24 Jun 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
  • Articles »
  • Reviews »
  • The Feelers - Gig Review: The Feelers @ Manurewa Cosmopolitan Club, Auckland - 19/12/2019

The Feelers - Gig Review: The Feelers @ Manurewa Cosmopolitan Club, Auckland - 19/12/2019

19 Dec 2019 // A review by Ben Ruegg

The Feelers performed tonight to a small but passionate crowd of fans at the Manurewa Cosmopolitan Club. And I was one of them.

Right from the get-go with Pressure Man, the sound was bold and exciting, yet not so loud it was bad. To me, it was perfect. Pressure Man was the song that really got me into The Feelers while I was at high school, and their album Supersystem was a massive smash that came crashing into our lives. So, to hear Pressure Man played with such precision and force was a nostalgic feeling that was felt by all in attendance. James' voice, seemingly still as beautiful and raspy as ever was a welcome reminder to The Feelers sound.

Crisp guitar, bass, and drums made the overall experience even more enjoyable. While at first, it seemed there was a little monitor trouble for the band, by the very next song, they were away again giving it their all. Each song was perfectly played and done so with enjoyment, the sentiment shared with the lively audience dancing and singing along. It was a true Kiwi affair.

The tour is labelled as 'All The Hits' and they were not wrong. Every song, from Fishing For Lisa, As Good As It Gets, Venus (which was an encore) and my favourite of the night, Supersystem, were all fantastic songs. It wasn't until a little later in the evening that I realised I was watching one of the most important bands in New Zealand music's history performing in a small, but very decent, venue. I felt very honoured, especially with how well everything sounded and how tightly it was performed.

Overall, this was an incredibly well-rehearsed show that wowed those in attendance. Along with James Reid and Hamish Gee as the core members, they were joined by Andy Lynch from Zed and Clinton Harris of OpShop, together there were members from three of NZ's top bands, all professionals and delivering all the hits.

As well as being incredibly humble, signing fans shirts and chatting with us afterward, The Feelers have proven that they are still here and still able to deliver the goods.

An excellent show and I highly recommend you get along to see them if you can.

 

About The Feelers

Schoolboy friends James Reid and Hamish Gee started a legacy that is hard to match. Twentyfive years ago they formed one of our best-loved bands The Feelers and started on a journey that has spawned catalogue of some of the greatest songs written in New Zealand. They truly are a household name.

Along the way they have amassed some remarkable statistics, a quarter of a million albums sold, five multi-platinum albums, five number one albums, seven number one singles, the largest selling NZ band ever signed by Warner Music NZ in their 48 year history, 5 NZ Music Awards, 3 APRA most played song of the year awards and more radio airplay than any other New Zealand artist or band since radio stats began in 1999.

The Feelers have gone from busking on street corners to becoming pioneers of the Kiwi music industry, thanks largely to the song writing genius of James Reid.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The Feelers

Releases

Hope Nature Forgives
Year: 2011
Type: Album
The Best Of '98 - '08
Year: 2008
Type: Album
One World
Year: 2006
Type: Album
Playground Battle
Year: 2003
Type: Album
Communicate
Year: 2001
Type: Album
Supersystem
Year: 1998
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Y$O - Single Review: Cotton Candy
16 Jun 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Tracks like this deserve a good amount of attention. It's funky, groovy and makes you feel good.
Read More...
Y$O - Single Review: M.I.A
23 May 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Combining the forces of artists Sam V, Aidan Fine, JARNA, Brokeboi Ace and producers EDY, CreationKit & M4, Young & $lept On (Y$O) is New Zealand's newest supergroup. This stable of talent is set to disrupt airwaves and social media with their eclectic sense of style, talent and vision - demonstrated by the group's first release M.
Read More...
Ryan Farrell - Single Review: Teenage Dreamer
22 May 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
I love it when these sorts of things happen. At just 18, the new track Teenage Dreamer from Ryan Farrell is another example of a young artist who had a vision for their sound and delivers on it.
Read More...
D.Matthews - Single Review: Melanin Skin
29 Apr 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Melanin Skin is a new single from Auckland-based Nigerian singer-songwriter, D.Matthews (aka David Matthews) who has curated his own brand of energetic calm Afrobeat/Afropop.
Read More...
Silas Futura - EP Review: Pluto
21 Apr 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
The new EP Pluto from Silas Futura feels like a tip of the hat to Hip-Hop, with its roots coming from Jazz and all the breaks that bought together that style.On the opening track Care, the time signature plays games with you but that is fine because you won't really notice.
Read More...
Album Review: Hawkins
21 Apr 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Yep. I knew that voice immediately.
Read More...
Alders - Single Review: Hounds
23 Mar 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
The new track from Alders, Hounds, is quite a fun time alright! With a feel that seems inspired by the likes of Smash Mouth's Astro Lounge, The Dandy Warhols and 60's psychedelic pop-rock.
Read More...
Aidan Fine - Single Review: CLV
21 Mar 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Quick fire rapid lyrics. That’s what I like here.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GOOD 4 U
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • SOLAR POWER
    Lorde
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • DEJA VU
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • TRAITOR
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • BODY (REMIX)
    Russ Millions x Tion Wayne
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • FAVORITE CRIME
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem