26 Feb 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Young Gho$t - Single Review: Weed In My Lungs

29 Nov 2019 // A review by Ben Ruegg

"I got this weed in my lungs. I got this weed in my lungs. Smoking a nugget as big as my thumb."


You see, rap music is an interesting art form. What drew me to it was the story telling, the real talk. And over the years, many years, hip-hop and rap has transformed and become a global phenomenon, so much so that popular music stations would most likely have the majority of its playlist as hip-hop or a sub-genre of.

And then we get artists like Young Gho$t. Artists who take on a character or persona and shouldn’t be taken too seriously.

Weed In My Lungs shouldn’t just be dismissed. For the uninitiated, some may very well turn it off right away. But did you listen to the production? Did you hear how the music makes you feel uneasy, like your tripping. "I got this weed in my lungs". If you know anything about it, you’ll know some people get bad trips. When I hear this song, it’s well produced. Vocals are recorded well and placed in the mix to sound uneasy. Lyrically, it’s about having some strong as weed. Well that’s what I take from the chorus. The verses are like a retelling of some crazy shit that happened when high. I assume that’s the point.

Overall, it’s a grimy sounding trap/rap song with some killer flow and excellent production.

Well worth checking out if you are interested in rap and hip-hop.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Young Gho$t

Young Gho$t (real name Casper) is one of the many underground rappers coming out of New Zealand today. Born in London, based in Wellington, he has been rapping and making music for over 7 years. Diverse in its genre pallet, Gho$t's music is characterised by smooth flows, inventive lyricism and wholesome vibes. You can find him going fast over grimey trap beats, or riding it out to some bouncy old school hip hop, steering the lens through his lyrical perspective.

A member of up and coming Wellington crew NVRSFT, Young Gho$t regularly collaborates with its founder, dark trap mogul Chronic Shnxman, and the two have been making waves recently, leading to opening slots for internationally acclaimed artists such as Shakewell, Ramirez, Mr Traumatik and Bladee.

He has released one full length album called Session Muzik in 2019, as well as numerous EPs, with a further project due before 2020.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Young Gho$t

Releases

There are no releases to display for Young Gho$t.

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

The Settlers - Single Review: Swimming
25 Feb 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
New Zealand hip-hop is a thriving collection of artists who bring who we are and present it in musical form. The latest track Swimming from The Settlers is a fine example of what NZ can do.
Read More...
Gig Review: Six60 @ Western Springs, Auckland - 22/02/2020
24 Feb 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
"We are the mighty, mighty Six60", proclaims Maitu Walters, lead singer of Six60. And he is in right to say so.
Read More...
Domes - Single Review: Time and Relative Dimension in Space
22 Feb 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Domes newest release, Time And Relative Dimension in Space, is an incredibly deep track that offers so much to the listener. It interweaves soaring melodies and harmonies into what you would be forgiven in thinking was a thrash metal song from the explosive introduction.
Read More...
And$um - Single Review: Look At Me
10 Feb 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The beginning of Look At Me confused me at first. The vocal delivery seemed dull and with low energy, but by the time the raps kick in, it has definitely picked up and raised the level.
Read More...
Sam V - Single Review: Shawty
10 Feb 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The production is very slick on Shawty, the new track from Sam V. The vibe and the melodic idea captures you right from the get-go; and there's a real middle eastern vibe to it.
Read More...
Robbie Scott - Single Review: Gaze
10 Feb 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
One of the most inspiring things about songwriting is it allows for the listener to hear into the world of another artist. Such is the experience of new song Gaze from Robbie Scott.
Read More...
Tony Lee - Single Review: Man On Mars
24 Jan 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Man On Mars is the latest single from Tony Lee.A mix between a sort of country vibe and rock, this song is well written, recorded and arranged.
Read More...
Fat Freddy's Drop @ Western Springs, Auckland - 18/01/2020
24 Jan 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
If you haven't seen Fat Freddy's Drop before, like I had not, you need to get out and see them.Walking around the crowd it was awesome to see so many parents bring their kids along to it.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • INTENTIONS
    Justin Bieber feat. Quavo
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • THE BOX
    Roddy Ricch
  • YUMMY
    Justin Bieber
  • DON'T START NOW
    Dua Lipa
  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • GLITTER
    BENEE
  • NO TIME TO DIE
    Billie Eilish
  • BEFORE YOU GO
    Lewis Capaldi
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem