26 Jan 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Ed Waaka - Single Review: Revolution

29 Nov 2019 // A review by Mike Alexander
Ed Waaka might ruffle a few redneck feathers with the powerful video and tribute “to early generations of Maori who fought in the name of indigenous rights amid times of social and political conflict” that accompany his latest single Revolution. Old wounds can still fester and the inherited guilt and shame of guiltless generations still has an ugly underbelly in New Zealand. Waaka, though, isn't picking the scab or playing the blame game. The revolution he’s talking about is more of an internal one, the kind that Bob Marley always alluded too. He’s one of the most powerful voices on the local songwriting landscape.

An acoustic guitar introduces the questioning lyric “What if we could be everything we were meant to be? Could we change the world? Doesn’t matter what you got to do. Just as long as your heart is true You could do no harm”. A beautiful organ sound, the soulful sort that makes you think of Booker T. and the M.G.s infuses its way into the song and then a poignant piano melody accentuates the chorus.

Before it hits, Waaka delivers a line that is stunning in its simplicity: “But imagine what the world could do If lies were replaced with truth. Dreams to be pursued”. Fifty years ago, a songwriting genius and revolutionary shared a similar sentiment: “Imagine there are no countries. It isn’t hard to do. Nothing to kill or die for. And no religion too”. Sometimes changing external circumstances is a necessary part of the process of transformation that brings about unity where there was conflict but ultimately, and, this is just my bias and take on Revolution, without renewing our hearts and minds fear will always find a place where love could be. No Ed, you’re not crazy. We need more visionaries like you.
Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Ed Waaka

Ed Waaka possesses a soul man’s voice and a poet’s soul.
Within his songs we find messages that are classically universal in nature, he takes pride in writing songs that are consciously direct and spiritually uplifting.

Drawing inspiration from the beauty of everyday life, his music pays homage to the power of the human condition. With stirring vocals and intimate conveyance, he helps create an atmosphere of warmth, love, and hope to those who listen.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Ed Waaka

Releases

There are no releases to display for Ed Waaka.

Other Reviews By Mike Alexander

Claire Cowan - Composition Review: Hansel and Gretel
16 Dec 2020 // by Mike Alexander
The Brothers Grimm fairy tale Hansel and Gretel is, ah, rather 'grim' to say the least. It’s the story of a brother and sister who get lost in the woods and are befriended by a cannibalistic witch who lives in a house made out of sweet things, most notably gingerbread.
Read More...
Mahoney Harris - Single Review: The Shifting of the Light
19 Nov 2020 // by Mike Alexander
There's an evocative image conjured up early on in The Shifting of the Light that beautifully illustrates the underlying theme of letting go. In referring to "paradise ducks made for life returning to their bowers time after time" singer-songwriter Mahoney Harris might well be talking about 'soul-mates' or a similarly intimate relationship that felt as if it was meant to last but didn't.
Read More...
Eden Iris - Single Review: I Just Can't Turn It Off
12 Nov 2020 // by Mike Alexander
Having exorcised a few ghosts, so to speak, on her soul stirring 2018 EP Demons, Eden Iris is finally set to release her debut album next year. It’s been an age since the now LA-based, singer-songwriter first came to national attention through Mike Chunn’s Play It Strange competition.
Read More...
Lou'ana - Album Review: Moonlight Madness
29 Oct 2020 // by Mike Alexander
The official release date for Lou'ana's debut album is October 30. Whether by design or accident, it’s serendipitous.
Read More...
Raw Collective - Single Review: Good Things (All We Need)
22 Oct 2020 // by Mike Alexander
Feel-good grooves are part of Raw Collective’s DNA. The Wellington-based 10-piece have been sowing sunflower seeds of optimism and cheerfulness for many a year now and it seems the well of goodness never dries.
Read More...
Naircol - Album Review: Isolate
16 Oct 2020 // by Mike Alexander
Naircol is Tauranga-based synthesiser whizz Matt Hennessey. I like that it is an anagram of clarion because this is quite the impressive calling card.
Read More...
Bartells - EP Review: Let's Go
08 Oct 2020 // by Mike Alexander
Sam Bartells has a way with words. In an interview with Darryl Baser from Muzic.
Read More...
Stretch - Album Review: Our Dreams Are Changing
30 Sep 2020 // by Mike Alexander
Anthony Stretch’s debut album Bury All Horses was one of the most poignant, lyrically honest and captivating albums of 2017. It was a 'dark horse', so to speak, forged in loss and loneliness, and at times a sense of anguish as he contemplated the direction of his life beyond the clouds that seemed as if they would never lift.
Read More...
View All Articles By Mike Alexander

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DRIVERS LICENSE
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • WHY OH WHY
    L.A.B.
  • 34+35
    Ariana Grande
  • GOOD DAYS
    SZA
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • CONTROLLER
    L.A.B.
  • NOT MY NEIGHBOUR
    Niko Walters
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. iann dior
  • ANYONE
    Justin Bieber
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem