6 May 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Shana Grace - EP Review: Hello, It's Me Again

12 Nov 2019 // A review by Isla Norman
Kiwi singer/songwriter Shana Grace welcomes the listener to her debut EP with the words "Hello, it’s me again". The sound of pages rustling evoke the feeling that you are sitting cross legged on her living room floor as she tells you about her day.


Featuring ostinato guitar parts and hypnotising harmonies, Hello, It’s Me Again showcases a whimsical voice that makes you lean forward so you don’t miss anything. The EP begins with Alarms, a vocally rich piece that uses layers of incomplete lyrics to provoke questions and leave the listener feeling curious.

Shana Grace’s lyrics explore an ongoing conversation with God, and query whether she is known “up there” for her “frequent deviation from (his) plan”. A clear favourite from the EP is the charming Sally, an extended and creative metaphor for the ever present desire to understand the universe, and what our purpose is on this planet. The simplistic instrumental arrangement of the final song Bars allows the mesmerising honesty in her beautiful voice to take centre stage.

There is a feeling of other-worldliness to Shana’s music. This is likely due to the deliberately vague philosophical nature of her content, the poetic lyrics, and her intimate vocal performance. Hello, It’s Me Again reaches into your chest and convinces your heart it’s not the only one that feels lost sometimes. Keep an eye out for her full length album Rinse and Repeat, which will be released on 15 November, 2019 - it's sure to be just as mesmerising.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Shana Grace

Shana Grace is a Kiwi singer-songwriter based in Auckland. Predominantly derived from journal entries, her songs are conversational, and prioritise honest quirky lyrics over simple acoustic guitar picking. Her vulnerable, stripped back tunes capture and explore silent wonderments and confessions, in an ongoing journey of self-reflection and search for answers.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Shana Grace

Releases

Rinse & Repeat
Year: 2019
Type: Album
Hello, It's Me Again
Year: 2016
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Isla Norman

KITA - Single Review: Private Lives
06 Apr 2021 // by Isla Norman
2020's nation-wide lockdown was a time of creativity and motivation for some. Six weeks at home allowed for more time spent on passion projects, and an opportunity to spend time with family.
Read More...
Gig Review: The RVMES @ Pumphouse Theatre, Auckland - 19/03/2021
21 Mar 2021 // by Isla Norman
The magic began when I ducked under a fallen tree to reach the venue. Dimly lit by street lamps, the path held mystery in its stones.
Read More...
Foley - EP Review: Vacation
14 Mar 2021 // by Isla Norman
Tamaki Makaurau's Foley are at the heart of New Zealand indie pop. The duo consistently release polished and infectious music that's lovable from the first listen.
Read More...
Louis Baker - Single Review: Overdrive
02 Mar 2021 // by Isla Norman
Louis Baker has one of the most distinctive voices in modern Aotearoa music. He has gathered a loyal following worldwide.
Read More...
Dr.Reknaw - Single Review: Bassline Meditation
14 Dec 2020 // by Isla Norman
Dr.Reknaw is a psychedelic super group with roots in soul, hip-hop and dub.
Read More...
Imperial April - EP Review: An April Christmas
03 Dec 2020 // by Isla Norman
I was dubious at the thought of reviewing a Christmas album. It’s not often that modern holiday tracks dodge the danger of cheesy cheer and forced rhyme.
Read More...
Samantha Heart - Single Review: Alaska
27 Nov 2020 // by Isla Norman
After years of "scribbling lyrics and humming melodies", Samantha Heart is ready to "call herself a musician". She's taken on this new identity with the goal of staying honest, especially when it's difficult.
Read More...
Moonflower - Single Review: Poison
13 Nov 2020 // by Isla Norman
Moonflower is a smooth Christchurch three piece releasing music riddled with dark twists and societal narratives. Comprised of singer/ songwriter/ drummer Nicole Schaap, and accompanying musicians Josh Fairless and Hamish Ellis, this band is not to be missed.
Read More...
View All Articles By Isla Norman

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
  • HEARTBREAK ANNIVERSARY
    Giveon
  • LEAVE THE DOOR OPEN
    Silk Sonic
  • RAPSTAR
    Polo G
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • ALL SHE WROTE
    Six60
  • ASTRONAUT IN THE OCEAN
    Masked Wolf
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem