26 Jan 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Shakes and the Troublemakers - EP Review: Shakes and the Troublemakers

31 Oct 2019 // A review by Darryl Baser

Chris ‘Shakes’ Prendergast has been around the Dunedin music scene since before spending time in the city’s punk instigators The Enemy in the late 1970's. He now fronts this combo with Pottley on bass and at times guitar, along with Red on drums.

But there’s plenty of life in the old surfer yet.

This EP’s opening track, Motorbike, has been around since the turn of the millennia. I recall him playing it live in a long defunct venue The Gresham, around the year 2000. This recording has captured it well.

The Troublemakers both add a beautiful racket supporting Shakes’ over-driven, reverberant, and at times tremolo-heavy guitar.

The second song Surf Patrol, is lifted straight out of the mid to late 1960's. It has all the hall marks of a fantastic live track and it follows the surf structure very well.

Take Me Back To The Sea is pure Shakes. Like some of his contemporary musicians and those swimming up through the ranks, when Shakes isn’t playing music or working a day job, he can be commonly found out the back of a massive set of waves off St Clair, or Whareakeake, or Brighton beaches. Along with Chris Heazlewood, I’ve kind of seen Shakes as Dunedin’s Dick Dale. The opening lyric is “I come out of the water, I come out of the sea…”

Mourning is the next tune and it's a sadly personal song about a friend who had an accident at a river. It makes for a very fitting tribute.

Every great band has a break-up song. Split definitely isn’t that song. It’s a fabulous, lusty song which shows appreciation for the female form, and it comes complete with a great sing-a-long chorus. It's nice to hear Red’s backing vocals in the mix on this track.

This EP is definitely worth a listen.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

Releases

Shakes and the Troublemakers
Year: 2019
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Darryl Baser

James Hunter - EP Review: You
21 Jan 2021 // by Darryl Baser
There are tough days and good days in all aspects of life. In music reviewing there are recording which don’t grab you and professionalism is necessary.
Read More...
The Big Lawn - Album Review: Silverspoon
10 Dec 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Dunedin band The Big Lawn have just released their first album, Silverspoon. The album following on from the success of their debut EP Help Myself.
Read More...
Single Review: Viices: Double Denim 7”
01 Dec 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Viices, known to his mum as Jake McComb, has been making music for a number of years, releasing the Toxic EP in 2017. Double Denim is released on a grey marble 7", which was lovingly packed well in a box.
Read More...
Gig Review: French for Rabbits @ Bark, Dunedin - 27/11/2020
28 Nov 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Port Chalmers songwriter Lucy Hunter opened up the evening with Please Just Break My Heart and Let Me Go. Announcing to the rapidly filling Bark space at Dunedin’s Dog With Two Tails "this is my first [piano] gig standing up".
Read More...
Jolandi Ford - Single Review: You Ain’t In The Picture
28 Nov 2020 // by Darryl Baser
I love me a good break up song, and You Ain’t In The Picture is such a song with a good dose of ‘don’t let the door hit you in the ass on the way out’. The joy in the subject of the song comes across in the lyrics; it's in the way you can hear the smile on her face as she delivers the lines, and also in the song’s composition, especially in the lift to the leading note of the chord, when Jolandi sings; "…will I cry a million tears?
Read More...
Gabriel Bond - Single Review: History
12 Nov 2020 // by Darryl Baser
First thing; wow what a voice. Gabriel Bond has a stunning voice, I would frankly amazed if he hasn’t had a bunch of formal vocal training.
Read More...
Single Review: Redwoods
11 Nov 2020 // by Darryl Baser
In their brief blurb, Redwoods describe themselves as "a Kiwi band formed on the Jurassic lake of Tarawera, featuring members of Fire at Will and Dead Favours". The band comprising of members Josh Dillner, Will Kearney and Hannah Kearney have recently released their debut single, which is self-titled.
Read More...
Gig Review: Die! Die! Die! @ Pioneer Hall, Port Chalmers - 06/11/2020
07 Nov 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Bliss Point are a Dunedin based high school band with musical lineage including drummer Tane Cotton, son of audio engineer Dale Cotton, and nephew of Shayne P Carter. Bliss Point take to the end of the room which is used as a stage to a quarter full room of their parents, school pals and unfashionably early concert goers, your humble scribe included.
Read More...
View All Articles By Darryl Baser

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DRIVERS LICENSE
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • WHY OH WHY
    L.A.B.
  • 34+35
    Ariana Grande
  • GOOD DAYS
    SZA
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • CONTROLLER
    L.A.B.
  • NOT MY NEIGHBOUR
    Niko Walters
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. iann dior
  • ANYONE
    Justin Bieber
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem