9 Jul 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Young Gho$t - Single Review: Weed In My Lungs

29 Nov 2019 // A review by Ben Ruegg

"I got this weed in my lungs. I got this weed in my lungs. Smoking a nugget as big as my thumb."


You see, rap music is an interesting art form. What drew me to it was the story telling, the real talk. And over the years, many years, hip-hop and rap has transformed and become a global phenomenon, so much so that popular music stations would most likely have the majority of its playlist as hip-hop or a sub-genre of.

And then we get artists like Young Gho$t. Artists who take on a character or persona and shouldn’t be taken too seriously.

Weed In My Lungs shouldn’t just be dismissed. For the uninitiated, some may very well turn it off right away. But did you listen to the production? Did you hear how the music makes you feel uneasy, like your tripping. "I got this weed in my lungs". If you know anything about it, you’ll know some people get bad trips. When I hear this song, it’s well produced. Vocals are recorded well and placed in the mix to sound uneasy. Lyrically, it’s about having some strong as weed. Well that’s what I take from the chorus. The verses are like a retelling of some crazy shit that happened when high. I assume that’s the point.

Overall, it’s a grimy sounding trap/rap song with some killer flow and excellent production.

Well worth checking out if you are interested in rap and hip-hop.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Young Gho$t

Young Gho$t (real name Casper) is one of the many underground rappers coming out of New Zealand today. Born in London, based in Wellington, he has been rapping and making music for over 7 years. Diverse in its genre pallet, Gho$t's music is characterised by smooth flows, inventive lyricism and wholesome vibes. You can find him going fast over grimey trap beats, or riding it out to some bouncy old school hip hop, steering the lens through his lyrical perspective.

A member of up and coming Wellington crew NVRSFT, Young Gho$t regularly collaborates with its founder, dark trap mogul Chronic Shnxman, and the two have been making waves recently, leading to opening slots for internationally acclaimed artists such as Shakewell, Ramirez, Mr Traumatik and Bladee.

He has released one full length album called Session Muzik in 2019, as well as numerous EPs, with a further project due before 2020.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Young Gho$t

Releases

There are no releases to display for Young Gho$t.

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

And$um - Album Review: Volume 1
26 Jun 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
And$um's album entitled Volume 1 is a trip through a whole range of ideas and concepts.Armed with an idea, a sound and a vision, And$um takes ownership of his sound and runs with it.
Read More...
Ekko Park - Single Review: All On Eyes On Me
24 Jun 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Wow! Hit repeat.
Read More...
Darryl Baser - EP Review: #SecondSelfie
11 Jun 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The room sound really comes through in the opening track of the new EP, #SecondSelfie, from Darryl Baser. It brings a real sense of honesty to recordings.
Read More...
She Loves You - Single Review: Devout
28 May 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Devout is the latest single from She Loves You, a 4-piece Auckland-based fast-talking all-action girl group.The track starts off quietly but quickly builds in a dance-rock song in the chorus.
Read More...
Mazbou Q - EP Review: Afroternity
20 May 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The debut EP from Mazbou Q is a powerful statement. Not only musically in the world of the now trap dominated rap and hip-hop scene, but also through the lyrical ideas that make up the 6-tracks of Afroternity.
Read More...
Outside In - Album Review: Karmatrain
17 May 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The debut release from Outside In is incredible, and it's currently up there as of the greatest debuts from a New Zealand band. Ok, let me explain.
Read More...
Dharma Dan - EP Review: Sotapatti
12 May 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
On the latest release, Sotapatti, from Dharma Dan, the artist finds himself with a set of beats reminiscent of the early New York hip-hop scene. Over the top, Dharma Dan lays down cool, chilled and thoughtful lyrics; "Just a drop of h2o just trying to find its way home to the ocean".
Read More...
Demons of Noon - EP Review: The Summoning
30 Apr 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Doom rock, metal or whatever you want to call it has been a fascination of mine since hearing it on a Guitar Hero game a while ago as a young lad. There was something about that wall of sound guitar and bass sludge sound that was almost hypnotic.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • ROSES (IMANBEK REMIX)
    SAINt JHN
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • STUCK WITH U
    Ariana Grande And Justin Bieber
  • WHAT'S POPPIN'
    Jack Harlow
  • ROVER
    S1mba feat. DTG
  • BREAKING ME
    Topic feat. A7S
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem