9 Jul 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Dr.Reknaw - Single Review: Kereru

15 Nov 2019 // A review by Ben Ruegg

New Zealand dub music is something I feel is rather a special thing to New Zealand. That Reggae sound, shaped into our music, is synonymous for a sunny day on the deck with your mates having a BBQ, or hanging out at the beach.

Dr Reknaw's latest single Kereru is all that and some. There is so much musicianship being demonstrated in this song that unless you really pay attention to something, you actually won't notice. And that comes down to how well it all fits and is performed. I just need to mention that bass line. Have listen.

Tightly performed and neatly recorded, this song really feels dynamic while still maintaining a tight groove. The track opens with birds, some delay soaked guitar with a wash of cymbals before it all gets started with that signature sound of NZ Dub. The brass and saxophone sections introduce us to the main melodic idea. "Behold the breath of life, Tihei Mauri Ora." The song speaks of wisdom so beautifully. "Destruction begins when you have a war within". True, and wonderfully delivered, everything about this song is chill, cool and vibing.

With some clever chord changes that caught me off guard, I really enjoyed Dr. Reknaw's take on the Dub sound. Make sure you give it a spin this summer.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

Releases

Earthly Delights
Year: 2020
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

And$um - Album Review: Volume 1
26 Jun 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
And$um's album entitled Volume 1 is a trip through a whole range of ideas and concepts.Armed with an idea, a sound and a vision, And$um takes ownership of his sound and runs with it.
Read More...
Ekko Park - Single Review: All On Eyes On Me
24 Jun 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Wow! Hit repeat.
Read More...
Darryl Baser - EP Review: #SecondSelfie
11 Jun 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The room sound really comes through in the opening track of the new EP, #SecondSelfie, from Darryl Baser. It brings a real sense of honesty to recordings.
Read More...
She Loves You - Single Review: Devout
28 May 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Devout is the latest single from She Loves You, a 4-piece Auckland-based fast-talking all-action girl group.The track starts off quietly but quickly builds in a dance-rock song in the chorus.
Read More...
Mazbou Q - EP Review: Afroternity
20 May 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The debut EP from Mazbou Q is a powerful statement. Not only musically in the world of the now trap dominated rap and hip-hop scene, but also through the lyrical ideas that make up the 6-tracks of Afroternity.
Read More...
Outside In - Album Review: Karmatrain
17 May 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The debut release from Outside In is incredible, and it's currently up there as of the greatest debuts from a New Zealand band. Ok, let me explain.
Read More...
Dharma Dan - EP Review: Sotapatti
12 May 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
On the latest release, Sotapatti, from Dharma Dan, the artist finds himself with a set of beats reminiscent of the early New York hip-hop scene. Over the top, Dharma Dan lays down cool, chilled and thoughtful lyrics; "Just a drop of h2o just trying to find its way home to the ocean".
Read More...
Demons of Noon - EP Review: The Summoning
30 Apr 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Doom rock, metal or whatever you want to call it has been a fascination of mine since hearing it on a Guitar Hero game a while ago as a young lad. There was something about that wall of sound guitar and bass sludge sound that was almost hypnotic.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • ROSES (IMANBEK REMIX)
    SAINt JHN
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • STUCK WITH U
    Ariana Grande And Justin Bieber
  • WHAT'S POPPIN'
    Jack Harlow
  • ROVER
    S1mba feat. DTG
  • BREAKING ME
    Topic feat. A7S
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem