10 Dec 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Ed Waaka - Single Review: Revolution

29 Nov 2019 // A review by Mike Alexander
Ed Waaka might ruffle a few redneck feathers with the powerful video and tribute “to early generations of Maori who fought in the name of indigenous rights amid times of social and political conflict” that accompany his latest single Revolution. Old wounds can still fester and the inherited guilt and shame of guiltless generations still has an ugly underbelly in New Zealand. Waaka, though, isn't picking the scab or playing the blame game. The revolution he’s talking about is more of an internal one, the kind that Bob Marley always alluded too. He’s one of the most powerful voices on the local songwriting landscape.

An acoustic guitar introduces the questioning lyric “What if we could be everything we were meant to be? Could we change the world? Doesn’t matter what you got to do. Just as long as your heart is true You could do no harm”. A beautiful organ sound, the soulful sort that makes you think of Booker T. and the M.G.s infuses its way into the song and then a poignant piano melody accentuates the chorus.

Before it hits, Waaka delivers a line that is stunning in its simplicity: “But imagine what the world could do If lies were replaced with truth. Dreams to be pursued”. Fifty years ago, a songwriting genius and revolutionary shared a similar sentiment: “Imagine there are no countries. It isn’t hard to do. Nothing to kill or die for. And no religion too”. Sometimes changing external circumstances is a necessary part of the process of transformation that brings about unity where there was conflict but ultimately, and, this is just my bias and take on Revolution, without renewing our hearts and minds fear will always find a place where love could be. No Ed, you’re not crazy. We need more visionaries like you.
Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Ed Waaka

Ed Waaka possesses a soul man’s voice and a poet’s soul.
Within his songs we find messages that are classically universal in nature, he takes pride in writing songs that are consciously direct and spiritually uplifting.

Drawing inspiration from the beauty of everyday life, his music pays homage to the power of the human condition. With stirring vocals and intimate conveyance, he helps create an atmosphere of warmth, love, and hope to those who listen.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Ed Waaka

Releases

There are no releases to display for Ed Waaka.

Other Reviews By Mike Alexander

Peake - EP Review: Fearne
04 Dec 2019 // by Mike Alexander
I have been a fan of Marigold Music ever since they released their first album, Traces’ Monuments To Souls in 2015. It came with little fanfare and their website reveals little about who is behind the label but, from what I can gather, it’s the "love child" of Chris Van de Geer, a two-time Tui winner with Stellar*,and Joost Langeveld, who some may recall was the bass player for Strawpeople, among other bands.
Read More...
Superturtle - Single Review: Wait For It
30 Nov 2019 // by Mike Alexander
I couldn’t have put it better. In the video that accompanies the release of Wait For It from Darren McShane’s newly invigorated Superturtle, there’s a comment posted by ArapuniWizard: “Another good song from the Birkenhead hit factory!
Read More...
Lasair - Album Review: Lessons
26 Nov 2019 // by Mike Alexander
Lasair is quite an unusual name so a quick Google search reveals some interesting options. Firstly, it’s old Irish for flame and then there are the various references to a laser diode aerosol particle counter.
Read More...
Jason McIver Collective - Single Review: Black Dogs & Babies
24 Nov 2019 // by Mike Alexander
Black Dogs & Babies is the second single of 2019 from the Jason McIver Collective, and you shouldn't be fooled by the gentle Cat Stevens guitar intro. For one minute (or close enough to it) you may think you are listening to a lullaby for an adult that transports you into a reminiscing space, but then the drums crank up, a soaring guitar riff kicks in and the vocals soar, taking you to another level, especially with the lyric "sometimes I feel like something’s wrong with me, that’s just me".
Read More...
Miloux - EP Review: Blonde (with Haz Beats)
21 Nov 2019 // by Mike Alexander
Move over Ladi6, there’s a new urban soul voice in town. Miloux is the alter ego of Rebecca Melrose, a sassy still young thing (no sexism intended), who showed her skills on her 2016 EP, cunningly disguised as the amorphous EP1, and 2017’s equally non-descriptive EP2.
Read More...
Chris and the Kingsmen - Album Review: Regular Joe
19 Nov 2019 // by Mike Alexander
It’s been a while coming but Chris Ward could well be New Zealand’s answer Jimmy Barnes – a genuine working class hero. His debut album is ostensibly a solo record but not without the blood, sweat and tears of the Kingsmen, a band of merry men including Chris Close, David Cloughley, Frankie Daly and Ben Crosson, who co-wrote three of the tracks, boosted by more merry men and women, Aaron Boot, Josh Saville, Ben Lill, producer TeMatera Smith and backing vocalists Jodi Wareing, Tumanako Timirau, Lucy Hiku and Lissel and Magau Stewart.
Read More...
Trepidations: Double Single Review: You Can Never Be Sure & Say Anything
12 Nov 2019 // by Mike Alexander
It might be a mere perversity, but in typical punk fashion Trepidations have dispensed with the formalities of surnames and are just known as Will, Heath and Jared, at least on Bandcamp. Their Facebook page reveals otherwise – Will Saunders, Heath King and Jack Danger.
Read More...
Album Review: SoundDome
08 Nov 2019 // by Mike Alexander
The SoundDome in Wellington is an experimental sound space, fitted out with 25-speakers that act like the audio equivalent of the capital’s famed transmission gully. Compositions whir and reverberate within its structure adding unexpected resonance to what was originally intended.
Read More...
View All Articles By Mike Alexander

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • ROXANNE
    Arizona Zervas
  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • MEMORIES
    Maroon 5
  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
  • EVERYTHING I WANTED
    Billie Eilish
  • PLEASE DON'T GO
    Six60
  • HOT GIRL BUMMER
    blackbear
  • RIDE IT
    Regard
  • THE GREATEST
    Six60
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem