7 Dec 2021

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Sad Yeti Society - EP Review: Your Music Sucks

13 Nov 2019 // A review by tomashman

This latest offering from the good folks at Sad Yeti Society gives a whole new to meaning to Drum and Bass. The Auckland duo have a monstrous sound that hits harder than a wrecking ball made entirely of Muhammad Ali’s un-gloved fists!

The four-track EP titled Your Music Sucks starts with the inspired Song 2. A lo-fi bass line leads the charge into the main event of riff based mayhem. This opening track showcases much of Sad Yeti Society’s blend of grit, melody and seriously impressive riff writing abilities.

While their sound is beautifully heavy, they still manage to keep a real sense of groove that allows the music to breathe and flow. The riffs feed off one another and roll from complex rhythms to hard hitting breakdowns.

The second track Song 5 is half riffage and half jam groove. A highlight is the funky breakdown where things get a little more stripped back before turning up the dial with a nicely placed tempo change. It can sometimes be a tough job to make instrumental music that is engaging all the way through, but Sad Yeti Society are masters at keeping the listener on their toes and maintaining real interest, never overdoing one particular riff or section. Both the drums and bass expertly translate the exciting changes in tempo and rhythm, keeping steadfast flow all the while.

Next up, Song 1 further showcases the groove laden mayhem of this raucous rhythm section. Will Kearney’s lead bass playing stands testament to the awesome range that is so commonly overlooked on the instrument. He exploits every sound available to him to fantastic effect, the grunt of the low end simply can’t be beaten as a vehicle for his powerful gut-punch grooves.

Aycan Firatli’s drums bounce with tight beats, commanding dense patterns with complete control. He walks the tightrope between all out heaviness and head-nodding rhythm, all the while keeping a very human feel that really connects the listener to the pulse of the music.

Finally, Song 4 wraps up the EP with a slightly softer, more reflective sound. The solo, reverb drenched bass opens up proceedings before being joined by the beat and the main riff. It’s a perfect rounder upper and displays something genuinely different from the rest of the tracks on the EP.

The main thing that comes across in Your Music Sucks, aside from the tightness of connection between the two musicians, is the sense of energy and fun that the band have. In the title of the EP and the song titles (that mess with your iTunes track ordering) there is a kind of irreverence that is backed up by serious musicianship.

Sad Yeti Society are their own band with their own sound, but they conjure up a similar feel to the likes of Black Sabbath, Rage Against The Machine, Hawkwind or Tool. Your Music Sucks is a well-made and intensely musical EP from a band that is inventive and genuine.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )

About Sad Yeti Society

Hailing from the sunny foothills of Sandringham comes Auckland's newest contribution to hard hitting rock'n'roll. Consisting of monstrous beats reminiscent of the mighty Yeti beating his chest in the wilderness driven by the Turkish rhythm master himself Aycan Firatli. Played in unison with thundering bass tones, slapped, hammered and strummed by bassoligist Will Kearney. Sad Yeti Society could be described as a sirens song in a thunderstorm.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Sad Yeti Society


There are no releases to display for Sad Yeti Society.

Other Reviews By tomashman

Buda - EP Review: Days of Colour
25 May 2020 // by tomashman
The latest EP release from Dunedin’s Buda is an orgy of space rock pandemonium that sounds as if it could have come straight from 1974. The EP Days of Colour draws inspiration from the likes of Hawkwind, David Bowie, T-rex and early ‘Quo all through the modern filter of Buda’s own unique and spellbinding sound.
The Nighthawk Experience - Album Review: Current Lies
14 May 2020 // by tomashman
The Nighthawk Experience’s latest EP Current Lies is a 5-track roundhouse kick of alt-rock mayhem. The EP and accompanying animated material is the latest output from Auckland multi-instrumentalist and singer songwriter Scott McDonald-Bull.
SkeletonCrew - Album Review: It's Better I Don't Know
13 Apr 2020 // by tomashman
SkeletonCrew are a fairly new arrival on the NZ music scene but they’re already off to a flying start with their debut album It’s Better I Don’t Know released on the 10th of April. SkeletonCrew is a partnership between Felix Danilo and Nicole Obren, both from Northland.
Murmur Tooth - Album Review: A Fault In This Machine
20 Mar 2020 // by tomashman
Murmur Tooth is the brainchild of NZ musician and producer Leah Hinton. As founding member and guitarist for metal band El Schlong she has toured Australasia and Europe for many years, eventually moving to Berlin.
Reb Fountain - Single Review: When Gods Lie
12 Mar 2020 // by tomashman
Reb Fountain’s urgent vocals and the deep harmony of the piano weave together like silver threads; her rhythmic lyrical changes play out like an intricate dance over the subtle backing. When Gods Lie is Reb Fountain’s latest release and first single from her upcoming self-titled album.
Polaroids of Polarbears - Album Review: Breathe In
01 Mar 2020 // by tomashman
The newest release from DIY artist extraordinaire Daniel Brown AKA Polaroids of Polarbears is essential listening for any fans of lo-fi and noise rock. The ten track album Breathe In swirls through reverb drenched peaks and troughs like a tumultuous sonic ocean of expression emanating from an unassuming shed in Feilding.
EP Review: What Even Is Bad Llamas
30 Dec 2019 // by tomashman
The new EP from Christchurch rockers Bad Llamas is a groovy and melodic morsel of timeless rock n roll, delivering a gut-punch of powerful rhythms, hooky melodies and witty, well-written lyrics. What Even Is Bad Llamas is a collection of four tracks each with its own distinct vibe.
Lexxa - Album Review: Toxic Love
06 Dec 2019 // by tomashman
The latest offering from Auckland based twin sisters Maude and Julia Morris AKA Lexxa, is a synth-drooling, bass-wobbling, power-pop adventure that marks this exciting and ingenious band’s debut release. The album title Toxic Love sums up the reflective and emotional subject matter, as well as outlining the juxtaposition between the bouncy pop orientated sound and the darker introspective lyrics.
View All Articles By tomashman

NZ Top 10 Singles

    Elton John And Dua Lipa
    Taylor Swift
    Ed Sheeran
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
    Silk Sonic
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
    Glass Animals
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem