8 Dec 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Odds & Ends - EP Review: Odds & Ends

14 Nov 2019 // A review by Jamie Denton

Earlier this year, I was fortuitous enough to have reviewed the debut single Tasty from Auckland-based genre-defying-‘rock’-band Odds & Ends. Having been impressed with the debut single, I was anxious to hear what else this young band had up their sleeves. So, it was with interest that I quickly put my hand up to review their latest release, a five-track self-titled EP.

Overall, the resulting Odds & Ends EP. is equal part measures funky, rocky, dancey, poppy, but above all else infused with an infectious energy. Smoothly delivered, hook-laden vocal lines implore you, nay demand you, to sing-along even if you don’t know the words, while the tight, meticulously honed instrumentation provides a solid backdrop that demands you to move.

The production, mixing, and mastering on this EP are on-point. Clear, crisp but not over-polished, Odds & Ends is a highly professional-sounding. Unfortunately, I was not provided with any details regarding where the recording was completed, or with whom was helming the desk, but they have done a fantastic job in capturing the essence of this young band.

Odds & Ends are one of those bands that combine to create something bigger than the sum of their parts. Each of the five tracks is carefully constructed, and largely propelled by the groove-rich interplay of bass and drums, punctuated by crisp, clean, tasteful guitar lines that are comfortable leaving space for the rhythm section to drive the song along. Highlights for me include the powerful one-two punch of opener Don’t Look Down and Tasty, and the soaring, mid-tempo rocker City of Sails.

A good solid EP that this band can, and should, really feel proud of. It sounds great, and the music on it is simultaneously fun, ambitious, infectious, and hooky!

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Odds & Ends

With four principal songwriters and influences drawn from alt-rock, indie-pop, jazz, and funk, Odds & Ends are truly unique. The four musicians’ fusion of genres makes for a cohesiveness moving through the many sides this four-piece possesses. With countless local shows under their belt, these four musicians are ready to take on whatever challenge is tossed at their feet.

"If there is one thing I have noticed in the past time with the guys it’s that Odds and Ends put on shows that are anything but cliche. With numerous influences, we tie genres together from indie all the way to funk." ~ Max Earnshaw

Based in the depths of Auckland, New Zealand, Odds & Ends pride themselves in the fusion of multiple melodies and harmonies at the high-energy level of their live performance. All this is achieved while the four friends stay completely human, down to earth, and are the friendliest band you will meet in today’s scene.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Odds & Ends

Releases

Odds & Ends
Year: 2019
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Jamie Denton

And$um - Single Review: Tell No Lies
23 Nov 2019 // by Jamie Denton
Earlier this month, Christchurch hip-hop artist And$um dropped Tell No Lies, the first single from his forthcoming debut album. Produced by scene-legend Dera Meelan, this is not your stock-standard approach to hip-hop/rap.
Read More...
Stateside Heroes - Album Review: Echoes and Answers
19 Nov 2019 // by Jamie Denton
Stateside Heroes is the neo-soul/hip-hop/downbeat project of drummer, percussionist, multi-instrumentalist, vocalist, music-scholar, and producer Tom Pierard (Strike, Amygdala) and second-vocalist Cleavelin Manaena-Cook. Released slightly earlier in 2019, their debut album Echoes and Answers feels tailor-made for the forthcoming Kiwi summer.
Read More...
Fanfickk - EP Review: Skull Pocket
07 Nov 2019 // by Jamie Denton
In a much earlier review that I did for another artist, which had included a remixed Fanfickk track, I was taken aback by the vocals. Wonderfully off-kilter delivery, coupled with a luscious range and tone, that voice, Fanfickk’s voice, was quite simply stunning.
Read More...
Lee Mvtthews - Album Review: Bones
05 Nov 2019 // by Jamie Denton
Lee Mvtthews, the award-winning Auckland based producer/DJ duo of Graham Matthews and Tom Lee, have been making waves for themselves over the last few years. Self-described as “high energy bass music”, Lee Mvtthews’ debut album, Bones, is solid, slick, lean, hungry, and infectious follow-up to their previous singles and EP.
Read More...
Proximity - Double Single Review: Odyssey and Picnic at Midnight
16 Oct 2019 // by Jamie Denton
Fresh-faced talent from Howick College in Auckland’s Eastern suburbs, three-piece rock band Proximity have come out firing on their debut double-single Odyssey and Picnic at Midnight. On these first two tracks, Proximity demonstrate a tight, lean, clear, concise, no-nonsense songwriting maturity that seemingly defies their youth.
Read More...
Black Pug - Single Review: My Enemies
11 Oct 2019 // by Jamie Denton
Black Pug, the pseudonym of solo/multi-instrumentalist and vocalist Mo Ackermann, is a one-man punk/rock/metal band from Queenstown. With Mo handling all tracking, singing, and recording duties, the music of Black Pug is a true representation of Mo’s uncompromised vision.
Read More...
Tempist Fujit - Single Review: Home
16 Sep 2019 // by Jamie Denton
Hailing from Northland, alternative rock four-piece Tempist Fujit—their name a clever play on the Latin phrase tempus fugit, often translated to “time flies” - have been kicking around for a number of years now. Indeed, they have already released their debut album, Time Flies, in 2018.
Read More...
Odds & Ends - Single Review: Tasty
04 Sep 2019 // by Jamie Denton
Tasty, the debut single from Auckland-based rock band Odds & Ends is exactly that. Bursting out of the starting line with a confident, tight, phat, and funky groove, it takes literally seconds before I feel my body moving along with it.
Read More...
View All Articles By Jamie Denton

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • ROXANNE
    Arizona Zervas
  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • MEMORIES
    Maroon 5
  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • EVERYTHING I WANTED
    Billie Eilish
  • PLEASE DON'T GO
    Six60
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
  • DON'T START NOW
    Dua Lipa
  • HOT GIRL BUMMER
    blackbear
  • THE GREATEST
    Six60
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem