, seven number one singles, the largest selling NZ band ever signed by Warner Music NZ in their 48 year history, 5 NZ Music Awards, 3 APRA most played song of the year awards and more radio airplay than any other New Zealand artist or band since radio stats began in 1999.

The Feelers have gone from busking on street corners to becoming pioneers of the Kiwi music industry, thanks largely to the song writing genius of James Reid.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The Feelers

Releases

Hope Nature Forgives
Year: 2011
Type: Album
The Best Of '98 - '08
Year: 2008
Type: Album
One World
Year: 2006
Type: Album
Playground Battle
Year: 2003
Type: Album
Communicate
Year: 2001
Type: Album
Supersystem
Year: 1998
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Gig Review: Th' Dudes @ Town Hall, Auckland - 19/11/2020
21 Nov 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Arriving at the Auckland Town Hall and subsequently finding parking was a lot easier than I had anticipated. The town seems very quiet at around 7:30 pm, although there is a large gathering of people around the Town Hall, an indication that something big is happening.
Read More...
Boy Virgo - Single Review: Psycho
15 Nov 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Here is a track that takes what you think you know about genres of music and says, "Nope, you are wrong". On the new track Psycho from Boy Virgo, I think this is the one thing I really enjoyed.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Jordan Luck Band @ Pukekohe Cosmopolitan Club, Pukekohe - 6/11/2020
08 Nov 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
It’s a Friday night in Pukekohe and as I walk into the Pukekohe Cosmopolitan Club just before 8 pm you can feel the anticipation in the air. Looking like a high school ball, there is a large dance floor in front of the stage while the rest of the venue is lined vertically with tables.
Read More...
Krispy & The Pooch - EP Review Drop The Needle
06 Nov 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Wow. Krispy & The Pooch have quite the EP here.
Read More...
And$um - EP Review: Late Nights
29 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
And$um has returned with a new EP. Made up of six tracks, this is yet another collection of songs that demonstrate the sound Sam brings to this project.
Read More...
Gig Review: BENEE @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 16/10/2020
17 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
As I got to Spark Arena for the first time since February this year, I couldn't help but notice how many families were there with smiling kids, and parents alike, all waiting for doors to open. BENEE has become quite a superstar over this past year which has been awesome to see.
Read More...
theajsound - Single Review: Sorrow
12 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Auckland based Indian born singer and songwriter theajsound (AKA AJ) has released a string of singles this year which have amassed hundreds of thousands stream on Spotify, and his latest, Sorrow is a catchy new tune that instantly catches your ear.The guitar sound is clean and an instant classic.
Read More...
Sam V - EP Review: Cruisin'
08 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The new EP from Sam V, bKidd and EDY is a blast. With a few skits interwoven into the EP, the whole package feels well thought out and it sounds great.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THEREFORE I AM
    Billie Eilish
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • POSITIONS
    Ariana Grande
  • HOLY
    Justin Bieber feat. Chance The Rapper
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • FADE AWAY
    Six60
  • WHAT YOU KNOW BOUT LOVE
    Pop Smoke
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem