1 Oct 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Dr.Reknaw - Single Review: Kereru

15 Nov 2019 // A review by Ben Ruegg

New Zealand dub music is something I feel is rather a special thing to New Zealand. That Reggae sound, shaped into our music, is synonymous for a sunny day on the deck with your mates having a BBQ, or hanging out at the beach.

Dr Reknaw's latest single Kereru is all that and some. There is so much musicianship being demonstrated in this song that unless you really pay attention to something, you actually won't notice. And that comes down to how well it all fits and is performed. I just need to mention that bass line. Have listen.

Tightly performed and neatly recorded, this song really feels dynamic while still maintaining a tight groove. The track opens with birds, some delay soaked guitar with a wash of cymbals before it all gets started with that signature sound of NZ Dub. The brass and saxophone sections introduce us to the main melodic idea. "Behold the breath of life, Tihei Mauri Ora." The song speaks of wisdom so beautifully. "Destruction begins when you have a war within". True, and wonderfully delivered, everything about this song is chill, cool and vibing.

With some clever chord changes that caught me off guard, I really enjoyed Dr. Reknaw's take on the Dub sound. Make sure you give it a spin this summer.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

Releases

Earthly Delights
Year: 2020
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Lester - Single Review: Sometimes Feat. Aunty Rae
29 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
On Lester's latest track Sometimes, featuring Aunty Rae, the New Zealand Hip-Hop artist turns his focus inward and discusses the things that we miss when we are away from home; which in his case is a list of memories that make home what it is. And yet, the real meaning of home is blurred and put to question.
Read More...
The RVMES - Single Review: Big Bam Boom
14 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The RVMES newest track Big Bam Boom is a good time that deserves your attention.The rawness and realness of this track cannot be denied.
Read More...
Troy Kingi - Album Review: The Ghost of Freddie Cesar
10 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Genius. Honestly.
Read More...
Dub Boys - EP Review: Fortune Favours The Bold
10 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The newest EP from the Dub Boys is fantastic. As someone who appreciates all styles of music, Hip-Hop continues to be one I stay fascinated with due to the current climate and success of certain artists.
Read More...
The Settlers - Single Review: Love
06 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Driven by a catchy guitar loop and backed up with a beat that ebbs and flows, the new track Love from The Settlers really puts its focus on its lyrics and delivery.Keeping the vocal effects to the minimum here allows the verses to sound authentic and real.
Read More...
Ekko Park - Album Review: Horizon
24 Aug 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The latest album from Ekko Park is an absolute blast of a time to listen to from beginning to end.All Eyes On Me sets the scene by just giving it everything.
Read More...
Investigator - Single Review: Bad Luck Shoebox
17 Aug 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Classic rock vibes crossed with modern rock sound drives this new track from Investigator. Driven by Adrian Drew, Investigator has a sound that is clear and defined and Bad Luck Shoebox adds another track to an ever-growing catalogue that showcases his ideas and sounds that make up Investigator.
Read More...
Will McClean - Album Review: Can't Sleep I'm Dreaming
07 Aug 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The new album from Will McClean takes a lot of well-produced beats and combines them with his flow and lyrics. It's a smooth ride most of the time as is demonstrated in the opening track Front Desk featuring JClean.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • WAP
    Cardi B feat. Megan Thee Stallion
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • HOLY
    Justin Bieber feat. Chance The Rapper
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • MOOD SWINGS
    Pop Smoke feat. Lil Tjay
  • LAUGH NOW CRY LATER
    Drake feat. Lil Durk
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem