10 Dec 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Dr.Reknaw - Single Review: Kereru

15 Nov 2019 // A review by Ben Ruegg

New Zealand dub music is something I feel is rather a special thing to New Zealand. That Reggae sound, shaped into our music, is synonymous for a sunny day on the deck with your mates having a BBQ, or hanging out at the beach.

Dr Reknaw's latest single Kereru is all that and some. There is so much musicianship being demonstrated in this song that unless you really pay attention to something, you actually won't notice. And that comes down to how well it all fits and is performed. I just need to mention that bass line. Have listen.

Tightly performed and neatly recorded, this song really feels dynamic while still maintaining a tight groove. The track opens with birds, some delay soaked guitar with a wash of cymbals before it all gets started with that signature sound of NZ Dub. The brass and saxophone sections introduce us to the main melodic idea. "Behold the breath of life, Tihei Mauri Ora." The song speaks of wisdom so beautifully. "Destruction begins when you have a war within". True, and wonderfully delivered, everything about this song is chill, cool and vibing.

With some clever chord changes that caught me off guard, I really enjoyed Dr. Reknaw's take on the Dub sound. Make sure you give it a spin this summer.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

Releases

There are no releases to display for Dr.Reknaw.

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Grace Duncan - Single Review: Come, We Must Go
03 Dec 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
Grace Duncan's new track Come, We Must Go takes sounds from our lands and combines them into a cinematic experience that breathes with dynamics, taking us on a journey that begs to heard again. Te Reo is interwoven into the track, and transitions between languages is smooth and seamless.
Read More...
Young Gho$t - Single Review: Weed In My Lungs
29 Nov 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
"I got this weed in my lungs. I got this weed in my lungs.
Read More...
The Lite Works - EP Review: 11:11
29 Nov 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
The Lite Works newest EP, 11:11, is a prime example of quality rock music that I personally grew up on. It’s like they have taken some of my favourite rock acts from the 90's and early 2000's and captured it in a bottle.
Read More...
Viices - Single Review: Heresy
20 Nov 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
The new single from Viices, Heresy, feels like a mix between low key ska and EDM. It’s a very cool mix.
Read More...
Chris Bates - Single Review: Chasing Kites
15 Nov 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
Chasing Kites from Chris Bates is song that pulls a lot of different influences and takes the listener on a smooth ride through turbulent times.One thing that is evident from the first vocal lines are how smooth and silky they are.
Read More...
Empire To Ashes - Album Review: Sequence Two: Our Secret, Silent Storms
11 Nov 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
I remember it vividly. I woke up on the ground, face down, looking directly under my dresser.
Read More...
EP Review: Screw Jack III
04 Nov 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
Yes. Christmas is coming.
Read More...
Gig Review: Miss Used @ Ophir Street, Auckland - 26/10/2019
26 Oct 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
Miss Used is a group that you should take notice of. Powerful, driving rhythms are just one part of their blues rock influenced sound.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • ROXANNE
    Arizona Zervas
  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • MEMORIES
    Maroon 5
  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
  • EVERYTHING I WANTED
    Billie Eilish
  • PLEASE DON'T GO
    Six60
  • HOT GIRL BUMMER
    blackbear
  • RIDE IT
    Regard
  • THE GREATEST
    Six60
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem