20 Oct 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Scizzorhands - EP Review: The Introduction

18 Dec 2019 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Fresh. Like music to my ears (hold on a second. It is music to my ears!), Scizzorhands' newest EP The Introduction gives lets me hit refresh on my love of hip-hop. Let me explain.

When I read the bio of Scizzorhands (Elton Noyer), he states Mix Master Mike and others as influences, and to me, it feels like Scizzorhands has done a fantastic job of bringing that feel and style of the mix master while still remaining fresh and new. In the super deep and wide ocean that is modern rap and hip-hop, it's so damn good to hear people still push turntablism over trap beats. Don't mince my words, of course, I have love for all. But I seldom get to hear this sort of hip-hop coming out nowadays.

Teaming up with a wide range of different wordsmiths, this EP takes everything I love about groups like Jurassic 5, Beastie Boys and early Dr Dre and makes a statement about the current state of hip. From the guitar sample driven Money In, Money Out, with a killer performance from Diggy Dupe, it has a kid of Method Man vibe to it.

Mo' Styles changes it up with Sabe, a funkier feel and more melodic. Every MC on this EP is solid and has so much feel. It's authentic and real.

The single Let Go is a true stand out. With the strong recognizable voice of Unchained XL at the beginning, it sets the tone from the get-go. It's a wonderful song about finding peace and letting go of things that hold us back. It is one of the more fluid tracks where the structure is all over the place, but that again is refreshing. The middle section has Scizzorhands showing off his scratching skills a little more.

It's obvious that Scizzorhands has a true knack for old school hip-hop. I recommend that you give this EP a spin. A lot of talent is showcased here.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Scizzorhands

Hailing from West Auckland, Scizzorhands is a world class turntablist who is always improving on skill and knowledge, bringing a variety of music in a hip-hop way.

From a young age, he was influenced by his grandparents and family who introduced him to music in the form of a drum kit at age 11.

Aged 17, Scizzorhands invested in his first set of turntables. Being heavily influenced by the likes of Mix Master Mike (Beastie Boys), DJ Rectangle and New Zealand’s own P-Money, he started down the path of becoming a turntablist DJ. Self-taught, Scizzorhands upskilled his scratching under the tutelage of New Zealand’s 2003 DMC World Champion DJ CXL.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Scizzorhands

Releases

The Introduction
Year: 2019
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Gig Review: BENEE @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 16/10/2020
17 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
As I got to Spark Arena for the first time since February this year, I couldn't help but notice how many families were there with smiling kids, and parents alike, all waiting for doors to open. BENEE has become quite a superstar over this past year which has been awesome to see.
Read More...
theajsound - Single Review: Sorrow
12 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Auckland based Indian born singer and songwriter theajsound (AKA AJ) has released a string of singles this year which have amassed hundreds of thousands stream on Spotify, and his latest, Sorrow is a catchy new tune that instantly catches your ear.The guitar sound is clean and an instant classic.
Read More...
Sam V - EP Review: Cruisin'
08 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The new EP from Sam V, bKidd and EDY is a blast. With a few skits interwoven into the EP, the whole package feels well thought out and it sounds great.
Read More...
An Electric Heart - Album Review: Otiose Me
06 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
As you press play, the prologue hits you hard and it is obvious that Luke Pell, known as An Electric Heart, has a great understanding on sonics and dynamics on his new album Otiose Me.Luke Pell describes the An Electric Heart sound as 'alternative pop'.
Read More...
Matt Bizzle - Single Review: Just Let Me Know with Kevin Posey Feat. Lily Jackson
05 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The reggaeton beat has been quite the staple in music trends for some time now, and with the new track Just Let Me Know from Matt Bizzle, it isn't the main feature. Instead, it is used in the right places to give this track a different vibe at the exact moment it is needed.
Read More...
Lester - Single Review: Sometimes Feat. Aunty Rae
29 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
On Lester's latest track Sometimes, featuring Aunty Rae, the New Zealand Hip-Hop artist turns his focus inward and discusses the things that we miss when we are away from home; which in his case is a list of memories that make home what it is. And yet, the real meaning of home is blurred and put to question.
Read More...
The RVMES - Single Review: Big Bam Boom
14 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The RVMES newest track Big Bam Boom is a good time that deserves your attention.The rawness and realness of this track cannot be denied.
Read More...
Troy Kingi - Album Review: The Ghost of Freddie Cesar
10 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Genius. Honestly.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • HOLY
    Justin Bieber feat. Chance The Rapper
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • WAP
    Cardi B feat. Megan Thee Stallion
  • DREAMS
    Fleetwood Mac
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • WHAT YOU KNOW BOUT LOVE
    Pop Smoke
  • PUT YOUR RECORDS ON
    Ritt Momney
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem