6 Jul 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
  • Articles »
  • Reviews »
  • The Feelers - Gig Review: The Feelers @ Manurewa Cosmopolitan Club, Auckland - 19/12/2019

The Feelers - Gig Review: The Feelers @ Manurewa Cosmopolitan Club, Auckland - 19/12/2019

19 Dec 2019 // A review by Ben Ruegg

The Feelers performed tonight to a small but passionate crowd of fans at the Manurewa Cosmopolitan Club. And I was one of them.

Right from the get-go with Pressure Man, the sound was bold and exciting, yet not so loud it was bad. To me, it was perfect. Pressure Man was the song that really got me into The Feelers while I was at high school, and their album Supersystem was a massive smash that came crashing into our lives. So, to hear Pressure Man played with such precision and force was a nostalgic feeling that was felt by all in attendance. James' voice, seemingly still as beautiful and raspy as ever was a welcome reminder to The Feelers sound.

Crisp guitar, bass, and drums made the overall experience even more enjoyable. While at first, it seemed there was a little monitor trouble for the band, by the very next song, they were away again giving it their all. Each song was perfectly played and done so with enjoyment, the sentiment shared with the lively audience dancing and singing along. It was a true Kiwi affair.

The tour is labelled as 'All The Hits' and they were not wrong. Every song, from Fishing For Lisa, As Good As It Gets, Venus (which was an encore) and my favourite of the night, Supersystem, were all fantastic songs. It wasn't until a little later in the evening that I realised I was watching one of the most important bands in New Zealand music's history performing in a small, but very decent, venue. I felt very honoured, especially with how well everything sounded and how tightly it was performed.

Overall, this was an incredibly well-rehearsed show that wowed those in attendance. Along with James Reid and Hamish Gee as the core members, they were joined by Andy Lynch from Zed and Clinton Harris of OpShop, together there were members from three of NZ's top bands, all professionals and delivering all the hits.

As well as being incredibly humble, signing fans shirts and chatting with us afterward, The Feelers have proven that they are still here and still able to deliver the goods.

An excellent show and I highly recommend you get along to see them if you can.

 

About The Feelers

Schoolboy friends James Reid and Hamish Gee started a legacy that is hard to match. Twentyfive years ago they formed one of our best-loved bands The Feelers and started on a journey that has spawned catalogue of some of the greatest songs written in New Zealand. They truly are a household name.

Along the way they have amassed some remarkable statistics, a quarter of a million albums sold, five multi-platinum albums, five number one albums, seven number one singles, the largest selling NZ band ever signed by Warner Music NZ in their 48 year history, 5 NZ Music Awards, 3 APRA most played song of the year awards and more radio airplay than any other New Zealand artist or band since radio stats began in 1999.

The Feelers have gone from busking on street corners to becoming pioneers of the Kiwi music industry, thanks largely to the song writing genius of James Reid.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The Feelers

Releases

Hope Nature Forgives
Year: 2011
Type: Album
The Best Of '98 - '08
Year: 2008
Type: Album
One World
Year: 2006
Type: Album
Playground Battle
Year: 2003
Type: Album
Communicate
Year: 2001
Type: Album
Supersystem
Year: 1998
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

And$um - Album Review: Volume 1
26 Jun 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
And$um's album entitled Volume 1 is a trip through a whole range of ideas and concepts.Armed with an idea, a sound and a vision, And$um takes ownership of his sound and runs with it.
Read More...
Ekko Park - Single Review: All On Eyes On Me
24 Jun 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Wow! Hit repeat.
Read More...
Darryl Baser - EP Review: #SecondSelfie
11 Jun 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The room sound really comes through in the opening track of the new EP, #SecondSelfie, from Darryl Baser. It brings a real sense of honesty to recordings.
Read More...
She Loves You - Single Review: Devout
28 May 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Devout is the latest single from She Loves You, a 4-piece Auckland-based fast-talking all-action girl group.The track starts off quietly but quickly builds in a dance-rock song in the chorus.
Read More...
Mazbou Q - EP Review: Afroternity
20 May 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The debut EP from Mazbou Q is a powerful statement. Not only musically in the world of the now trap dominated rap and hip-hop scene, but also through the lyrical ideas that make up the 6-tracks of Afroternity.
Read More...
Outside In - Album Review: Karmatrain
17 May 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The debut release from Outside In is incredible, and it's currently up there as of the greatest debuts from a New Zealand band. Ok, let me explain.
Read More...
Dharma Dan - EP Review: Sotapatti
12 May 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
On the latest release, Sotapatti, from Dharma Dan, the artist finds himself with a set of beats reminiscent of the early New York hip-hop scene. Over the top, Dharma Dan lays down cool, chilled and thoughtful lyrics; "Just a drop of h2o just trying to find its way home to the ocean".
Read More...
Demons of Noon - EP Review: The Summoning
30 Apr 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Doom rock, metal or whatever you want to call it has been a fascination of mine since hearing it on a Guitar Hero game a while ago as a young lad. There was something about that wall of sound guitar and bass sludge sound that was almost hypnotic.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • ROSES (IMANBEK REMIX)
    SAINt JHN
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • STUCK WITH U
    Ariana Grande And Justin Bieber
  • WHAT'S POPPIN'
    Jack Harlow
  • ROVER
    S1mba feat. DTG
  • BREAKING ME
    Topic feat. A7S
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem