6 Jul 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Radio Therapy - EP Review: Radio Therapy

31 Oct 2019 // A review by Jason Peters
If Pat Benatar and the Foo Fighters had a child it would be called Radio Therapy, that's my first impression of the first couple of tracks on Radio Therapy's second self-titled EP and that's a good thing in my books. Singer Renee Leishman is somewhat of a New Plymouth Rock legend having performed with bands Demon Dolls and 1080 in the past and her vocals in this release are crisp and full of melody, she also helps out the rhythm section by playing bass guitar too, which is impressive.

The EP kicks off with Lose Control, I like the extended intro on this one. Melodic harmonic guitars chime away then everything kicks in with a solid four on the floor rock beat provided by drummer Choc. The chorus is melodic, catchy and raucous and will be a cool tune to check out live.

Track two simply titled No is up next, I dig the twin guitar work of Andy and Craig on this one, fuzzed up and with some Green Day-inspired sneer this tune has great energy.

The next track called The Leaving sees Craig Macdonald on vocal duties with Renee on BV's, the vocals in the verses remind me of Alice Cooper and the choruses transform into a melodic punk vibe which works well when combined with Renee's BVs, The Leaving has great melodies, upbeat and good energy.

The final tune called Part of Me, features Renee's melodic vocals soaring over crunching guitars and this tune is a favourite on this EP, I can see this being a crowd favourite live too.

Overall a bloody good effort from this talented New Plymouth four-piece, if you dig upbeat melodic pop-rock with a punk edge then these dudes will spin your wheels. I've played a show with these guys in their home town earlier this year and can confirm that they deliver the goods live too.
Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Radio Therapy

Radio Therapy has been playing locally in New Plymouth for the past 5 years, however members of this band have been involved together musically spanning many more years. They describe our sound as an intense combination of energetic, emotive rock, with punk roots.

Combining a driving punchy backline with catchy melodic hooks, as well as dual vocal harmonies that define their sound. Radio Therapy have released their EP titled Ruby recorded locally at Big Bamboo Recording Studios in New Plymouth and are currently working on another recording at the moment.

Radio Therapy are keen to play and looking for gigs outside of the region and always keen to support any other touring bands coming to New Plymouth.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Radio Therapy

Releases

Ruby
Year: 2017
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Jason Peters

Gig Review: L.A.B. @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 3/07/2020
05 Jul 2020 // by Jason Peters
First off, congrats to L.A.
Read More...
Sola Rosa - Single Review: For The Mighty Dollar Feat. Kevin Mark Trail
01 Jul 2020 // by Jason Peters
Sola Rosa aka Andrew Spraggon is in a unique position in his career to be able to collaborate with some of the planet's best musicians, and on the second single from the forthcoming album Chasing The Sun he has hit the musical jackpot. The track kicks off with horns, sparse funk guitar and classic strings before kicking into the cool and catchy chorus.
Read More...
Riqi Harawira - Single Review: Ruapekapeka
11 Jun 2020 // by Jason Peters
Back in another life (during the 90's), Riqi Harawira used to let my bandmate and I crash at his pad on Fort Street in Auckland whenever we were on tour. He was a good dude, played lead guitar for Dead Flowers and both our bands were on the same label (Wildside).
Read More...
The Slider - Album Review: He Calls Your Name
16 Mar 2020 // by Jason Peters
The Slider features two tortured souls from Auckland heavy rock/blues band His Masters Voice (The Devil's Blues). Rene Black and Az Burns have created a down and dirty little beast here, featuring Rene on lead vocals and drums, with Az tackling all guitars/bass and keys, and there is a stack of talent on display within.
Read More...
Festival Review: Good Vibes @ Soundshell, Gisborne - 11/01/2020
16 Jan 2020 // by Jason Peters
Good Vibes was a packed-out festival with lots of very 'happy' people, after soaking up the rays and many beverages and other herbs I suspect the audience was certainly in good vibes alright. We headed over to Three Houses Down featuring General Fiyah (pictured); their brand of soul reggae was received well and their monster hit Love & Affection went over well with the enthusiastic crowd.
Read More...
Gig Review: Shapeshifter @ Trustspower Baypark, Mt Maunganui - 28/12/2019
09 Jan 2020 // by Jason Peters
After a small hiccup getting into the venue, we arrived to see State Of Mind hitting the stage, unfortunately we had missed Concord Dawn but I heard they had a killer set. State of Mind warmed up the throngs of summer DnB heads nicely with their heavy DnB morsels, their MC hyped the crowd and it was a great set for this mini DnB festival Shapeshifter had compiled on this warm summer night.
Read More...
Anxiety Club - EP Review: Francine
14 Nov 2019 // by Jason Peters
Well, this is a nice surprise. One of the perks of writing for Muzic.
Read More...
Pluto - Album Review: IV
13 Nov 2019 // by Jason Peters
Before egos ran wild and personalities clashed to derail Pluto or Pipeline Under The Ocean in 2009 they reigned supreme on the local alternative music scene and even hitting the musical jackpot with two killer singles in Dance Stamina and Long White Cross in the mid 2000's. They also released three full-length albums and played a slew of quality live shows and festivals locally and worldwide, but unfortunately it all came unraveled while recording their fourth album.
Read More...
View All Articles By Jason Peters

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • ROSES (IMANBEK REMIX)
    SAINt JHN
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • STUCK WITH U
    Ariana Grande And Justin Bieber
  • WHAT'S POPPIN'
    Jack Harlow
  • ROVER
    S1mba feat. DTG
  • BREAKING ME
    Topic feat. A7S
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem