26 Feb 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Dr.Reknaw - Single Review: Kereru

15 Nov 2019 // A review by Ben Ruegg

New Zealand dub music is something I feel is rather a special thing to New Zealand. That Reggae sound, shaped into our music, is synonymous for a sunny day on the deck with your mates having a BBQ, or hanging out at the beach.

Dr Reknaw's latest single Kereru is all that and some. There is so much musicianship being demonstrated in this song that unless you really pay attention to something, you actually won't notice. And that comes down to how well it all fits and is performed. I just need to mention that bass line. Have listen.

Tightly performed and neatly recorded, this song really feels dynamic while still maintaining a tight groove. The track opens with birds, some delay soaked guitar with a wash of cymbals before it all gets started with that signature sound of NZ Dub. The brass and saxophone sections introduce us to the main melodic idea. "Behold the breath of life, Tihei Mauri Ora." The song speaks of wisdom so beautifully. "Destruction begins when you have a war within". True, and wonderfully delivered, everything about this song is chill, cool and vibing.

With some clever chord changes that caught me off guard, I really enjoyed Dr. Reknaw's take on the Dub sound. Make sure you give it a spin this summer.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

Releases

There are no releases to display for Dr.Reknaw.

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

The Settlers - Single Review: Swimming
25 Feb 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
New Zealand hip-hop is a thriving collection of artists who bring who we are and present it in musical form. The latest track Swimming from The Settlers is a fine example of what NZ can do.
Read More...
Gig Review: Six60 @ Western Springs, Auckland - 22/02/2020
24 Feb 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
"We are the mighty, mighty Six60", proclaims Maitu Walters, lead singer of Six60. And he is in right to say so.
Read More...
Domes - Single Review: Time and Relative Dimension in Space
22 Feb 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Domes newest release, Time And Relative Dimension in Space, is an incredibly deep track that offers so much to the listener. It interweaves soaring melodies and harmonies into what you would be forgiven in thinking was a thrash metal song from the explosive introduction.
Read More...
And$um - Single Review: Look At Me
10 Feb 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The beginning of Look At Me confused me at first. The vocal delivery seemed dull and with low energy, but by the time the raps kick in, it has definitely picked up and raised the level.
Read More...
Sam V - Single Review: Shawty
10 Feb 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The production is very slick on Shawty, the new track from Sam V. The vibe and the melodic idea captures you right from the get-go; and there's a real middle eastern vibe to it.
Read More...
Robbie Scott - Single Review: Gaze
10 Feb 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
One of the most inspiring things about songwriting is it allows for the listener to hear into the world of another artist. Such is the experience of new song Gaze from Robbie Scott.
Read More...
Tony Lee - Single Review: Man On Mars
24 Jan 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Man On Mars is the latest single from Tony Lee.A mix between a sort of country vibe and rock, this song is well written, recorded and arranged.
Read More...
Fat Freddy's Drop @ Western Springs, Auckland - 18/01/2020
24 Jan 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
If you haven't seen Fat Freddy's Drop before, like I had not, you need to get out and see them.Walking around the crowd it was awesome to see so many parents bring their kids along to it.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • INTENTIONS
    Justin Bieber feat. Quavo
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • THE BOX
    Roddy Ricch
  • YUMMY
    Justin Bieber
  • DON'T START NOW
    Dua Lipa
  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • GLITTER
    BENEE
  • NO TIME TO DIE
    Billie Eilish
  • BEFORE YOU GO
    Lewis Capaldi
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem