18 Feb 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
  • Articles »
  • Reviews »
  • The Feelers - Gig Review: The Feelers @ Manurewa Cosmopolitan Club, Auckland - 19/12/2019

The Feelers - Gig Review: The Feelers @ Manurewa Cosmopolitan Club, Auckland - 19/12/2019

19 Dec 2019 // A review by Ben Ruegg

The Feelers performed tonight to a small but passionate crowd of fans at the Manurewa Cosmopolitan Club. And I was one of them.

Right from the get-go with Pressure Man, the sound was bold and exciting, yet not so loud it was bad. To me, it was perfect. Pressure Man was the song that really got me into The Feelers while I was at high school, and their album Supersystem was a massive smash that came crashing into our lives. So, to hear Pressure Man played with such precision and force was a nostalgic feeling that was felt by all in attendance. James' voice, seemingly still as beautiful and raspy as ever was a welcome reminder to The Feelers sound.

Crisp guitar, bass, and drums made the overall experience even more enjoyable. While at first, it seemed there was a little monitor trouble for the band, by the very next song, they were away again giving it their all. Each song was perfectly played and done so with enjoyment, the sentiment shared with the lively audience dancing and singing along. It was a true Kiwi affair.

The tour is labelled as 'All The Hits' and they were not wrong. Every song, from Fishing For Lisa, As Good As It Gets, Venus (which was an encore) and my favourite of the night, Supersystem, were all fantastic songs. It wasn't until a little later in the evening that I realised I was watching one of the most important bands in New Zealand music's history performing in a small, but very decent, venue. I felt very honoured, especially with how well everything sounded and how tightly it was performed.

Overall, this was an incredibly well-rehearsed show that wowed those in attendance. Along with James Reid and Hamish Gee as the core members, they were joined by Andy Lynch from Zed and Clinton Harris of OpShop, together there were members from three of NZ's top bands, all professionals and delivering all the hits.

As well as being incredibly humble, signing fans shirts and chatting with us afterward, The Feelers have proven that they are still here and still able to deliver the goods.

An excellent show and I highly recommend you get along to see them if you can.

 

About The Feelers

Schoolboy friends James Reid and Hamish Gee started a legacy that is hard to match. Twentyfive years ago they formed one of our best-loved bands The Feelers and started on a journey that has spawned catalogue of some of the greatest songs written in New Zealand. They truly are a household name.

Along the way they have amassed some remarkable statistics, a quarter of a million albums sold, five multi-platinum albums, five number one albums, seven number one singles, the largest selling NZ band ever signed by Warner Music NZ in their 48 year history, 5 NZ Music Awards, 3 APRA most played song of the year awards and more radio airplay than any other New Zealand artist or band since radio stats began in 1999.

The Feelers have gone from busking on street corners to becoming pioneers of the Kiwi music industry, thanks largely to the song writing genius of James Reid.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The Feelers

Releases

Hope Nature Forgives
Year: 2011
Type: Album
The Best Of '98 - '08
Year: 2008
Type: Album
One World
Year: 2006
Type: Album
Playground Battle
Year: 2003
Type: Album
Communicate
Year: 2001
Type: Album
Supersystem
Year: 1998
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

And$um - Single Review: Look At Me
10 Feb 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The beginning of Look At Me confused me at first. The vocal delivery seemed dull and with low energy, but by the time the raps kick in, it has definitely picked up and raised the level.
Read More...
Sam V - Single Review: Shawty
10 Feb 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The production is very slick on Shawty, the new track from Sam V. The vibe and the melodic idea captures you right from the get-go; and there's a real middle eastern vibe to it.
Read More...
Robbie Scott - Single Review: Gaze
10 Feb 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
One of the most inspiring things about songwriting is it allows for the listener to hear into the world of another artist. Such is the experience of new song Gaze from Robbie Scott.
Read More...
Tony Lee - Single Review: Man On Mars
24 Jan 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Man On Mars is the latest single from Tony Lee.A mix between a sort of country vibe and rock, this song is well written, recorded and arranged.
Read More...
Fat Freddy's Drop @ Western Springs, Auckland - 18/01/2020
24 Jan 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
If you haven't seen Fat Freddy's Drop before, like I had not, you need to get out and see them.Walking around the crowd it was awesome to see so many parents bring their kids along to it.
Read More...
Saurian - Single Review: Tyre Tracks In The Sky
01 Jan 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
“You left this world with tyre tracks in the sky.” The new single from Saurian opens with this line and it sets the tone for the song, a story about living life with no regrets.
Read More...
EP Review: Lizard Prom
01 Jan 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Lizard Prom is visceral. Really.
Read More...
Marina Bloom and Moving Stuff - Album Review: Back Where We Started
01 Jan 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Marina Bloom’s newest album, Back Where We Started is a rock solid modern contemporary record.Starting with the title track, the upbeat pop rock creates an upbeat feel with a catch melody, driving electric guitars and a very catchy chorus.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THE BOX
    Roddy Ricch
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • DON'T START NOW
    Dua Lipa
  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • GLITTER
    BENEE
  • YUMMY
    Justin Bieber
  • INTENTIONS
    Justin Bieber feat. Quavo
  • BEFORE YOU GO
    Lewis Capaldi
  • GODZILLA
    Eminem feat. Juice WRLD
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem