27 Jan 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Grace Duncan - Single Review: Come, We Must Go

03 Dec 2019 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Grace Duncan's new track Come, We Must Go takes sounds from our lands and combines them into a cinematic experience that breathes with dynamics, taking us on a journey that begs to heard again. Te Reo is interwoven into the track, and transitions between languages is smooth and seamless.

What is so fantastic about this piece is the cinematic element I piece. For example, the elegant intro is built around swelling strings and traditional Maori instruments. It feels like you are in the forest, our wonderful lush landscapes slowly opening up. The song explores the ideas around being a Pakeha and with it the history of our European around colonisation. It is an uncomfortable truth that myself included have to deal with. Yet, it is done with elegance. Having recently completed a Bachelor of Commercial Music at Massey University, Grace has bought everything she can to develop this idea and allow it to feel emotive and authentic. Her vocals feel and sound real, hints of Brooke Fraser and some of Coldplay's later sound are evident, which aligns with Grace's inspirations and influences growing up.

Overall, this is a fantastic piece of music that takes an idea and explorers it emotionally. The subject matter is something I know people think about. I know I do, since I was born in England and moved here in 1987. The way the music tells the story and brings it to life is a testament to Grace's ability to use music to give her lyrics such an emotional impact.

Well worth checking out and enjoying with headphones.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Grace Duncan

Raised in the heart of Te Matau-a-Maui (Hawkes Bay), and living in Te Whanganui-a-Tara (Wellington), singer-songwriter and composer Grace Duncan offers her journey piecing together thoughts on mental and emotional strength around purpose and identity through her beckoning voice, and reflective and challenging lyrics. Expansive swelling strings and calming acoustic guitar melodies lay open a space for honesty and vulnerability as Grace explores these concepts, as well as a more personal aspect, the beginning of embracing her role as a Pakeha in Aotearoa (New Zealand). Writing from a young age and learning violin and guitar throughout her schooling, she was quick to explore melodies and harmonies as they fell into her lap, with childhood inspirations such as Brooke Fraser, Coldplay, Eric Whitacre and Dido. Nowadays her influences also include the likes of Billie Marten, Avalanche City, The Last Bison and Novo Amor.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Grace Duncan

Releases

There are no releases to display for Grace Duncan.

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Mema Wilda - Single Review: How I Long
21 Jan 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Mema Wilda's newest track How I Long starts off with a simple acoustic guitar and vocal, but it's quick to showcase a track full of plenty of goodness. It's the type of song I would want to hear on modern pop radio; it's catchy and you can easily sing-a-long to it.
Read More...
Ignatia : Rising - Single Review: Don’t Know For Sure
12 Jan 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Ignatia : Rising are a 4-piece, occasional more piece, pop/rock group who crafted their style in the Wild West (Auckland, NZ) party and club circuit in the mid 90's. Their newest track, Don't Know For Sure brings about a sense of nostalgia.
Read More...
Gig Review: Th' Dudes @ Town Hall, Auckland - 19/11/2020
21 Nov 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Arriving at the Auckland Town Hall and subsequently finding parking was a lot easier than I had anticipated. The town seems very quiet at around 7:30 pm, although there is a large gathering of people around the Town Hall, an indication that something big is happening.
Read More...
Boy Virgo - Single Review: Psycho
15 Nov 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Here is a track that takes what you think you know about genres of music and says, "Nope, you are wrong". On the new track Psycho from Boy Virgo, I think this is the one thing I really enjoyed.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Jordan Luck Band @ Pukekohe Cosmopolitan Club, Pukekohe - 6/11/2020
08 Nov 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
It’s a Friday night in Pukekohe and as I walk into the Pukekohe Cosmopolitan Club just before 8 pm you can feel the anticipation in the air. Looking like a high school ball, there is a large dance floor in front of the stage while the rest of the venue is lined vertically with tables.
Read More...
Krispy & The Pooch - EP Review Drop The Needle
06 Nov 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Wow. Krispy & The Pooch have quite the EP here.
Read More...
And$um - EP Review: Late Nights
29 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
And$um has returned with a new EP. Made up of six tracks, this is yet another collection of songs that demonstrate the sound Sam brings to this project.
Read More...
Gig Review: BENEE @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 16/10/2020
17 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
As I got to Spark Arena for the first time since February this year, I couldn't help but notice how many families were there with smiling kids, and parents alike, all waiting for doors to open. BENEE has become quite a superstar over this past year which has been awesome to see.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DRIVERS LICENSE
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • WHY OH WHY
    L.A.B.
  • 34+35
    Ariana Grande
  • GOOD DAYS
    SZA
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • CONTROLLER
    L.A.B.
  • NOT MY NEIGHBOUR
    Niko Walters
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. iann dior
  • ANYONE
    Justin Bieber
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem