16 Nov 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Radio Coma - Single Review: All Die

07 Nov 2019 // A review by Peter-James Dries

Well that was shocking...

...I mean electrifying.

No. Actually there was some shock there too. I went into this review expecting some kinda EDM, you know doof-doof, but I came out wanting more of the infectious psychedelic rock n’ roll.

That’s the power of cover art I guess. It was all glitch, pixels, and post-humanism. The new single All Die from Radio Coma wasn’t any of those things. Retro-futurist at a push. But mainly it was some hard and funky psych-rock like momma used to make... out to.

You heard that one band Zeppelin? They’re not like them, well they kind of are, but you can’t say that. You can say they’re a lot like their descendants though. You know, like The Black Keys, or The White Stripes. Put the three on a bill, and Radio Coma wouldn’t be out of place.

They’re one of those bands with high energy and a hard edge. They type you hardly hear anymore. All solid drums, pulsing bass, rocky grooves and licks, and strong hooking vocals. If this single is a promise of this group’s output, the future is looking bright. At least for us traditionalists that have hung onto the hope that the world is going to wake up and remember rock isn’t dead one day.

I kind of like the idea of this whole Radio Coma thing. They were sold to me as a self-described syndicate of artists, which was an idea I flirted with in my younger days. I could never pull it off myself though, mainly due to laziness and a lack of musical talent. And the lack of a syndicate. Radio Coma have already done better than I was destined to. And they’re actually good. I’m picking this isn’t their first rodeo.

I’m interested to see what else comes out of this project. Keep it coming. Five out of five. It deserves no less.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Radio Coma

Radio Coma is a syndicate of musicians, audio engineers, bands and artists, led by a few core members based in Auckland.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Radio Coma

Releases

There are no releases to display for Radio Coma.

Other Reviews By Peter-James Dries

Black Velvet Butterfly - Single Review: White Lady
29 Oct 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
I did wonder what direction Black Velvet Butterfly would take next. After their first single Oh My Goth (O.
Read More...
Steve Starke Music - Single Review: Hope is a Universe
23 Oct 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Like Peter Weller’s Buckaroo Banzai - neurosurgeon, rockstar, and experimental hypersonic vehicle pilot - Steve Starke is a man of many talents. Crack realtor by day, hit musician on other days, nights, and probably weekends.
Read More...
Cruddy - Single Review: I Hear Sirens
05 Oct 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
September has come and passed, and you know what that means? It’s time to wake up that guy from Green Day, and for the next edition in Cruddy’s song-a-month musical odyssey (of which September brought us two!
Read More...
Black Velvet Butterfly - Single Review: O.M.G. (Oh My Goth)
03 Sep 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Do they still have clearly demarcated sub-cultures in this post-Hipster world? Are there still Goths, Nerds, Jocks, and the women who love them?
Read More...
Mojo Alice - Album Review: Liquid Sin
29 Aug 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
This is the music that formed me, but I lost my relevance over a decade ago. In the same way the trickle-down model of wealth means those at the bottom get a kick to the teeth with a leather dress shoe, or how topping up your parent’s bourbon with water gradually dilutes the bottle, the music of each generation after the golden age of rock has progressively devolved.
Read More...
Lake South - Album Review: Wellington - Te Upoko O Te Ika
22 Aug 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
I seldom review anything with any degree of commercial appeal, on account of my conscious attempts to avoid overt radio-bate. The music consumed by the masses hasn’t spoken to me for over a decade.
Read More...
First Move - Single Review: One Hundred Percent
28 Jul 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Palmy is a small town. The six degrees of Kevin Bacon is closer to two steps to your local heroes.
Read More...
Cruddy - Single Review: One Way Please
28 Jul 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
It’s been interesting watching this artist explore and develop their style over time. When I last checked in, I think it was around April – the track was Madre Naturaleza, Cruddy was still producing dark industrial sound-scapes.
Read More...
View All Articles By Peter-James Dries

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • ROXANNE
    Arizona Zervas
  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • MEMORIES
    Maroon 5
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
  • HOT GIRL BUMMER
    blackbear
  • LOSE YOU TO LOVE ME
    Selena Gomez
  • DON'T START NOW
    Dua Lipa
  • HIGHEST IN THE ROOM
    Travis Scott
  • GOOD AS HELL (REMIX)
    Lizzo feat. Ariana Grande
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem