17 Jul 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Ed Waaka - Single Review: Revolution

29 Nov 2019 // A review by Mike Alexander
Ed Waaka might ruffle a few redneck feathers with the powerful video and tribute “to early generations of Maori who fought in the name of indigenous rights amid times of social and political conflict” that accompany his latest single Revolution. Old wounds can still fester and the inherited guilt and shame of guiltless generations still has an ugly underbelly in New Zealand. Waaka, though, isn't picking the scab or playing the blame game. The revolution he’s talking about is more of an internal one, the kind that Bob Marley always alluded too. He’s one of the most powerful voices on the local songwriting landscape.

An acoustic guitar introduces the questioning lyric “What if we could be everything we were meant to be? Could we change the world? Doesn’t matter what you got to do. Just as long as your heart is true You could do no harm”. A beautiful organ sound, the soulful sort that makes you think of Booker T. and the M.G.s infuses its way into the song and then a poignant piano melody accentuates the chorus.

Before it hits, Waaka delivers a line that is stunning in its simplicity: “But imagine what the world could do If lies were replaced with truth. Dreams to be pursued”. Fifty years ago, a songwriting genius and revolutionary shared a similar sentiment: “Imagine there are no countries. It isn’t hard to do. Nothing to kill or die for. And no religion too”. Sometimes changing external circumstances is a necessary part of the process of transformation that brings about unity where there was conflict but ultimately, and, this is just my bias and take on Revolution, without renewing our hearts and minds fear will always find a place where love could be. No Ed, you’re not crazy. We need more visionaries like you.
Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Ed Waaka

Ed Waaka possesses a soul man’s voice and a poet’s soul.
Within his songs we find messages that are classically universal in nature, he takes pride in writing songs that are consciously direct and spiritually uplifting.

Drawing inspiration from the beauty of everyday life, his music pays homage to the power of the human condition. With stirring vocals and intimate conveyance, he helps create an atmosphere of warmth, love, and hope to those who listen.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Ed Waaka

Releases

There are no releases to display for Ed Waaka.

Other Reviews By Mike Alexander

Infinity - Album Review: Icy Blue Planet
16 Jul 2020 // by Mike Alexander
Infinity suggests the probability of all possibilities and the possibility of all probabilities. It's an apt name for this Hawke's Bay duo - multi instrumentalist Pateriki Hura and drummer Cameron Budge - who have now shown on two albums that their musical sweep is broad and astonishingly expansive for a duo.
Read More...
Gramsci - Album Review: Inheritance
06 Jul 2020 // by Mike Alexander
Paul McLaney has, metaphorically speaking, found his voice again. After a series of largely conceptual electronic albums as The Impending Adorations, he has rebooted Gramsci, the songwriting alias that has lain dormant since the release of Like Stray Voltage in 2005.
Read More...
Compilation Review: Home Alone: Winter 2020
02 Jul 2020 // by Mike Alexander
Wellington boutique label Home Alone has developed an exceptional roster of artists since it announced itself to the world in 2006. And while the creative backbone of the label has always been the triumvirate of Timothy Blackman, who actually launched the label in Dunedin with his debut EP, Lake South and French For Rabbits' Brooke Singer, it has expanded its repertoire and reach with such as internationalists Helena Massey and Shenondoah Davis.
Read More...
Sunny Ray - Album Review: Sentient Compass
16 Jun 2020 // by Mike Alexander
The transformation in Sunny Ray has always seemed inevitable since she made her debut in 2010 with the delightfully visionary EP Mindlessness. Here was a voice that spoke to us of the journey of the soul and the process of its awakening.
Read More...
Ignatia : Rising - Single Review: You Found Me Too
03 Jun 2020 // by Mike Alexander
The retooled Ignatia : Rising continue to surprise with their latest release - a quiet stunner, which is perhaps a reflection of these times when we have all been forced to look deep within ourselves. After three singles that made it almost impossible to pigeon-hole their style or swagger, You Found Me Too is an acoustic ballad "an ode to unconditional love".
Read More...
Levi Patel - Album Review: A Shifting Lightness
19 Mar 2020 // by Mike Alexander
There is a place within all of us where our darkness gives way to the light and our sorrows become our rejoicing. It is elusive but wearies not as we journey through life with all of its disappointments.
Read More...
Jackie Bristow - Single Review: Blue Moon Rising
11 Feb 2020 // by Mike Alexander
For those who have followed the career of Stateside-based, but born and bred in New Zealand, songwriter Jackie Bristow there's an unintentional (as far as I am aware) poignancy about the release of her latest single Blue Moon Rising. It signals a slight wind shift, a change in musical direction, bought about by the musical influences she's been surrounded by since moving from Austin, Texas, to Nashville, Tennessee, in 2017.
Read More...
Tom Ludvigson and Trevor Reekie - Album Review: Roto
20 Jan 2020 // by Mike Alexander
Technology without artifice is a rarity in music nowadays – any 'nerd' with an understanding of the various software programmes available for composing music can create something out of nothing without being compelled by an inner muse. Roto, by Tom Ludvigson and Trevor Reekie, is an exception to such mundaneness.
Read More...
View All Articles By Mike Alexander

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • ROSES (IMANBEK REMIX)
    SAINt JHN
  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • BREAKING ME
    Topic feat. A7S
  • STUCK WITH U
    Ariana Grande And Justin Bieber
  • ROVER
    S1mba feat. DTG
  • WHAT'S POPPIN'
    Jack Harlow
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem