10 Dec 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Viices - Single Review: Heresy

20 Nov 2019 // A review by Ben Ruegg

The new single from ViicesHeresy, feels like a mix between low key ska and EDM. It’s a very cool mix. With the vibe of the guitar combined with a chill beat and impassioned lyrics, Heresy ebbs and flows to allow for a repeated chord progression to have a solid structure.

About half way through, a more intense guitar comes in and changes the feel. What I like about the track is that it’s not trying to be complicated, yet there are new things you'll pick up on throughout multiple listens. Pay attention to the sound of what appears to be a tuba, and it sort of sounds like a warning horn.

Overall, the lyrics and vocals are really the centre of the song; "We say that these things won’t make a fool of us. But talk is cheap and so are we."

It's a sombre affair, but that doesn't make it depressing. You can feel what Viices is feeling through the performance and the way in which the music revolves around it.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Viices

Viices is Jake McComb's solo project, stage name, brainchild and passion. What began as using a loop pedal to make beats to rap over has evolved into a massive sounding stage show, as Vices brings together acoustic and electric noises, and elements from Rock and Hip-Hop in his unique approach to live-looping.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Viices

Releases

There are no releases to display for Viices.

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Grace Duncan - Single Review: Come, We Must Go
03 Dec 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
Grace Duncan's new track Come, We Must Go takes sounds from our lands and combines them into a cinematic experience that breathes with dynamics, taking us on a journey that begs to heard again. Te Reo is interwoven into the track, and transitions between languages is smooth and seamless.
Read More...
Young Gho$t - Single Review: Weed In My Lungs
29 Nov 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
"I got this weed in my lungs. I got this weed in my lungs.
Read More...
The Lite Works - EP Review: 11:11
29 Nov 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
The Lite Works newest EP, 11:11, is a prime example of quality rock music that I personally grew up on. It’s like they have taken some of my favourite rock acts from the 90's and early 2000's and captured it in a bottle.
Read More...
Dr.Reknaw - Single Review: Kereru
15 Nov 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
New Zealand dub music is something I feel is rather a special thing to New Zealand. That Reggae sound, shaped into our music, is synonymous for a sunny day on the deck with your mates having a BBQ, or hanging out at the beach.
Read More...
Chris Bates - Single Review: Chasing Kites
15 Nov 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
Chasing Kites from Chris Bates is song that pulls a lot of different influences and takes the listener on a smooth ride through turbulent times.One thing that is evident from the first vocal lines are how smooth and silky they are.
Read More...
Empire To Ashes - Album Review: Sequence Two: Our Secret, Silent Storms
11 Nov 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
I remember it vividly. I woke up on the ground, face down, looking directly under my dresser.
Read More...
EP Review: Screw Jack III
04 Nov 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
Yes. Christmas is coming.
Read More...
Gig Review: Miss Used @ Ophir Street, Auckland - 26/10/2019
26 Oct 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
Miss Used is a group that you should take notice of. Powerful, driving rhythms are just one part of their blues rock influenced sound.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • ROXANNE
    Arizona Zervas
  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • MEMORIES
    Maroon 5
  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
  • EVERYTHING I WANTED
    Billie Eilish
  • PLEASE DON'T GO
    Six60
  • HOT GIRL BUMMER
    blackbear
  • RIDE IT
    Regard
  • THE GREATEST
    Six60
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem