7 Jul 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Radio Coma - Single Review: All Die

07 Nov 2019 // A review by Peter-James Dries

Well that was shocking...

...I mean electrifying.

No. Actually there was some shock there too. I went into this review expecting some kinda EDM, you know doof-doof, but I came out wanting more of the infectious psychedelic rock n’ roll.

That’s the power of cover art I guess. It was all glitch, pixels, and post-humanism. The new single All Die from Radio Coma wasn’t any of those things. Retro-futurist at a push. But mainly it was some hard and funky psych-rock like momma used to make... out to.

You heard that one band Zeppelin? They’re not like them, well they kind of are, but you can’t say that. You can say they’re a lot like their descendants though. You know, like The Black Keys, or The White Stripes. Put the three on a bill, and Radio Coma wouldn’t be out of place.

They’re one of those bands with high energy and a hard edge. They type you hardly hear anymore. All solid drums, pulsing bass, rocky grooves and licks, and strong hooking vocals. If this single is a promise of this group’s output, the future is looking bright. At least for us traditionalists that have hung onto the hope that the world is going to wake up and remember rock isn’t dead one day.

I kind of like the idea of this whole Radio Coma thing. They were sold to me as a self-described syndicate of artists, which was an idea I flirted with in my younger days. I could never pull it off myself though, mainly due to laziness and a lack of musical talent. And the lack of a syndicate. Radio Coma have already done better than I was destined to. And they’re actually good. I’m picking this isn’t their first rodeo.

I’m interested to see what else comes out of this project. Keep it coming. Five out of five. It deserves no less.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Radio Coma

Radio Coma is a syndicate of musicians, audio engineers, bands and artists, led by a few core members based in Auckland.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Radio Coma

Releases

There are no releases to display for Radio Coma.

Other Reviews By Peter-James Dries

Torn Chorus - Single Review: Brave New World
14 Jun 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
Lockdown was a true test of one’s fight-or-flight instinct, a show of one’s character. For some, it was an artist’s paradise.
Read More...
Michael Ferriss and Hedley Marks - Album Review: Interlude In The House Of Life
01 Jun 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
When released, Ghosts I – IV was one of the more obscure Nine Inch Nails releases in an expansive discography. Instrumental and cinematic, lacking the abrasive angst and grit of all that came before, it felt out of step compared to their previous releases.
Read More...
Needless Cane - Album Review: The Red Masquerade
16 Apr 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
Imitation is the sincerest form of flattery. Fan fiction.
Read More...
Horror Story - Album Review: Return of the Strange
29 Mar 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
Following 20 years of providing an essential service to the New Zealand Punk scene, Horror Story are back with fresh fruit for rotting ear holes. Return of the Strange is another hard, fast, and heavy zombie-stomp into the Horror Punk genre.
Read More...
Wendyhouse - Album Review: Born To Be Alive and Killed By Death
01 Mar 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
For my next trick, I will be approaching Wendyhouse's album and zine, Born to be Alive and Killed by Death. To me, this is a novel concept.
Read More...
Album Review: Various Artists - Mansfield
18 Feb 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
As an English major, it is my duty to know Mansfield. She sits on my shelf, somewhere between Lawrence and Woolf.
Read More...
Government Pest - Album Review: Disengage
30 Jan 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
My favourite local album, in both a national and regional sense, is probably 2006’s Dawn of a Grey Winter. The compilation of $lave Recordings bands and beyond is a showcase of the best Palmy had to offer at that point in history.
Read More...
Dharmarat - Album Review: WLKNZ
24 Dec 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
This review took a long time. This isn’t my usual genre.
Read More...
View All Articles By Peter-James Dries

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • ROSES (IMANBEK REMIX)
    SAINt JHN
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • STUCK WITH U
    Ariana Grande And Justin Bieber
  • WHAT'S POPPIN'
    Jack Harlow
  • ROVER
    S1mba feat. DTG
  • BREAKING ME
    Topic feat. A7S
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem