30 Nov 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Solomon Crook - Single Review: The Day I Thought About Dying

14 Nov 2019 // A review by IslaMusic
Following the success of his 2018 EP Abandon Adolescence, Solomon Crook’s The Day I Thought About Dying is just as well produced and complex. The song tip-toes the line between catchy and thought-provoking.

The Day I Thought About Dying begins with an ethereal synth and tom combo, transporting the listener to a location somewhere between a dance club and a temple. Crook’s raspy vocals steal the stage pondering dreams and the meaning of life, before the song progresses into a few bars of piano.

The powerful backing vocals create an allusion to gospel music. The bridge, featuring hefty reverb and the lyrics “leave me at the alter” evoke feelings of loneliness and desperation. Crook’s raw performance pushes your heart to pieces like a lost game of Jenga. His powerful vocals are reminiscent of Matt Corby and Jack Garratt, with an impressive range allowing his belt and falsetto to be controlled and polished.

The song builds to a drop in the last chorus, layered with epic vocals and a simple, but powerful rhythm section. The last verse moves to acapella, featuring almost choral harmonies lamenting change. The loss of instruments in the final line snap the listener back to the present, evoking the feeling of waking up from a daydream.

Produced by Devin Abrams (Pacific Heights, Shapeshifter, Drax Project, The Adults) The Day I Thought About Dying is an introspective indie/ electronic masterpiece not to be missed.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

Releases

Abandon Adolescence
Year: 2018
Type: EP

Other Reviews By IslaMusic

Gig Review: Hazza Making Noise w/ Mikaela Cougar @ The Thirsty Dog, Auckland - 23/07/2021
26 Jul 2021 // by IslaMusic
Another Friday, another epic gig at local favourite The Thirsty Dog.Mikaela Cougar warmed up the audience with a haunting rendition of Seven Nation Army.
Read More...
Album Review: KITA
27 May 2021 // by IslaMusic
KITA are a vision straight from a synth-pop dream. Hailing from art capital Wellington, the three-piece sew elements of modern jazz, vintage rock, polished pop and grounding soul into a sonic tapestry.
Read More...
KITA - Single Review: Private Lives
06 Apr 2021 // by IslaMusic
2020's nation-wide lockdown was a time of creativity and motivation for some. Six weeks at home allowed for more time spent on passion projects, and an opportunity to spend time with family.
Read More...
Gig Review: The RVMES @ Pumphouse Theatre, Auckland - 19/03/2021
21 Mar 2021 // by IslaMusic
The magic began when I ducked under a fallen tree to reach the venue. Dimly lit by street lamps, the path held mystery in its stones.
Read More...
Foley - EP Review: Vacation
14 Mar 2021 // by IslaMusic
Tamaki Makaurau's Foley are at the heart of New Zealand indie pop. The duo consistently release polished and infectious music that's lovable from the first listen.
Read More...
Louis Baker - Single Review: Overdrive
02 Mar 2021 // by IslaMusic
Louis Baker has one of the most distinctive voices in modern Aotearoa music. He has gathered a loyal following worldwide.
Read More...
Dr.Reknaw - Single Review: Bassline Meditation
14 Dec 2020 // by IslaMusic
Dr.Reknaw is a psychedelic super group with roots in soul, hip-hop and dub.
Read More...
Imperial April - EP Review: An April Christmas
03 Dec 2020 // by IslaMusic
I was dubious at the thought of reviewing a Christmas album. It’s not often that modern holiday tracks dodge the danger of cheesy cheer and forced rhyme.
Read More...
View All Articles By IslaMusic

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • EASY ON ME
    Adele
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • ALL TOO WELL (10 MINUTE VERSION) (TAYLOR'S VERSION)
    Taylor Swift
  • OH MY GOD
    Adele
  • SMOKIN' OUT THE WINDOW
    Silk Sonic
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • I DRINK WINE
    Adele
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • MY LITTLE LOVE
    Adele
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem