22 Sep 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Planet Hunter - EP Review: Planet Hunter

01 Nov 2019 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

Wellington four piece Planet Hunter describe themselves as stoner/alternative/prog. Named after the Planet Hunter Satellite which was launched the very same day. Much like the satellite, the bands search for new alien life throughout the cosmos continues. In the meantime, Planet Hunter has just released their edgy debut self-titled four track EP.

The EP was recorded by the band inside a shipping container in Tawa. In my opinion a lot more music should be recorded inside shipping containers as it gives it an almost echoic sound creating another layer of interest. It enhanced the fuzz and “sludgy riff – fuelled rock” vibe.

The psychedelic thread which ran through The Killing Bear’s music has also made an appearance on this EP. Cosmic distorted sound effects and trippy lyrics come together with funky bass, guitar and drums. I went through a run of reviewing Cormac Ferris musical enterprises a few years back because I like his original concepts.

The band is made up of Jedaiah Van Ewijk (bass), Cormac Ferris (vocals), William Saunders (guitar) and David McGurk (drums). They have a diverse background in the Wellington music scene, playing for the likes of Balkany, Killing Bear, The Aviators, Mangle & Gruff and Aethea. It seems Planet Hunter has made a name for themselves with their “sonically disarming performances”. From what I can ascertain these guys put on an entertaining show.

Speaking of disarming. The Planet Hunter EP cover is out of this world and sure to offend. I like its creativity.

The energetic Celestial Tongue rips straight into it with heavy groove, catchy guitar and solid rhythmic percussion. Starting out with Cormac's deadpan vocals, this track soon morphs into something magic displaying his impressive powerful vocal ability.

Moving onto Dawn Of The Ants, I heard a grungy moody track with a touch of distortion and a fantastic trippy hook. The Tool influence can be heard throughout this EP but is particularly evident on Bitter Winds.

The final track Dinotrash left me feeling a sense of disappointment, not because it was bad but because it signalled the end of the four track EP and I could have very happily listened to more. Before the band has a conniption over spying the word “disappointment” in my review, rest assured the final track is as good as the other three.

Planet Hunter the EP is original indie music at its best and I can’t wait to hear what Planet Hunter the band comes up with next.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Planet Hunter

Planet Hunter came together in early 2017. After a year and a half of creating their own unique form of riff-fuelled rock, the band finally named themselves on the auspicious date of April 19. On the very same day, the Planet Hunter Satellite was launched into outer space.

It seemed appropriate; the satellite will search for new alien worlds throughout the cosmos, and the band will do the same.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Planet Hunter

Releases

Planet Hunter
Year: 2019
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Researchintospeed - Single Review: Anode
15 Sep 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Papaioea’s own proponent of live electronic dance music Researchintospeed has just dropped a new track and accompanying video, Anode. As part of the stand-alone electronic work of Craig Black, Anode was added to his expanding electro catalog over lock down.
Read More...
Hazza Making Noise - Single Review: Boomers In Disguise
10 Sep 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland based Cantabrian, disillusioned architect and sausage roll enthusiast Harry Platt who goes under the pseudonym Hazza Making Noise, has just released a new single called Boomers In Disguise. Cross a football chant with a rock opera and inject it with punk-rave then you will have a fair idea about the unique concept which Harry describes as having "an early Arctic Monkeys – Brianstormesque nature to it".
Read More...
Mirrors - Single Review: Got This Feeling
09 Sep 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Originally starting out as a covers band in 2017, Christchurch based acoustic pop duo Mirrors expanded their repertoire this year during lockdown, taking the opportunity to write and record seven original songs in their home studio. Got This Feeling is their catchy brand-new second single release.
Read More...
Julie Lamb - Album Review: How Humans Think
04 Sep 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
The first thing I noticed when I was blessed with a physical copy of Julie Lamb Outfit’s brand new eight track album How Humans Think, was the outstanding amount of work and love which has gone into the packaging of the CD. It is a creative thing of beauty to which I will elaborate further on.
Read More...
Darryl Baser - Album Review: #Second Selfie
31 Aug 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
In true Darryl Baser fashion, his latest album has taken a few years to develop. Following on from his 2016 LP Raw Selfie, the album #Second Selfie has taken flight, once again from his Dunedin based living room.
Read More...
EJ Barrett - Single Review: Paint Me A Picture
06 Aug 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
It didn’t take me long to warm to EJ Barrett and her sultry, husky vocals. The New Zealand musical artist based in New Plymouth has taken flight with the debut single Paint Me A Picture.
Read More...
Something Zesty - Single/Video Review: Pipz
05 Aug 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Something Zesty is a Whanganui based musical artist who captured my attention first by the bold claim that the latest offering is "an unmistakable dance-floor hit" and secondly by the vibrant and appropriately spaced out animated video which turned out to be the perfect accompaniment to his latest release; Pipz. The music video is the second animated adventure for two curious looking characters, Chambzy and Zestro, following on from Something Zesty’s first single Mad About It.
Read More...
Danica Bryant - EP Review: Cider
30 Jul 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Napier’s young singer-songwriter Danica Bryant showcases powerful vocals on her debut 4 track EP, Cider. Currently based in Wellington, this is one lady who is not afraid to express herself through strong powerful lyrics and fierce emotion, and boy…does she have the lungs to pull it off.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • WAP
    Cardi B feat. Megan Thee Stallion
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • LAUGH NOW CRY LATER
    Drake feat. Lil Durk
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • MOOD SWINGS
    Pop Smoke feat. Lil Tjay
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem