1 Oct 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Young Gho$t - Single Review: Weed In My Lungs

29 Nov 2019 // A review by Ben Ruegg

"I got this weed in my lungs. I got this weed in my lungs. Smoking a nugget as big as my thumb."


You see, rap music is an interesting art form. What drew me to it was the story telling, the real talk. And over the years, many years, hip-hop and rap has transformed and become a global phenomenon, so much so that popular music stations would most likely have the majority of its playlist as hip-hop or a sub-genre of.

And then we get artists like Young Gho$t. Artists who take on a character or persona and shouldn’t be taken too seriously.

Weed In My Lungs shouldn’t just be dismissed. For the uninitiated, some may very well turn it off right away. But did you listen to the production? Did you hear how the music makes you feel uneasy, like your tripping. "I got this weed in my lungs". If you know anything about it, you’ll know some people get bad trips. When I hear this song, it’s well produced. Vocals are recorded well and placed in the mix to sound uneasy. Lyrically, it’s about having some strong as weed. Well that’s what I take from the chorus. The verses are like a retelling of some crazy shit that happened when high. I assume that’s the point.

Overall, it’s a grimy sounding trap/rap song with some killer flow and excellent production.

Well worth checking out if you are interested in rap and hip-hop.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Young Gho$t

Young Gho$t (real name Casper) is one of the many underground rappers coming out of New Zealand today. Born in London, based in Wellington, he has been rapping and making music for over 7 years. Diverse in its genre pallet, Gho$t's music is characterised by smooth flows, inventive lyricism and wholesome vibes. You can find him going fast over grimey trap beats, or riding it out to some bouncy old school hip hop, steering the lens through his lyrical perspective.

A member of up and coming Wellington crew NVRSFT, Young Gho$t regularly collaborates with its founder, dark trap mogul Chronic Shnxman, and the two have been making waves recently, leading to opening slots for internationally acclaimed artists such as Shakewell, Ramirez, Mr Traumatik and Bladee.

He has released one full length album called Session Muzik in 2019, as well as numerous EPs, with a further project due before 2020.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Young Gho$t

Releases

There are no releases to display for Young Gho$t.

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Lester - Single Review: Sometimes Feat. Aunty Rae
29 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
On Lester's latest track Sometimes, featuring Aunty Rae, the New Zealand Hip-Hop artist turns his focus inward and discusses the things that we miss when we are away from home; which in his case is a list of memories that make home what it is. And yet, the real meaning of home is blurred and put to question.
Read More...
The RVMES - Single Review: Big Bam Boom
14 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The RVMES newest track Big Bam Boom is a good time that deserves your attention.The rawness and realness of this track cannot be denied.
Read More...
Troy Kingi - Album Review: The Ghost of Freddie Cesar
10 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Genius. Honestly.
Read More...
Dub Boys - EP Review: Fortune Favours The Bold
10 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The newest EP from the Dub Boys is fantastic. As someone who appreciates all styles of music, Hip-Hop continues to be one I stay fascinated with due to the current climate and success of certain artists.
Read More...
The Settlers - Single Review: Love
06 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Driven by a catchy guitar loop and backed up with a beat that ebbs and flows, the new track Love from The Settlers really puts its focus on its lyrics and delivery.Keeping the vocal effects to the minimum here allows the verses to sound authentic and real.
Read More...
Ekko Park - Album Review: Horizon
24 Aug 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The latest album from Ekko Park is an absolute blast of a time to listen to from beginning to end.All Eyes On Me sets the scene by just giving it everything.
Read More...
Investigator - Single Review: Bad Luck Shoebox
17 Aug 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Classic rock vibes crossed with modern rock sound drives this new track from Investigator. Driven by Adrian Drew, Investigator has a sound that is clear and defined and Bad Luck Shoebox adds another track to an ever-growing catalogue that showcases his ideas and sounds that make up Investigator.
Read More...
Will McClean - Album Review: Can't Sleep I'm Dreaming
07 Aug 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The new album from Will McClean takes a lot of well-produced beats and combines them with his flow and lyrics. It's a smooth ride most of the time as is demonstrated in the opening track Front Desk featuring JClean.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • WAP
    Cardi B feat. Megan Thee Stallion
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • HOLY
    Justin Bieber feat. Chance The Rapper
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • MOOD SWINGS
    Pop Smoke feat. Lil Tjay
  • LAUGH NOW CRY LATER
    Drake feat. Lil Durk
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem