29 Nov 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Radio Coma - Single Review: All Die

07 Nov 2019 // A review by Peter-James Dries

Well that was shocking...

...I mean electrifying.

No. Actually there was some shock there too. I went into this review expecting some kinda EDM, you know doof-doof, but I came out wanting more of the infectious psychedelic rock n’ roll.

That’s the power of cover art I guess. It was all glitch, pixels, and post-humanism. The new single All Die from Radio Coma wasn’t any of those things. Retro-futurist at a push. But mainly it was some hard and funky psych-rock like momma used to make... out to.

You heard that one band Zeppelin? They’re not like them, well they kind of are, but you can’t say that. You can say they’re a lot like their descendants though. You know, like The Black Keys, or The White Stripes. Put the three on a bill, and Radio Coma wouldn’t be out of place.

They’re one of those bands with high energy and a hard edge. They type you hardly hear anymore. All solid drums, pulsing bass, rocky grooves and licks, and strong hooking vocals. If this single is a promise of this group’s output, the future is looking bright. At least for us traditionalists that have hung onto the hope that the world is going to wake up and remember rock isn’t dead one day.

I kind of like the idea of this whole Radio Coma thing. They were sold to me as a self-described syndicate of artists, which was an idea I flirted with in my younger days. I could never pull it off myself though, mainly due to laziness and a lack of musical talent. And the lack of a syndicate. Radio Coma have already done better than I was destined to. And they’re actually good. I’m picking this isn’t their first rodeo.

I’m interested to see what else comes out of this project. Keep it coming. Five out of five. It deserves no less.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Radio Coma

Radio Coma is a syndicate of musicians, audio engineers, bands and artists, led by a few core members based in Auckland.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Radio Coma

Releases

There are no releases to display for Radio Coma.

Other Reviews By Peter-James Dries

Scalper - Album Review: The Beast and The Beauty
20 Nov 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
I have reviewed more releases than I have patience to count. Many of the musicians I’ve heard have disappeared from my consciousness and the scene soon after, but there are a few that make such an impression that they stick with me.
Read More...
The Hopkinsville Goblins - Album Review: Hit The # Key
24 Oct 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
“Little Green Men Harass Kentucky Farm Family”. A headline that captured the imaginations of a nation, coined the term for extra-terrestrial visitors, and inspiring Pokemon, films, and musicals.
Read More...
Diggy Dupe - Album Review: That's Me, That's Team
24 Sep 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
Why is this considered underground, while American ear trash is this nation’s soundtrack? We’re so busy looking for an escape in a world that we aren’t a part of, that we neglect what is unique here at home.
Read More...
The Sixteenth - EP Review: The 16th EP
22 Aug 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
When you work as a data quality analyst, you need something to unwind. I chose animation.
Read More...
Impostor Syndrome - Single Review: The Shrink
04 Aug 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
Chameleons: Imposters of the reptile world. Imposter Syndrome: Chameleons of the music world.
Read More...
Torn Chorus - Single Review: Brave New World
14 Jun 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
Lockdown was a true test of one’s fight-or-flight instinct, a show of one’s character. For some, it was an artist’s paradise.
Read More...
Michael Ferriss and Hedley Marks - Album Review: Interlude In The House Of Life
01 Jun 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
When released, Ghosts I – IV was one of the more obscure Nine Inch Nails releases in an expansive discography. Instrumental and cinematic, lacking the abrasive angst and grit of all that came before, it felt out of step compared to their previous releases.
Read More...
Needless Cane - Album Review: The Red Masquerade
16 Apr 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
Imitation is the sincerest form of flattery. Fan fiction.
Read More...
View All Articles By Peter-James Dries

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • POSITIONS
    Ariana Grande
  • THEREFORE I AM
    Billie Eilish
  • HOLY
    Justin Bieber feat. Chance The Rapper
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • MONSTER
    Shawn Mendes And Justin Bieber
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem