24 Jan 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Young Gho$t - Single Review: Weed In My Lungs

29 Nov 2019 // A review by Ben Ruegg

"I got this weed in my lungs. I got this weed in my lungs. Smoking a nugget as big as my thumb."


You see, rap music is an interesting art form. What drew me to it was the story telling, the real talk. And over the years, many years, hip-hop and rap has transformed and become a global phenomenon, so much so that popular music stations would most likely have the majority of its playlist as hip-hop or a sub-genre of.

And then we get artists like Young Gho$t. Artists who take on a character or persona and shouldn’t be taken too seriously.

Weed In My Lungs shouldn’t just be dismissed. For the uninitiated, some may very well turn it off right away. But did you listen to the production? Did you hear how the music makes you feel uneasy, like your tripping. "I got this weed in my lungs". If you know anything about it, you’ll know some people get bad trips. When I hear this song, it’s well produced. Vocals are recorded well and placed in the mix to sound uneasy. Lyrically, it’s about having some strong as weed. Well that’s what I take from the chorus. The verses are like a retelling of some crazy shit that happened when high. I assume that’s the point.

Overall, it’s a grimy sounding trap/rap song with some killer flow and excellent production.

Well worth checking out if you are interested in rap and hip-hop.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Young Gho$t

Young Gho$t (real name Casper) is one of the many underground rappers coming out of New Zealand today. Born in London, based in Wellington, he has been rapping and making music for over 7 years. Diverse in its genre pallet, Gho$t's music is characterised by smooth flows, inventive lyricism and wholesome vibes. You can find him going fast over grimey trap beats, or riding it out to some bouncy old school hip hop, steering the lens through his lyrical perspective.

A member of up and coming Wellington crew NVRSFT, Young Gho$t regularly collaborates with its founder, dark trap mogul Chronic Shnxman, and the two have been making waves recently, leading to opening slots for internationally acclaimed artists such as Shakewell, Ramirez, Mr Traumatik and Bladee.

He has released one full length album called Session Muzik in 2019, as well as numerous EPs, with a further project due before 2020.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Young Gho$t

Releases

There are no releases to display for Young Gho$t.

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Mema Wilda - Single Review: How I Long
21 Jan 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Mema Wilda's newest track How I Long starts off with a simple acoustic guitar and vocal, but it's quick to showcase a track full of plenty of goodness. It's the type of song I would want to hear on modern pop radio; it's catchy and you can easily sing-a-long to it.
Read More...
Ignatia : Rising - Single Review: Don’t Know For Sure
12 Jan 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Ignatia : Rising are a 4-piece, occasional more piece, pop/rock group who crafted their style in the Wild West (Auckland, NZ) party and club circuit in the mid 90's. Their newest track, Don't Know For Sure brings about a sense of nostalgia.
Read More...
Gig Review: Th' Dudes @ Town Hall, Auckland - 19/11/2020
21 Nov 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Arriving at the Auckland Town Hall and subsequently finding parking was a lot easier than I had anticipated. The town seems very quiet at around 7:30 pm, although there is a large gathering of people around the Town Hall, an indication that something big is happening.
Read More...
Boy Virgo - Single Review: Psycho
15 Nov 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Here is a track that takes what you think you know about genres of music and says, "Nope, you are wrong". On the new track Psycho from Boy Virgo, I think this is the one thing I really enjoyed.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Jordan Luck Band @ Pukekohe Cosmopolitan Club, Pukekohe - 6/11/2020
08 Nov 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
It’s a Friday night in Pukekohe and as I walk into the Pukekohe Cosmopolitan Club just before 8 pm you can feel the anticipation in the air. Looking like a high school ball, there is a large dance floor in front of the stage while the rest of the venue is lined vertically with tables.
Read More...
Krispy & The Pooch - EP Review Drop The Needle
06 Nov 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Wow. Krispy & The Pooch have quite the EP here.
Read More...
And$um - EP Review: Late Nights
29 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
And$um has returned with a new EP. Made up of six tracks, this is yet another collection of songs that demonstrate the sound Sam brings to this project.
Read More...
Gig Review: BENEE @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 16/10/2020
17 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
As I got to Spark Arena for the first time since February this year, I couldn't help but notice how many families were there with smiling kids, and parents alike, all waiting for doors to open. BENEE has become quite a superstar over this past year which has been awesome to see.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DRIVERS LICENSE
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • WHY OH WHY
    L.A.B.
  • 34+35
    Ariana Grande
  • GOOD DAYS
    SZA
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • CONTROLLER
    L.A.B.
  • NOT MY NEIGHBOUR
    Niko Walters
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. iann dior
  • ANYONE
    Justin Bieber
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem