24 Sep 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Radio Therapy - EP Review: Radio Therapy

31 Oct 2019 // A review by Jason Peters
If Pat Benatar and the Foo Fighters had a child it would be called Radio Therapy, that's my first impression of the first couple of tracks on Radio Therapy's second self-titled EP and that's a good thing in my books. Singer Renee Leishman is somewhat of a New Plymouth Rock legend having performed with bands Demon Dolls and 1080 in the past and her vocals in this release are crisp and full of melody, she also helps out the rhythm section by playing bass guitar too, which is impressive.

The EP kicks off with Lose Control, I like the extended intro on this one. Melodic harmonic guitars chime away then everything kicks in with a solid four on the floor rock beat provided by drummer Choc. The chorus is melodic, catchy and raucous and will be a cool tune to check out live.

Track two simply titled No is up next, I dig the twin guitar work of Andy and Craig on this one, fuzzed up and with some Green Day-inspired sneer this tune has great energy.

The next track called The Leaving sees Craig Macdonald on vocal duties with Renee on BV's, the vocals in the verses remind me of Alice Cooper and the choruses transform into a melodic punk vibe which works well when combined with Renee's BVs, The Leaving has great melodies, upbeat and good energy.

The final tune called Part of Me, features Renee's melodic vocals soaring over crunching guitars and this tune is a favourite on this EP, I can see this being a crowd favourite live too.

Overall a bloody good effort from this talented New Plymouth four-piece, if you dig upbeat melodic pop-rock with a punk edge then these dudes will spin your wheels. I've played a show with these guys in their home town earlier this year and can confirm that they deliver the goods live too.
Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Radio Therapy

Radio Therapy has been playing locally in New Plymouth for the past 5 years, however members of this band have been involved together musically spanning many more years. They describe our sound as an intense combination of energetic, emotive rock, with punk roots.

Combining a driving punchy backline with catchy melodic hooks, as well as dual vocal harmonies that define their sound. Radio Therapy have released their EP titled Ruby recorded locally at Big Bamboo Recording Studios in New Plymouth and are currently working on another recording at the moment.

Radio Therapy are keen to play and looking for gigs outside of the region and always keen to support any other touring bands coming to New Plymouth.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Radio Therapy

Releases

Ruby
Year: 2017
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Jason Peters

Sonar.Suite - Single Review: Flip Siide
09 Sep 2020 // by Jason Peters
Flip Siide kicks off with a lone chilled blues guitar before a sweet vocal style similar to Brittany Howard (Alabama Shakes) kicks into gear. Brendon Thomas is the mastermind behind this slippery little funk number.
Read More...
The Vibes - Single Review: Funk Blaster
20 Aug 2020 // by Jason Peters
Hot of the press this latest offering from The Vibes. Funk Blaster is a tribute to James Brown and the Red Hot Chili Peppers and it's a great big slice of funky fun.
Read More...
SOJØURN - Single Review: Stand Up
20 Aug 2020 // by Jason Peters
As with a lot of established and up and coming Kiwi artists, the pandemic that is Covid-19 has thrown a spanner in the works for recording, releases and live shows and SOJØURN have also been in the same boat. But here it is, the latest offering from these young Northland lads.
Read More...
Summer Thieves - EP Review: Bandaids and Lipstick
30 Jul 2020 // by Jason Peters
Much like their contemporaries Six60, Summer Thieves started from humble beginnings in Dunedin many moons ago. Starting as a high school band of sorts, Jake and Johnny have been jamming together since the ripe age of 15.
Read More...
Gig Review: L.A.B. @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 3/07/2020
05 Jul 2020 // by Jason Peters
First off, congrats to L.A.
Read More...
Sola Rosa - Single Review: For The Mighty Dollar Feat. Kevin Mark Trail
01 Jul 2020 // by Jason Peters
Sola Rosa aka Andrew Spraggon is in a unique position in his career to be able to collaborate with some of the planet's best musicians, and on the second single from the forthcoming album Chasing The Sun he has hit the musical jackpot. The track kicks off with horns, sparse funk guitar and classic strings before kicking into the cool and catchy chorus.
Read More...
Riqi Harawira - Single Review: Ruapekapeka
11 Jun 2020 // by Jason Peters
Back in another life (during the 90's), Riqi Harawira used to let my bandmate and I crash at his pad on Fort Street in Auckland whenever we were on tour. He was a good dude, played lead guitar for Dead Flowers and both our bands were on the same label (Wildside).
Read More...
The Slider - Album Review: He Calls Your Name
16 Mar 2020 // by Jason Peters
The Slider features two tortured souls from Auckland heavy rock/blues band His Masters Voice (The Devil's Blues). Rene Black and Az Burns have created a down and dirty little beast here, featuring Rene on lead vocals and drums, with Az tackling all guitars/bass and keys, and there is a stack of talent on display within.
Read More...
View All Articles By Jason Peters

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • WAP
    Cardi B feat. Megan Thee Stallion
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • LAUGH NOW CRY LATER
    Drake feat. Lil Durk
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • MOOD SWINGS
    Pop Smoke feat. Lil Tjay
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem