27 Sep 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Iveta & Simone - Single Review: Weeping

07 Dec 2019 // A review by Darryl Baser

Dueling divas Iveta & Simone have dropped the single Weeping, and it’s a power ballad with production values and a sense of drama which could make Jim Steinman or a drag queen blush.

If production values were shoes, this tune would be an 8“ sparkly pink platform stiletto.

Right from the opening bars of synth strings and programmed drums, it’s a 1980‘s inspired sound. In proper pop structure, it hits the chorus at 40 seconds in.

Lyrically it’s a story about a man not being faithful, leaving his woman ‘weeping’, and it follows a pretty linear narrative, the singers suspect male is unfaithful, find evidence, and then are Weeping. The second and third verses follow suit, as does the middle 8, ‘if she kiss your lips?, know it kills my heart, if you promise love, just from the start…’ and so on.

To be honest, I’d like to hear an acoustic version of the song.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Iveta & Simone

New Zealand’s Iveta & Simone Announce New Single, L.O.V.E. Catchy new age single slated to be a summer smash.

On the rise female vocalist duo Iveta & Simone have just announced the upcoming release of their highly anticipated new single, L.O.V.E.

The new single infuses Iveta & Simone’s signature artistry and vocals as only the duo can. They have released other tracks to great success, including the singles Sunshine and More Than A Man. The song L.O.V.E. also integrates their fusion of new age, contemporary, and alternative rock genres into a single, meaningful, and intoxicating sound that captivates audiences.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Iveta & Simone

Releases

There are no releases to display for Iveta & Simone.

Other Reviews By Darryl Baser

Andrew Masseurs - EP Review: She’s So Nasty
19 Sep 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Well, being either a PC softy or a bit of a feminist, I didn’t warm to the title track She’s So Nasty, but being a professional I opened my ears and had a listen to Andrew Masseurs’ new EP. And I’m glad I did.
Read More...
Bingo Fighter - Single Review: Kama Sutra
03 Sep 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Well, as bloody obvious things to write go, music is in the entertainment industry should be fun and entertaining. With that premise in mind, Bingo Fighter go to the top of the class with their new single Kama Sutra.
Read More...
Stars and the Underground - Single Review: Nosferatu Upon Tyne
22 Aug 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Being an OG (old goth or original goth) from the 1980's I love me a bit of goth. Stars and the Underground are a nice bit of goth who have just released a 7" single.
Read More...
Marlin's Dreaming - Album Review: Quotidian
21 Aug 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Having been a reviewer of life and recorded music since the late 1980's, it is a rare and wonderful feeling to discover a band from my hometown who I haven’t heard of, until they drop a recording that takes my head clean off. Dunedin band Marlin’s Dreaming have released Quotidian, and are about to (Covid willing) head off on a NZ tour in late September and early October.
Read More...
Grant Duncan - Album Review: Contemplate
07 Aug 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Grant Duncan is a well-seasoned singer-songwriter based in Auckland, New Zealand, who’s just released his new 12 song album, Contemplate. The album is available on Duncan’s Bandcamp page as is the modern way of doing things.
Read More...
A Straw Assembly - Album Review: A Little More Life
28 Jul 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Right the get go this isn’t an album for the musically faint-hearted. The opening song A Saint Is Divided builds gently and beautifully into a maelstrom.
Read More...
Gig Review: Nadia Reid @ Grainstore Gallery, Oamaru - 24/07/2020
25 Jul 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Flora Knight is first up, beginning with saying "Hi, I'm not Nadia". Her solo set on fiddle and singing begins with an Appalachian mountain tune about Bow weevils destroying crops, it’s a classic piece of mountain music, and a great way to open her set.
Read More...
Phil and Lana Doublet - Album Review: Play Nice
12 Jul 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Multi award winning Christchurch based musicians Phil and Lana Doublet have teamed up to write, record, and release the stunning album Play Nice. The pair wrote all but one of the songs on the album.
Read More...
View All Articles By Darryl Baser

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • WAP
    Cardi B feat. Megan Thee Stallion
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • HOLY
    Justin Bieber feat. Chance The Rapper
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • MOOD SWINGS
    Pop Smoke feat. Lil Tjay
  • LAUGH NOW CRY LATER
    Drake feat. Lil Durk
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem