28 Sep 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Grace Duncan - Single Review: Come, We Must Go

03 Dec 2019 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Grace Duncan's new track Come, We Must Go takes sounds from our lands and combines them into a cinematic experience that breathes with dynamics, taking us on a journey that begs to heard again. Te Reo is interwoven into the track, and transitions between languages is smooth and seamless.

What is so fantastic about this piece is the cinematic element I piece. For example, the elegant intro is built around swelling strings and traditional Maori instruments. It feels like you are in the forest, our wonderful lush landscapes slowly opening up. The song explores the ideas around being a Pakeha and with it the history of our European around colonisation. It is an uncomfortable truth that myself included have to deal with. Yet, it is done with elegance. Having recently completed a Bachelor of Commercial Music at Massey University, Grace has bought everything she can to develop this idea and allow it to feel emotive and authentic. Her vocals feel and sound real, hints of Brooke Fraser and some of Coldplay's later sound are evident, which aligns with Grace's inspirations and influences growing up.

Overall, this is a fantastic piece of music that takes an idea and explorers it emotionally. The subject matter is something I know people think about. I know I do, since I was born in England and moved here in 1987. The way the music tells the story and brings it to life is a testament to Grace's ability to use music to give her lyrics such an emotional impact.

Well worth checking out and enjoying with headphones.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Grace Duncan

Raised in the heart of Te Matau-a-Maui (Hawkes Bay), and living in Te Whanganui-a-Tara (Wellington), singer-songwriter and composer Grace Duncan offers her journey piecing together thoughts on mental and emotional strength around purpose and identity through her beckoning voice, and reflective and challenging lyrics. Expansive swelling strings and calming acoustic guitar melodies lay open a space for honesty and vulnerability as Grace explores these concepts, as well as a more personal aspect, the beginning of embracing her role as a Pakeha in Aotearoa (New Zealand). Writing from a young age and learning violin and guitar throughout her schooling, she was quick to explore melodies and harmonies as they fell into her lap, with childhood inspirations such as Brooke Fraser, Coldplay, Eric Whitacre and Dido. Nowadays her influences also include the likes of Billie Marten, Avalanche City, The Last Bison and Novo Amor.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Grace Duncan

Releases

There are no releases to display for Grace Duncan.

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

The RVMES - Single Review: Big Bam Boom
14 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The RVMES newest track Big Bam Boom is a good time that deserves your attention.The rawness and realness of this track cannot be denied.
Read More...
Troy Kingi - Album Review: The Ghost of Freddie Cesar
10 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Genius. Honestly.
Read More...
Dub Boys - EP Review: Fortune Favours The Bold
10 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The newest EP from the Dub Boys is fantastic. As someone who appreciates all styles of music, Hip-Hop continues to be one I stay fascinated with due to the current climate and success of certain artists.
Read More...
The Settlers - Single Review: Love
06 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Driven by a catchy guitar loop and backed up with a beat that ebbs and flows, the new track Love from The Settlers really puts its focus on its lyrics and delivery.Keeping the vocal effects to the minimum here allows the verses to sound authentic and real.
Read More...
Ekko Park - Album Review: Horizon
24 Aug 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The latest album from Ekko Park is an absolute blast of a time to listen to from beginning to end.All Eyes On Me sets the scene by just giving it everything.
Read More...
Investigator - Single Review: Bad Luck Shoebox
17 Aug 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Classic rock vibes crossed with modern rock sound drives this new track from Investigator. Driven by Adrian Drew, Investigator has a sound that is clear and defined and Bad Luck Shoebox adds another track to an ever-growing catalogue that showcases his ideas and sounds that make up Investigator.
Read More...
Will McClean - Album Review: Can't Sleep I'm Dreaming
07 Aug 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The new album from Will McClean takes a lot of well-produced beats and combines them with his flow and lyrics. It's a smooth ride most of the time as is demonstrated in the opening track Front Desk featuring JClean.
Read More...
TheOpHilus - Single Review: My Little Rugrat
02 Aug 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Authentic and real; that’s the best way to describe the new track My Little Rugrat from TheOpHilus. True Hip-Hop has always been, in my mind, sampling and talking about how things are where you are right now.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • WAP
    Cardi B feat. Megan Thee Stallion
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • HOLY
    Justin Bieber feat. Chance The Rapper
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • MOOD SWINGS
    Pop Smoke feat. Lil Tjay
  • LAUGH NOW CRY LATER
    Drake feat. Lil Durk
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem